We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Raccianello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Raccianello
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very pleasant. When the neighbouring agriturismo overbooked and had no room for us -- despite our confirming our reservation by phone -- the owners arranged for a flat to be cleaned and opened for us. (They are not onsite often, but are friendly and very helpful indeed). They give guests a complimentary bottle of the vernaccia that they produce upon checkin, and offer a meal (at 20 Euros) with other residents when there is sufficient demand. The location is ideal: picturesque views across to San Gimignano, but near enough to walk (steep up-down, very dark at night) easily. Very large apartment, comfortable bed and good showers. We were upstairs, with small balcony. Refrigerator with small freezer, electric cooktop, microwave/convection oven. Grounds are nicely landscaped, the unheated pool is very nice, with a good number of sun loungers. The small hot tub with views to San G. is a bonus. A good base for both lounging and walking. Neighbourhood dogs fond of engaging in call-and-response ("When I say 'woof', you say 'woof': Woof! [woof!], woof! [woof!]..."), but quiet indoors. Would cheerfully stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfamousGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at this property with our three children for two weeks, and for some part of our stay, our friends with their families also stayed here. The location is perfect, you have a clear view of San Gimignano and easy access to the property from the main road through a rural terrain. The place does not serve breakfast, lunch or dinner but there is a decent restaurant a few hundred meters down the road which is a real value for money. We stayed in the apartment Camelia but I also looked at Viola and Iris where our friends stayed. Camelia was spacious and easily comfortable with three children (one of them a baby) and had a beautiful huge balcony with a view of San Gimignano, although the bathroom could be bigger. The appartment was well equipped. Viola I think is very small and your living room opens to the public areas which does not give much privacy. Iris is large, well organized and our friends stayed there with 4 kids (one a baby).

It seemed like a value for money place at first (but see below)

What downgrades the property is the noise and the paralell business of the owners.

At the time we visited every night at least until midnight there was a disco or a live concert (often with 1980s Italian and international hits) across the valley near San Gimiganon which was so loud that in most of the apartments you could hear the music behind closed windows (as there is no airconditioning in most aparments (except, from the ones I saw, Iris) you normally would not close your windows for the night). The loud and sometimes intolarable music echoed the entire property and the surrounding area - and when the music stopped it seemed that all the dogs in Tuscany gathered for an hour of barking every night. Of course the owners can not help this but I wonder why all affected property owners do not lobby for the festival and disco to take place somewhere nearer the city where I guess most of the audience comes from. I understand that this is a primarily end of July/August problem, but we just happened to be there at the wrong time it seems. It is also true that some of the apartments are better protected from noise, especially in the back of the property, near the pool (but the concerts starting in August were loud enough to send the Dutch family wondering out of their apartment during the middle of the night.

The other thing is that the owner seems to be running two parallel businesses in one property: the apartment rental and an events business (of course they have agricultural business, but this is normal for an agriturismo). The owner organized a birthday party with loud disco music, a wedding with a horrible singer and a private banker party during our two weeks stay. Out of the properties, the main building and Iris is badly exposed to the noise coming from the meeting/dining room immidiately next to Iris. On one night when the disco music with about a hundred 16year old Italians was on, our kids could not go to sleep at all. To the owners' credit they did stop the music when we told them at midnight that it was too much (the wedding also lasted until about midnight). One afternoon we got back to the apartment to the sight of a dozen of private banking clients and their SUVs (it was apparent who they are from the bags they carried with the name of one of the best known Swiss private banks) who used the pool together with our children and wondered across the property where about two dozen guests were trying to enjoy their holidays.

I do not believe that you should mix traditional Tuscan apartments and hospitality business with an events organization business. This is not the reason we have visited Tuscany 8 times since 2002.

I do not know how long this "noisy" season runs, but assuming this happens often, this is not a place with small kids, or for a romantic stay or for tired professionals seeking a couple of weeks of rest.

The

Room Tip: Camelia for the view. Iris for the well organized structure for famiies with more children. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Where to start... My now wife and then girlfriend first stumbled upon Raccianello while looking for suitable wedding locations around San Gimignano two years ago. Raccianello made the shortlist and we decided to book a stay there first during summertime that year. We spent a wonderful week there in June 2010. We decided then and there we had found our location. During the year that followed Chiara was extremely helpful in the whole planning process, gathering information, recommending caters, photographers etc. etc. Basically acting as a wedding planner at no extra cost. We again booked a preparation visit in march 2011, and again the stay was wonderful. Everything came together in June 2011 when we had our wedding under the burning tuscan sun. Together with about 20 friends and family we had a wedding day and subsequent week which was by lack of a better word... Perfect. All of this had not been possible without the work Chiara had done with her family and the wonderful location and hospitality. Special thanks to Mauro who could not do enough for us, putting up lights, checking every day if all was well. We recommend this wonderful place to everyone, for any occasion. A wedding, a week in the sun relaxing, for families, couples... You just can not go wrong with this place. A perfect combination of location, hospitality and relaxation. And of course a place we will return to yet many.... many times. Grazie Mille Raccianello. Erik & Jessica da Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greywood1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Overlooking the Medieval town of San Gimignano Raccianello is a beautiful, warm, well kept treasure in Tuscany.

The agriturismo is based on a full operating olives and grapes farm, producing its own olive oil and wines. The latter was placed in our apartment at arrival as a welcome gift. Lovely after cooling a few hours in the fridge!

We stayed in one of the 2 air conditioned apartments; Iris. Yes, my co-writer below is right about the rather small shower cabin. In order for it to be truly relaxing it could be slightly bigger.. And yes, the shower itself had some problems staying in the holder. But hey, this is Italy, not Germany!!
The apartment was nicely kept, had plenty of room and an airy feeling to it. One of the bedrooms had full view of San Gimignano, nice! So yes, the pictures kept on their own website show you the real thing!

Part of the agriturismo experience is the availability of a vegetable garden from which the guests can harvest their own fresh ingredients for dinner. Also at your disposal are 2 BBQ areas, a laundry facility, hot tub, nice ‘endless’ pool and Mario, the ‘grounds man’ with a nice story every day again.

On a weekly basis the owners prepare a nice home cooked dinner to be enjoyed together in the small restaurant. A real treat prepared by ‘Nonna’.

There was only one ‘but’ to all of this. During the summer months a ‘Festa’ might take place in San Gimignano (check Google before booking!). When this is on, it results in quite some background noise as there are live performers on a daily basis between 9.30PM and midnight, not all of the highest quality…
Outside of these Festa weeks, we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed at and had our wedding reception at Agriturismo Raccianello. And what can I say?!

The place is absolutely beautiful with stunning views from pretty much all of the rooms and particularly from the swimming pool. We had our wedding singer perform overlooking the pool area so that the guests could mingle with drinks by the pool.

The apartments were wonderfully clean and in lovely condition

Chiara and all of the lovely ladies who work at Racianello were so wonderful to us. Always happy and willing to help. They let us use the hall and kitchen facilities for the 3 days that all of our guests were there, leaving us free to come and go as we wish and use all of the kitchen, storage facilities, glasses and crockery etc

The Chianti produced on the vineyard is delicious- I can't tell you how many bottles we consumed over the weekend!

They only thing I would say is that you must make sure to have clear communication with them before you arrive as there was some mix-up with our arrival day and they weren't expecting us (in the middle of the night). They came straight out to let us in and prepare our rooms for us though!

In conclusion, I was thrilled at how well our wedding reception went at Raccianello. It was the perfect location that you always hope for and we would not have changed a detail

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandypawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

The best vacation i have ever had.

The swimming pool is amazing, with a splendid view over the city of san gimignano.

The apartments or the 2 houses for rent, is by far the best i have rented in this aerea.

The agroturisimo produces white and red wine of good quality, and a really good olive oil.

the restaurant on top off the hill. 500m for raccianello is really good. Live music and a friendly staff, that are speaks good english. the quality on the food is exelent.

our kids on 3 and 5 had the best stay, playing, swiming etc.

I will be back for next season

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

We stayed a week at Agriturismo Raccianello. It was fantastic.

It was a bit of a leap of faith, as there were absolutely no reviews on the Internet, and all I had to go by was their website. The website URL is: [--]

Mirella is great to communicate with as she speaks and writes English very well. She is also an accomodating hostess, and really wants you to enjoy your stay.

I can't comment on all of the different suites that they have there, as we only stayed in one, of course, but it was just what we wanted. We stayed in the Iris suite (really, its own house). The bonus with Iris is that the laundry room is on the side of the house, so you have the most convenient access to it.

The good points:
- Central location: You are in the very heart of Tuscany. We drove everywhere. You can can go anywhere in Tuscany, or western Umbria, in day trips.
- Amazing view of San Gimignano from your bedroom (and bathroom, and kitchen...) window. The most beautiful town in all of Tuscany!
- Lots of room in your suite. Kitchen, bathroom, living room, two bedrooms. Central air conditioning in this suite, as well.
- Price: We paid less than a thousand Euros for the week.
- Absolutely incredible grounds: Gardens, spectacular lighting, electric gate, grand pool (with a great view), and they grow their own grapes and olives. (They sell a red and white wine that they produce, as well as olive oil that they produce.) There are terraces everywhere, including outside your door, with your own table, chairs, and chaise lounges. Lots of plants, shrubs, flowers, etc. There are BBQ's on the property for you to use.
- Mirella will allow mid-week arrivals, if she can accomodate it (otherwise she prefers Saturday - Saturday rentals, as most accomodations in Italy do.).
- Everything you need is right there.

Nit Picking (there really isn't anything to complain about):
- a tiny bit rustic (but "Hey!", you're in Tuscany). No real kitchen cupboards. Some cobwebs. Could use new grout around the tiles. You get the idea...
- Shower is tiny (smaller than a cruise ship shower).
- No daily service. You look after the suite yourself, for the week.

Overall, a truely fantastic Tuscan experience! We look forward to going back.

Also, see my reviews of Corte Grinmani Residence, in Venice, and the Westin Excelsior, in Rome. Tuscany Forum for advice on getting around Tuscany, too.

  • Liked — Location and view.
  • Disliked — Small shower, and a little rustic.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
0.2 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#10 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo I Pini
Agriturismo I Pini
#31 of 65 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Raccianello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Raccianello

Property: Agriturismo Raccianello
Address: Loc. Racciano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Raccianello is the perfect place for a period of relax, to regenerate body and spirit absorbed in the most beautiful scenery that Tuscan countryside has to offer , a privilege that we want to share with our guests. A landscape that can only give wellness , the eye is lost in the view of the extraordinary and incomparable profile of the towers of the medieval village of San Gimignano, surrounded by rolling hills , vineyards and green forests . The farm Raccianello offers for your holidays 7 apartments that can satisfy every need with exclusive outdoor space , areas in common and a swimmingpool with a wonderful view of San Gimignano. The farm, with its 2.5 Hectares of vineyards and olive groves produces Chianti wine , Vernaccia di San Gimignano , grappa and olive oil that you can buy in the shop room inside the structure. Our location , just 3 km from San Gimignano, 45 km from Florence , 25 km from Siena and Volterra, 70 km from Pisa , 60 km from Montalcino and 70 km from the Sea, makes the farm Raccianello a strategic point to reach the most famous art cities in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Raccianello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Raccianello San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing