We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to relax and to discover Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
Leavingroom Salvia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Leavingroom Salvia
Leavingroom First Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Leavingroom Salvia
Leavingroom
First Bedroom
second Bedroom
Main bathroom
Drawing Salvia
Terrace
House
Fishing lake
Fishing Lake
Salvia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andra B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax and to discover Tuscany”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 1 week in this fabulous apartment. Leandro, the landloard, and his family are very nice. The new pool is awesome. We can highly recommend this place.

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil25201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent accomodation with exceptional grounds”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I had the ground floor of this property and were absolutely delighted with the actual accomodation and the grounds, pool, lake and garden. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the grounds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aghiotto2...
Sacile, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Visit”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can't recommend this farmhouse enough! Everything about it was perfect. We stayed there in October. It was more then enough room for me, my wife, and our two sons, ages 5 and 6. Even before arriving, Leandro was extremely responsive and helpful, providing great directions and GPS coordinates. He was extremely accommodating on check-in time was very prompt. The home itself was clean, modern, and accommodating. They even provided a free bottle of wine and plenty of blankets for when it got cool at night. The apartment's grounds alone were enough to recommend the place. There was a fishing pond, available fishing pool, a swing for the kids, plenty of room to run around in, and a very friendly cat that your kids loved. It was a great respite for them after long days exploring Tuscany.

The location was great as well. It was close to San Gigimiano. We took day trips to Siena and Chianti, both of which were only about 45 minutes away. Close to the house were wineries and restaurants. A great visit overall and would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gracy_all...
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, central and safe! Perfect for an authentic tuscan vacation!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed with our three daughters and we had a wonderful time! The house is exactly as described. It is charming and has an authentic Tuscan coziness. It was clean and had everything we needed to be comfortable! The house is very central! It is perfectly situated for day trips to Florence, San Gimigano, Sienna, Volterra, and Chianti! It is also located close to a well supplied supermarket. Leandro and his family were very friendly! This was our first trip to Tuscany and our stay at Podere San Galgano certainly helped make this a memorable vacation!! We highly recommend this house to anyone interested in visiting Tuscany!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness of the house!
Liked least: Internet connection was very weak.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank V
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Convenient, Beautiful!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Leandro and his family were more than friendly. This renovated old barn has two apartments, and we stayed in the one on the ground floor. We had two adults and 3 children (12-16). There is a pond with lots of fish (fishing poles in shed by pond), 3 donkeys and some friendly cats! The property is gated, so privacy and security are assured. The villa is lovcated just outside of Ulignano, a few kilometers north of San Gimignano.

The only negative about the Villa is that the WiFi is very spotty and weak - we had to use our Hertz MiFi the whole time.

As far as convenience, this villa is located within easy day trips to Florence, Pisa and Lucca (did in one day), Montalcino, Siena, San Gimignano, Beaches of Cecina and many of the towns in Tuscany. For Florence, grab the train in Certaldo just about 8 kilometers up the road - I think it was 10Euros to park at station for the entire day. When we went, the temps were over 100 degrees Fahrenheit for the week, so we took a break one day and went to Mulino di Quercegrossa near Siena - a wonderful waterpark with huge swimming pools, falls and fountains. http://www.mulinodiquercegrossa.it/ Well worth it!

Right down the road from the villa is Tenuta Torciano where we had some of the best wine of the entire trip. Their Brunello's and Super Tuscans are to die for, but beware, a Wine Lunch that includes wine pairings and explanations that only costs 25Euros per person will turn into about 250+ Euros as you will definitely want to buy their wine, which is automatically shipped home at no additional cost. Be sure to stop by and set a lunch appointment - you will not be disappointed! In Montalcino, have lunch on the terrace of Boccon Divino - amazing views and great food! On the way back from Montalcino, look for the Wine Tasting and Tours sign on the right - follow dirt road past castle until you reach Carpazo Vineyard. Park around back and enjoy some fantastic wine tastings with VERY healthy pours. The server, Guilia was very knowledgeable and she gave us between 4-6 oz per tasting. After about 9 tastings, I was considering having the 12 year old drive us home...... The Brunellos were great, but the best values were the Chianti's, the Rosso and the Sangiovese/Cabernet Blend - all spectacular. Their Vernaccia was a great white.

For a great Viognier, stop at Val di Suga on right after the roundabout as you leave Montalcino. Their Brunellos were great, and their Nobile was a great value!

If you go to Pisa, skip going up the tower - everyone we talked to said to skip it, and we did. Of course we went and took tons of pictures, but we saved time, drove up to Lucca and rented bikes at the north gate from Cicli Bizzaro for 3Euros per hour and had a fantastic ride "on the walls" around the whole city.

As an adventuring traveler, I like to find things off the beaten path, and Google is my best travel book. I hope that this review will give you some ideas to make the best of your stay at this wonderful Villa.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sash C
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Podere San Galgano for the first time, but it was an amazing experience. The owner and his family were very careful and pleasant. The accomodation was clean, comfortable and very beautiful. As we were two couples, we had two separated bedrooms, bathrooms, own kitchen and a living room that we appreciated a lot. The surroundings was amazing as the house is located in typical Tuscan nature, and you can relax and meditate in such a quiet place! The holiday was excellent! We had everytihing we needed.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borntorun...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed, for the second time, at Podere San Galgano in June this year and had, once again, a wonderful holiday. The apartment Salvia has everything any family could want and it is spacious and well designed whilst maintaining a charming and authentic Tuscan ambience. It is very clean and comfortable with all the little extras to make for a relaxing stay. Cooking and enjoying a meal there is a pleasure and because of this we found we ate in more often than we went out to eat which is not what we usually do on holiday especially with all the great restaurants nearby. The owner and his family are kind, very helpful and hard working hosts and maintain the property and its environs to an excellent standard. The garden and lake are beautiful as is the surrounding countryside with so many interesting nearby towns and cities to visit for example San Gimignano, Volterra, Florence, Lucca and Sienna, to mention just a few.We still have so much more we want to see and do even after two visits to the area and look forward very much to our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing