We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay when visiting San Gimignano!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pietrafitta Podere La Costa
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This agriturismo is located just outside San Gimignano, giving you wonderful views of the city and the country. It's off the beaten path which made it feel like a hidden treasure. The rooms are clean, shower had great pressure and the grounds were so relaxing. Luciano takes great care of his guests. San Gimignano is a bit touristy so we enjoyed relaxing during the day here and then headed into town once the shuttles took the tourists home.

Best to have a car if you are staying here. It's a short ride to San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGDGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Beautiful place. Extraordinary view. Clean, romantic, quiet.

We had some problems finding the place (arrived by car). We did not do good research before we drove there, and a GPS will not take you there :)
After some fondling around, we called the manager Luciano, and got directions. No problem. The road is not very good, but a normal car will have no problems getting about. We drove a small Fiat Punto and it did the job.

We were welcomed and received the key to our room, the Margaritha room, which is on the second floor. Nice, big room with a great bathroom. Extraordinary view over the tuscan hillsides and San Gimignano.

The location is extremely good. Splendid view, quiet, green and relaxing.
They have a swimming pool which is clean and well maintained.

The place has 9 rooms, which means that it will not be over populated.
Breakfast was very nice. Home baked bread, coffee, basic but good selection of ham, cheese, butter, cakes, jam and so on.

The location is perfect as a base to travel around the Tuscany area. But you will need a car, no question. We only traveled to San Gimignano during our stay here, and spent some time by the pool and the surrounding area.

It was very nice to eat breakfast, chill by the pool, drive to San Gimignano to eat a big lunch, do some shopping and return to the pool and just relax there the rest of the day. You will need to bring food (there is a refrigerator in the room) back as they do not serve dinner if you tend to stay the rest of the night on location.

Complimentary half-bottle of white wine and water on the fridge.
I would absolutely recommend to visit the vineyard and taste the different wines, and buy some of them. My favorites was the "La Costa" and the "Campidonna". To bad I can't find this wine in Norway...

I would definitively recommend this place to all my friends!
Thanks for a great stay, only wish i was there longer.

Room Tip: Ask for the Margarita room, big and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

If you're looking for a place to relax after touring Tuscany, then Pietrafitta is just the place. There were 6 of us who stayed here for 6 nights, and looking back, we wish we had stayed a few extra days.

A word of warning however, if you're afraid of steep hills with no barrier walls, perhaps you should reconsider. We had a van and going up the gravel single, lane roads was quite the journey. At one point, we had to make an awkward turn in order to get into the parking zone of the villa and unless you can give it enough gas, (which we couldn't because of the turn and size of the vehicle), the van stalled and started going backwards! Had my husband not been quick to slam on the brakes, we would've had a scenic ride down the hill backwards!!! Luckily, he became a pro at making it up the hill and by the end of our vacation it was no problem. Keep in mind that there is the main entrance to Pietrafitta which is a longer road and then there's a shorter entrance, but steeper. If you've got a small car, the journey up is no problem. Thankfully, on none of our trips up or down the hill did we encounter another vehicle...if we had, I don't know what we would've done!

Aside from that, the villa is quite pretty, perched on top of a hill, looking out at San Gimignano. You can walk into town if it's not too hot...it's all uphill. It took us about 45 minutes and that's with stopping along the way. Not recommended on a really hot day.

The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. Linens are clean, and bathroom towels replaced daily, A bottle of their own wine was waiting for us upon arrival and we were greeted by Luciano, who was always so pleasant and gracious. He was always so helpful with offering suggestions of places to go and how to get there.

Breakfasts were sufficient...usually the same...fruit tart, freshly baked bread, salami, jams, yoghurt, cereal, coffee, tea.

Since we were essentially the only 6 people there initially, we asked if we could cook in the kitchen. Although it's not the norm, Luciano was kind enough to provide us with a large pot, extra dishes, ladles and spoons for a spaghettata we wanted to have. The only reason they shy away from this is because of the other guests who may be there, and the fact that they don't have all the proper kitchenware. However, if you want to prepare a quick lunch, you may do so...we often prepared tomatoes, cheese, olives and wine for lunch....what more can you want!?

The pool area was always kept clean and tidy and the pool was lovely. The patio area was just off the side of the pool, covered by a beautiful fig tree (2 of them), which unfortunately were not ripe yet! The patio chairs could stand to be replaced, as they were not too comfortable to sit on for long periods of time, but fine for a quick lunch.

Do not forget to take the wine tour. Unfortunately, we were there too early and therefore grapes were just starting to grow. It must be fabulous to be there during a time of year when they have their harvest. We were taken through the factory and Jessica was very good at explaining the process of wine-making. We had a wine tasting afterwards which was quite nice.

Looking at the pictures provided by Tripadvisor indicates that some improvements have been done to the property, so don't base your decision going by the pictures. (I have provided some)

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this villa.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are quite nice, however, we stayed in the room upstairs to the left (Marg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely B&B for four nights and wished we could have stayed for more. It is perfectly situated just outside San Gimignano. A complimentary bottle of Chianti from their own vineyard awaited us in our room. Our room had been recently decorated in a very tasteful rustic style and it was spotlessly clean. We had fresh bedding and towels daily. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Do go to their vineyard - we had a most enjoyable, informative and delicious wine tasting one lunch time. The pool was also divine and we had it to ourselves most days.
Bob and Tracey. England

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyBobEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The host is very welcoming and very helpful. However the breakfast is very portion controlled i.e. 4 guests - 4 eggs put out and small amounts of all other items. Bread is freshly baked but one day there were only 4 guests and the following day the remainder of the loaf was put out. Hygiene standards need improving, dishes were rinsed under a running tap and left on the draining board to dry and then placed back on the shelf no washing-up liquid was used. Also the bedspeard had a number of dirty marks on it.
There was also no mention that the entry road to the property is rough gravel and in places steep and no more than a track. The shorter route is also very steep and gravelled. Although a lovely setting this hotel does not give value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun1flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Often touristy places like this in Italy are characterised by an overly commercial approach and lack of service, but here it was like staying with friends. Luciano is a great manager and person. We arrived by public transport and got dropped off at entirely the wrong place by the bus driver, but when we called Luciano to ask for directions he came to pick us up by car.

The building is what you would expect from the pictures, rustic-charming Tuscan style. Nice room, good cleaning. The terrace with swimming pool has one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world. Great hiking in the surroundings.

It's more practical to have a car here, as it is a 3-4 km walk to the town, and there is no restaurant on site or nearby. However, one evening when we were stuck because it was raining Luciano helped us out by preparing a great dinner of local cheese, salami, bread and wine. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This little hotel, more like an "inn", is just fantastic! Situated on the Pietrafitta Vinyard, perched on the side of hill, overlooking the valley's of the Tuscan wine region, this was a perfect place to make our home base while we toured about Tuscany. Everything was just a short drive (Sienna, Florence, Pisa, Chianti...). Only about 10 rooms, there were just 17 people staying there, including ourselves....the rooms are clean, quaint, comfortable and decorated in the style of a Tuscan villa! The afternoons were spent lounging around the beautiful pool while admiring the spectacular view of the countryside & the town of San Gigmignano just a few kilometers away. In the morning, a lovely breakfast served up in the kitchen....classical music playing while the smell of fresh coffee brewing & fresh baked bread awakened our senses! The inn manager, Luciano, is the sweetest, most helpful host of any we've met! We felt very relaxed and very much "at home" here. This is definitely a spot that I will return to!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Podere San Luigi
Podere San Luigi
#67 of 107 in San Gimignano
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
3.6 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietrafitta Podere La Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietrafitta Podere La Costa

Address: Localita Cortennano 54, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £107 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pietrafitta Podere La Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietrafitta Podere La Costa San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing