We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo”
Review of Locanda Viani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Viani
Ranked #25 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the red room which was very clean and comfortable and had an amazing view of Sam Gimignano. We old lie to thank Roberto and Paolo who were amazing hosts. They really looked after us. Their hospitality was first class. It is an easy walk into Sam Gimignano and the breakfast was the best we had in Italy. We would also recommend their light evening meal. Paola is an excellent cook. Frank and Lyn Norfolk UK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the yellow room during our three night stay at Locanda Viani. The room was very comfortable and clean, and adjoining balcony - stunning views of San Gimignano and the surrounding Tuscan country side. Roberto and Paola were fabulous hosts..Beautiful breakfasts of homemade dishes and friendly, helpful advice regarding things to do in the area. It is a great place to stay if you wish to explore San Gimignano .. Just a short 5 minute walk away (would suggest a car if you wish to visit other more distant places). Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Request not to have blue room - very small & no window in main part of the room (our friends had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfran62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The view from our private terrace was spectacular. ..with San Gimignano in the distance to the right and rolling hills to the left. But our room was actually quite uncomfortable - with a very small bedroom, no window and narrow stairs to a sitting area. There were also stairs to the bath room -just not a good room for anybody over 50. On the other hand there was the "yellow room" that had a window , a terrace and even better view all on one level. If you want to go to San Gimignano and stay here I suggest you request that room

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in the red room. The villa was absolutely beautiful. Very very clean. Views outstanding & the host family were so welcoming & very helpful. Absolutely a must if you are thinking of visiting Tuscany. I would recommend that you hire a car for your stay to get around the countryside. San Gimignano is a beautiful village with great restaurants & unique shops. All in all a wonderful 5 nights that was a highlight if our trip. THANKYOU Roberto, Paola & your beautiful little boys for making us so very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent here 4 night in July. Rooms are big enough, some with terasse. Host Roberto, his wife and cute son Julio were as our family. Location is close to the city center, all rooms has fabulous view on San Gimignano.
Highly recommended and thank you again Roberto.

Room Tip: Yellow room has big terasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Staying here was definitely a highlight of our three weeks in Italy. Locanda Viani made us feel so at home, charming,clean and superb location, our room was fantastic with a beautiful terrace that had a million dollar view of San Gimignano. Roberto and Paola were so accommodating, warm and gracious we enjoyed chatting with them and their two wonderful children. Roberto was such a help in guiding us to the right places on our day trips in this region of Tuscany. One hour after arriving they made you feel like family and knew your likes and dislikes. After five days we were sad to leave but will always have those special memories. If we have the opportunity in the future we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Staying in Locanda Viani was definitely the highlight of my Holiday! It was tranquil, pretty and relaxing.
My room was perfect! the house was spotless, the breakfasts were delicious and the views were gorgeous that no photo would do it justice.
It was a lovely short walk into San Gimignano where I would wander for a few hours during the day and head back in the evening for dinner.
I have to say though, that without Roberto and Paola (the hosts), my stay would have been completely different. They are the most hospitable and loveliest couple that were a pleasure to meet and spend some time with and I would have loved to extend my stay there. I am definitely coming back again and would definitely recommend Locanda Viani to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#10 of 107 in San Gimignano
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Coppi
I Coppi
#4 of 66 in San Gimignano
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#20 of 66 in San Gimignano
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#21 of 107 in San Gimignano
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Viani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Viani

Property: Locanda Viani
Address: Via Lazzeretto, 44, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Viani is in one of the most beautiful areas of San Gimignano, in a very quiet and secluded position on the top of a hill, only 300 metres away from the historic town centre. We will be pleased to have you at the Locanda and experience with you the essence of our traditions.Roberto Viani, his wife Paola and his son Cesare truly welcome you. They place their splendid holiday home at disposal of all those who love Tuscany and would like to discover those places and traditions that only a friend on the spot may know. Only 300 metres away from the historic town centre.- Locanda Viani has 4 very comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, internet free ADSL and a small wine bar.- The kitchen looks like an old grocery where every day revives fragrances and savours of past times.- The hall is a small art-gallery where some works by Roberto Viani are exhibited. The entrance has been furnished with pieces of furniture and glass cupboards which are examples of the best Tuscan handicraft. A beautiful terrace surrounded by a garden from which you can enjoy the view of San Gimignano. Together we will have the opportunity to prepare your dinner and become acquainted with the world of Tuscan wine, olive oil and cheese by tasting a selection of products or visiting those producers who have considered quality as the main goal of their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Viani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Viani San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing