We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best host out of six we've had in one week”
Review of Il Vicario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Vicario
Ranked #7 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best host out of six we've had in one week”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I really don't know where to begin with.
Fulvio, the owner, treated us like a family. He asked for our itinerary (in Italy!), sat with us for the whole breakfast and gave us awesome tips which honestly upgraded our honeymoon. He's a cooking master, so make sure you ask him for Tuscan cooking tips when you stay there.
The facilities are magical to the very last detail, yet not too fancy. Just 5 minutes of driving away from the old town of San Gimignano.
The scenery around Il Vicario are breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    44
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
200
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed 4 nights here and used it as a base to explore other parts of Tuscany. Fulvio is very welcoming and informative and cooks a very good meal (we only met Katia once the day after we checked in but she seemed very nice and welcoming too).

We didn't do the cooking course due to long days out visiting other parts of Tuscany but Fulvio cooked for us and 4 other guests a four course meal which we ate in the courtyard out the front. This was a real highlight and very very good food. I would definitely do the cooking course when I return here in the future!

The location is great - less than 10 minutes drive to San Gimignano - which is gorgeous. It was a perfect base for visiting other parts of Tuscany like I have mentioned. There is a pool which is a little further down from the B&B (not far I promise - literally just across from the B&B, this was quite private with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside and in the distance San Gimignano.

Breakfast is included and is a simple but sufficient breakfast including meats, cheeses, breads, yoghurts and fruits and unlimited cappuccinos!

All in all a lovely traditional place to stay with so many options and a lot of advice for exploring the region and even beyond Tuscany. Would definitely stay here again and recommend!

Room Tip: The room downstairs backs on to the kitchen which might be a problem if you are a light sleeper or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed with Katia and Fulvio for 5 days in May. The advanced cooking class was so much fun (and we have cooked the meals often since coming home)! Upon arrival Katia fixed us a snack and poured us glasses of wine. Every evening the guests would gather in the dining room to share their days, and lives, and travels! Lots of laughter and wine with Katia and her Uncle Fulvio making sure everyone is included. Dinner at Il Vacario is an option that you should go for. This beat all but one meal that we had during our two weeks in Italy. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and the location is convenient for a huge variety of day trips...Pisa, Luca, Volterra, Sienna, Florence etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were @ Il Vicario for 3 nights starting from 19th may. It indeed was home away from home for me, husband and a 2 year old. Katia and Fulvio were
Wonderful. The rooms were neat and clean.
Katia was amazing with our 2 year old. Although she would be busy preparing meals for guests she would patiently entertain my 2 year old as well. The cooking classes were amazing too. Learnt to make pasta from scratch as well as the sauces.

Katia and Fulvio's sight seeing advices were good too. We loved visiting the marketplace of San Gimignano.

Absolutely loved everything about the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamtaKanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you are looking for classic Tuscan cooking lessons then this is for you. I arranged this class as a birthday surprise for my wife and she loved it ! The course was informative and enjoyable and and made great fun by the warm hearted and knowledgeable Katia. She was supported by Fulvio who was charming. We made pasta and other classic Tuscan dishes and washed them down with excellent local wines. We shared the experience with a lovely coupe from Australia , academic and Amy and we all had a great time . Highly recommended !

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here in May 2009, and upon returning were greeted by Fulvio and Katia like it was a family reunion!! As always the rooms were good, the triple that my Aunt, cousin, and family friend shared was very spacious. Our "advanced" cooking class with Fulvio and Katia was fun, and delicious!! The location is perfect, and easy to find, perhaps easier this time around as I already knew where I was driving to! We love the daily interactions with Fulvio and Katia, you never feel that they are running a business, more like they are welcoming friends and family to their home. This is a must stay place if you visit San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here and it is still magnificent!
Fulvio and Katia welcomed us like long-lost family (I suppose they are in a sense!). The property is conveniently located near San Gimingnano in Tuscany near Sienna and other historic cities. This time we took a cooking class with Katia and Fulvio and had a blast (and, not to toot my own horn, was delicious). There is a definite difference in the way we, in the west, view cooking and we learned many useful tips. These two work tirelessly to accommodate every request and anticipated our desires (Fulvio would be sure to be up before we were - and we're early risers - to have fresh espresso ready for us each morning). I will ALWAYS stay here when the opportunity presents itself. . .it's peaceful, the people are fun and engaging, and Fulvio is not to be missed!

Room Tip: All of the rooms look out over the rolling Tuscan countryside. The room over the dining room is spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryCooperWyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 66 in San Gimignano
345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vicario

Property: Il Vicario
Address: Via Sant'Andrea 1, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Vicario 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Il Vicario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Vicario San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy
Il Vicario Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing