We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique taste of Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche
Torino
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique taste of Tuscany!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful location to spend some time in a niche area of the Tuscany. Casa alle Vacche is run by a very nice family of excellent wine producers, the location is situated in a prominent area with a stunning view of the Chianti's Hill just in front of San Gimignano (5mins by car). Lovely rooms allow to re-discover the tipical taste of the Tuscan countryside. You can't miss if you come around, don't forget the award-winning 'Cinabro' wine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stopped at this farmhouse on our way to Rome and we had lunch and wine tasting for at least 4 hours...One of the best experience we've had in Italy and this is our 3rd time in this beautiful country! Every single wine we tasted was world class and the food: "Oh my God". The chef (by hobby) made this rabbit dish that was "To Die For". It was like we were experiencing the scene from "The Big Night" movie...Excellent... We ended up buying also a 6 bottles of wine that lucky for us we were able to bring through US customs...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alstefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My Mum and I have been coming back here for about 12 years now. We absolutely love this place. It is relaxed, tranquil, peaceful, great comfy accommodation and incredibly friendly family who we have had the pleasure of getting to know over the years. The apartments are immaculate and the pool is beautiful and refreshing.
Casa Alle Vacche is in the heart of Tuscany between Florence and Siena and a stones throw from San Gimignano - perfect for touring so many of the beautiful towns and villages or just chilling out by the pool and reading a good book.
The wine is also exceptionally good. Many many happy memories of holidays here - and many more to come I am sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The farm house is on a small hill in the middle of a big valley ,the scenery is
Beautiful and I guess very Tuscan.
Francesco the owner is very nice and gives good travelling advice .
We stayed at one of the two big apartments that have very big (6*8 m^2) porch .with the best view.
The farm house has a warm microclimate for the winter ,so it’s warmer then everywhere else we have been in Tuscany in March.

Room Tip: the big apartments have the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moogimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was the Tuscan hillside retreat I had dreamed of. The road up is a little narrow and daunting, but the location is stunning - on a hillside amongst vines and olive trees. Casa Alle Vacche is a working vineyard and produces olive oil - we were offered wine on arrival, but sadly were so hot we opted for water! We were met by Francesco (? the owner's son) who spoke excellent English, which was a huge relief as my Italian is very rusty. We were too early in the season to use the pool, which was a shame, as it was very hot on our first few days there.

Practicalities - I would recommend getting hold of a street map of Certaldo. There wasn't one in our guide book and we never did find the local supermarket! Our sat nav found us the railway station to get the train into Florence. Certaldo is much easier to reach than San Gimignano - the road is better, although neither is far.

My sleep quality was only poor because I'm a light sleeper and I was always woken up by the dawn chorus! I'm sure anyone else would sleep like a log.

All the family were incredibly helpful - Signor helped us with blown lightbulbs and Francesco with a socket problem (sockets here are NOT the same as French ones, so our adaptor didn't work, but he had one we could use). One day, my partner went off to Florence while I opted to stay behind and relax - as I was sitting out in the sun, Signora approached me and handed me a plate of her chocolate and pear cake! It was absolutely delicious. Our stay was truly memorable and I was sorry to leave (even though by then it was chucking it down with rain).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Casa alle vacche is set in an area of rural beauty. The accommadation is simple, but splendid, the warmth if the welcome is genuine and unparalleled. Senora Nella speaks no English, but finds ways of communicating everything by gestures. The vineyard produces lovely wine and the most excellent olive oil, and eating al freco in the moonlight was delightful. Only ten minutes drive away is a sizeable town, with a beautiful and historic old section, perched atop a hill. Down below, busy Italian lives are lived.. The Co-op sells everything you could need for gourmet cuisine at home... but there also are local markets and a range of other shopping options.

There is a wealth of possibilities for days out. Florence is less than an hour's comfortable train jouney, and Siena is less - but watch out for the train times coming home - the last train from Siena is early evening and coming from Florence, a bus might be used for the last leg of the journey. Taxis are always available if you should find yourself stranded. Learning a little Italian beforehand is useful, although many Italians speak some English.

Driving is a bit stressful because of the Italian drivers' readiness with the horn at junctions, where there might be more than a dozen places listed on the signs. The place is laced with a spider's web network of roads, but once off the beaten track, you can meander along unspoiled lanes fringed generously with poppies... The scenery is glorious, and there are lots of similar vineyards to visit, some of which provide meals, although prior booking may be necessary, There are cafes and restaurants to choose from, but once we discovered the ice cream parlour in the town, we bade farewell to proper evening meals and feasted on frozen yoghurt instread...

Some of the hilltowns are difficult for parking - I use a wheelchair, so it was mandatory to be abe to drive right to a central spot. Parking permits are available by prior request, so if you have some walking dififculties and would like to visit hilltowns like San Gimignano, then try to organise the permit beforehand, or as soon as you arrive.

If anyone would like further information about wheelchair accessibility issues, then you can contact me through my website : www.helpforme.co.uk

  • Liked — Clean, simple, good taste, very quiet, beautiful
  • Disliked — I use a wheelchair and there was a little gravel in the courtyard... but I was able to take the car right to the door, so it was not important.
  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee_Quacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#13 of 107 in San Gimignano
210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
7.4 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
58 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castello di Fulignano
Castello di Fulignano
#44 of 107 in San Gimignano
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche

Property: Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche
Address: Via Lucignano 73/A | SP Certaldo - San Gimignano, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Agriturismo Casa alle Vacche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Casa Alle Vacche San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing