We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful San Gimignano”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Viani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Viani
Ranked #27 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful San Gimignano”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Locanda Viani is a great location,just park your car and 15 min walk to the gates of the walled city of San Gimignano.Locanda Viani is a lovely place decorated with Roberto's lovely paintings,Very clean rooms and they serve up a nice breakfast.Roberto and his wife Paulo helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Had a wonderful two night stay at Locanda Viani in May. We were greeted by our lovely host Roberto on arrival and he showed us to our room, the lovely blue room, then up to a wonderful surprise balcony off of our room which had fantastic views all around us. Sitting on that balcony with a glass of wine, cheese & olives, listening to our music and watching the sun go down was an absolute highlight for us. The walk to San Gimignano was perfect, no worries about parking, just leave the car and go. Our room was clean and lovely and Roberto had thought of all the little things to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. The breakfast room was lovely and we enjoyed our breakfast before walking to the walled city. Could easily have stayed longer here, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

This was our first B&B in Italy, and wow, it was lovely! The hosts, although limited in English, tried so hard to accommodate us and be helpful. The bath was huge, the room just right and the view was magnificent! Roberto's paintings were amazing and added so much to the house. It was so easy to walk into town and and since we rented a car we were able to visit other cities like Florence, Siena and Volterra.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hhadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I loved this place. It may not be for everyone as a car is most definitely necessary. It is conveniently within nice walking distance of the town center. I appreciated being able to wake with the lovely view of town from my window, which you obviously can't enjoy if you stay in town. Locanda Viani felt very homey with comfortable accommodations, free parking, breakfast included and an extremely helpful, caring and considerate host family. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and immediately enjoyed a refreshing local wine on the patio. Paola presented us with a lovely plate of local cheeses. Roberto went above and beyond to assist with information and directions for a day trip to neighboring town. Although we were disappointed that the resto was not open during our stay (Paola was about 81/2 months with-child!), The VIani's recommended a restaurant that was delicious and a good value for the quality. All in all I was very happy with this choice and would recommend it to independent travelers looking for a home-like environment to enjoy the beauty and bounty of the region. We intend to return so we can try Paola's delicious dishes and see Roberto's latest paintings.

Room Tip: The red room has a beautiful view of the town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyByTheSeatOMyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed at Locanda Viani for three nights in Sept 2010. Roberto was a warm, charming host who greeted us every evening upon returning from our siteseeing. Paola prepared the once/week guest dinner that was fit for a Michelin star restaurant. Their son, Cesare, helped Roberto to serve dinner. English is spoken, but Italian too to help learn it. Felt like we were valued guests in their home! We had the Red Room, which was clean, new, quiet, comfortable and had a terrific view of San Gimignano, which is within walking distance. Be sure to call Roberto for driving directions to the Locanda. Great place to also visit the quiet Etruscan town of Volterra or the towns of Chianti. Highly recommended if looking for a social, family hosted stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Tonnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were spoiled with a romantic & spotless room, with a private terrace offering 360 views of tuscan hillside. This alone would earns close to 5 stars. In addition, we experienced a culinary adventure from a personal gourmet chef Paola, plus guided by a travel expert, and immersed ourselves in daily tuscan life with daily history lessons from Roberto.

Words cannot express how comfortable and welcome we felt at Locanda Viani. It is the perfect mix of everything we imagined for our Tuscan get away. So close to San Gimi but not right in the mix. You can sneak back to your room for a quiet siesta, or lounge on the terrace and marvel in the changing colours of the day.

Breakfasts were always a highlight as Paola worked her magic. Amazing coffee, fresh breads, cheeses, meats and little treats (those bite size sandwiches were addictive!!!)

And of course, Cesare ... what a cutie pie.

Lastly, Roberto is definitely the host with the most. He went out of his way each and every day to make sure that we had everything we needed. Including a hand-drawn map, indicating an optimal driving route for our 2-day drive through all the major "must see" spots in Tuscany. I can't imagine what our drive would have been like if we had set as we had intended with a basic tourist map.

We cannot wait to go back! Do yourself a favour and book it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PecorinoAndPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Roof top terrace attached to our room afforded wonderful views of the Tuscan hills and it is an easy walk into San Gimignano.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetLagged2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
595 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#4 of 66 in San Gimignano
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 66 in San Gimignano
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Torre Margherita
Casa Torre Margherita
#20 of 66 in San Gimignano
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Coppi
I Coppi
#7 of 66 in San Gimignano
221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#8 of 66 in San Gimignano
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Viani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Viani

Property: Locanda Viani
Address: Via Lazzeretto, 44, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Viani is in one of the most beautiful areas of San Gimignano, in a very quiet and secluded position on the top of a hill, only 300 metres away from the historic town centre. We will be pleased to have you at the Locanda and experience with you the essence of our traditions.Roberto Viani, his wife Paola and his son Cesare truly welcome you. They place their splendid holiday home at disposal of all those who love Tuscany and would like to discover those places and traditions that only a friend on the spot may know. Only 300 metres away from the historic town centre.- Locanda Viani has 4 very comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, internet free ADSL and a small wine bar.- The kitchen looks like an old grocery where every day revives fragrances and savours of past times.- The hall is a small art-gallery where some works by Roberto Viani are exhibited. The entrance has been furnished with pieces of furniture and glass cupboards which are examples of the best Tuscan handicraft. A beautiful terrace surrounded by a garden from which you can enjoy the view of San Gimignano. Together we will have the opportunity to prepare your dinner and become acquainted with the world of Tuscan wine, olive oil and cheese by tasting a selection of products or visiting those producers who have considered quality as the main goal of their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Viani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Viani San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing