We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good base for day trips in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very pleasant stay! Walking distance to San Gimignano and a small pool which meant that even the kids liked it. We appreciated that the hotel has only few rooms which gives a quiet impression. Owner family is very nice! It helps to make the stay very enjoyable. Pleased with acccomodation and good food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for one week, and we had read all the positive reviews on internet
before we made our choice. We where not disappointed after the stay, it was perfect for us.
The staff was very friendly and service minded. It is a 10 minutes walk in calm surroundings to the town center (Piazza Duomo). The room was nice and clean. Swimming pool in the corner of the garden with stunning view over the landscape. Very charming garden with small furniture groups. 100 m from the hotel there was a little grocery shop, perfect when you wanted to have picnic in the garden or bring some food on a walking tour in the lovely surrounding of San Gimignano. You could buy wine at the hotel. The atmosphere was very relaxing. If we go to Tuscany another year we will stay at Villa Belvedere in San Gimignano again. It´s perfect situated for day-trips to other interesting places in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have stayed a second time at this hotel and were not disappointed.
It is very good value for money and the on site parking is a big plus feature.
The hotel and gardens are tradional Italian with an excellent and clean swimming pool.
The rooms are of average size, very clean but maybe a little dated.
The staff are wonderful and really make you feel welcome.
The breakfast is more than adequate with something for everybody.
We will definitely be going back and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great family run small hotel just ten minute stroll from the town of San Gimignano. A good base for visiting surrounding Chianti region as well as Pisa and Firenze. Roads good with spectacular vistas from all angles.
Hotel provides all basic needs with private pool,bar, tv room and quiet gardens. Well recommended for overnight travellers as well as for longer stays.

Room Tip: Small hotel where all rooms large and very acceptable
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pavakeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed for three nights at the villa belvedere in June. The hotel is perfectly situated about 5 -10 minutes uphill walk into the town. Parking is a huge issue in San gimignano so the free secure parking on site is a real bonus. The hotel is a small friendly family run establishment with great views over the countryside. It has a lovely outside area with large clean pool to relax after a hard days sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. Two negative points. The shower in our room was very small and had nowhere to put soap shampoo etc. Secondly a kettle in the room is required. Most hotels nowadays provide a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. Overall good value in this expensive area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Belvedere on a number of occasion and will certainly be returning. It is a small family run hotel providing easy walking access (uphill) to San Gimignano and is a superb centre for visiting Tuscany. Free Parking is an added bonus as parking in San Gimignano can be expensive
The food is basic but well prepared and there are many superb restaurants within 10-15 minutes walking distance.
The rooms are traditionally furnished albeit the bathrooms, though clean and well equipped, are a bit on the small side.
I would not hesitate recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms, which, although a bit more expensive, are well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We only stayed the one night but could easily have stayed longer. The short walk to the town centre highlights the fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside and the free parking is a welcome bonus. The rooms are spacious but the showers can be a bit tricky for space. The restaurant was lovely and we can recommend the minestrone soup. The staff are wonderful and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range: £67 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Via Francigena just 500 meters from the historic center of San Gimignano, Villa Belvedere blends a modern, completely-refurbished interior with the unaltered charm of a 19th century villa surrounded by picturesque gardens. The family-run hotel, which boasts a swimming pool and private car park, is just 10 minutes walk from the town centre and Important areas of historical and cultural interest, including Florence, Siena and Volterra, are a 40-minute drive away. Guests can exchange the noise and chaos of the city for a holiday destination characterized by culture and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Villa Belvedere San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing