We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect location with perfect hosts"”
Review of Locanda Viani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Viani
Ranked #24 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Staying here was definitely a highlight of our three weeks in Italy. Locanda Viani made us feel so at home, charming,clean and superb location, our room was fantastic with a beautiful terrace that had a million dollar view of San Gimignano. Roberto and Paola were so accommodating, warm and gracious we enjoyed chatting with them and their two wonderful children. Roberto was such a help in guiding us to the right places on our day trips in this region of Tuscany. One hour after arriving they made you feel like family and knew your likes and dislikes. After five days we were sad to leave but will always have those special memories. If we have the opportunity in the future we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Staying in Locanda Viani was definitely the highlight of my Holiday! It was tranquil, pretty and relaxing.
My room was perfect! the house was spotless, the breakfasts were delicious and the views were gorgeous that no photo would do it justice.
It was a lovely short walk into San Gimignano where I would wander for a few hours during the day and head back in the evening for dinner.
I have to say though, that without Roberto and Paola (the hosts), my stay would have been completely different. They are the most hospitable and loveliest couple that were a pleasure to meet and spend some time with and I would have loved to extend my stay there. I am definitely coming back again and would definitely recommend Locanda Viani to everyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here as a couple in early June. The host family are very friendly and very helpful with local information including the best restaurants to eat in which aren't overrun with tourists! The house is beautiful, fantastic views and amazing breakfasts! We would love to go back.

Room Tip: The yellow room has it's own roof top terrace - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Locanda Viani for 7 nights from 18 May 2013. Would really recommend we walked into San Gimignano for dinner in the evenings and toured Tuscany during the day. Locanda Viani have their own set of maps and the recommendations where to dine were the best. (Small character restaurants). We felt very welcome, the room had a large balcony with a view of San Gimignano.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room which had a large balcony with views to San Gimignano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My partner and I stayed four nights here and had a lovely time. The location is just a short walk from the town of San Gimignano with nice views back toward it. We loved the chance to stay in a Tuscan household that was still so close to the well preserved medieval town. We stayed in the yellow room which was clean and very comfortable. It also had a gorgeous balcony looking back towards town where we enjoyed lunch bought from the local shops. The hosts, Paola and Roberto were lovely and helped us to have an authentic Tuscan experience, recommending restaurants to eat at in town. If you are hoping to cook dinner as the website suggests keep in mind there needs to be at least 4 people to do this and the cost is 40 euros per person for food alone. We had a really relaxing stay and had a great experience of the Tuscan lifestyle.

Room Tip: If you are choosing between red and yellow rooms, yellow has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaxRomanaXVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We spent 5 weeks wandering Northern Italy mostly staying in B&B's. Locanda Viani was one of the real finds of our travels. Paola and Roberto were the loveliest hosts we found. Thoroughly enjoyed our conversations and getting to know them. The position is great in the view you get of the town and it is the perfect walking distance in wandering up to enjoy dinner and return. Breakfasts were excellent. Paola is a great cook. They provided advice on places to eat in town that served more traditional tuscan food and suggested we just go and read the menus to see what we liked. Great advice as we had a number of excellent meals.
We used Locanda Viani as a base and Roberto provided excellent information on driving tours through the region. We ended up in a range of great little towns that we had no idea about, so it is worth taking the advice of a local.
We felt welcome and looked after. Highly recommended and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The Blue room with access to the small terrace has steep stairs so be aware. Also there is a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dam0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Locanda Viani as part of our honeymoon travelling around Italy and we were delighted that we chose to stay at this wonderful B&B. The location is superb; a short walk from the house to the walled city, is the perfect way to start your day and it was wonderful to escape the crowds after a day of exploring to get ready for an evening out.
The rooms are finished to high standard with artworks painted by Roberto himself, the endlessly helpful and friendly host of the B&B. We had the yellow room with a balcony which was a favorite spot to sit and watch the sun go down. The room was spotlessly clean, finished to a high standard and I had the best nights sleep of all the trip in this wonderful place -maybe it was the comfortable bed, the warm Tuscan colours of the room or the white fluffy robes and slippers, or perhaps the delicious wine- I can't decide?!
Roberto and his wife are on hand to help with anything you may need and they couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. Do take Roberto's advice as he has so much to offer from the best places to eat and drink and to explore. We ate at Quattro Gatti (4 Cats) just next to one of the main squares in the city as the food and wine were so good (and reasonably priced). Get a table in the courtyard at the back if you can. The service was excellent and we had some of the best food of our whole trip. We also took day trips to Florence and Sienna from here (approx. 50 mins to Florence and 40 mins to Sienna) and Roberto gave us tips on where to park and to eat.
We would return to beautiful San Giminano in a heart beat and there is only one place we'd like to stay and that's the Locanda Viani.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 29 in San Gimignano
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Coppi
I Coppi
#5 of 67 in San Gimignano
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Viani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Viani

Address: Via Lazzeretto, 44, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £109 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Viani is in one of the most beautiful areas of San Gimignano, in a very quiet and secluded position on the top of a hill, only 300 metres away from the historic town centre. We will be pleased to have you at the Locanda and experience with you the essence of our traditions.Roberto Viani, his wife Paola and his son Cesare truly welcome you. They place their splendid holiday home at disposal of all those who love Tuscany and would like to discover those places and traditions that only a friend on the spot may know. Only 300 metres away from the historic town centre.- Locanda Viani has 4 very comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, internet free ADSL and a small wine bar.- The kitchen looks like an old grocery where every day revives fragrances and savours of past times.- The hall is a small art-gallery where some works by Roberto Viani are exhibited. The entrance has been furnished with pieces of furniture and glass cupboards which are examples of the best Tuscan handicraft. A beautiful terrace surrounded by a garden from which you can enjoy the view of San Gimignano. Together we will have the opportunity to prepare your dinner and become acquainted with the world of Tuscan wine, olive oil and cheese by tasting a selection of products or visiting those producers who have considered quality as the main goal of their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Viani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Viani San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing