We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pietrafitta Podere La Costa
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding this divine B & B on the hill as there was no sign up the windy unsealed road but when we got there it was well worth driving around looking for it. There actually two entrances one closer to San Gimignano and the other located where wine tasting happens at the beginning of the driveway. Just beautiful beds are firm as we found most beds in Italy but the views were spectacular breakfast substantial and the hospitality outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were in search for any random winery with a tasting stand on the side of the road while driving through Tuscany....this was it and it was perfect! This was exactly what we were looking for. The wine was good. The girl serving us was friendly, spoke great english and really helped us enjoy and appreciate the wines as we tried six of them plus their own olive oil. If you can jump off the highway between Rome and Florence, take a side detore and on the way to San Gimignano, make sure to hit this winery for a tasting and buy a bottle or two.

Room Tip: sorry, we didn't stay here, just stopped for a wine tasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent 4 days at this lovely villa in September. It's a large villa situated on a hilltop facing San Gimignano with some breath taking views. The owners were extremely helpful; they ensured that the place was always clean including the rooms and pool.

Make sure to get the exact location of the villa as it was not found on my GPS and hence I had to spend some time searching in the dark for it around tiny country roads.

Had a superb time, fully recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sscerri-malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Wife and I just returned from a two week vacation across Italy and we can't stop telling people about Podere La Costa - paradise within the heart of Tuscany.

Upon arriving you immediately see the spectacular setting that this property is set on with breathtaking views that could not be rivaled anywhere else. Luciano was there to greet us and show us to our room which had working air conditioning and a beautiful view of San Gimignano which is a great place to visit for a day and enjoy a meal. Siena was also a short 45 minute drive away and a lovely city to visit. However we simply enjoyed the lovely property and laid by the pool for a few hours each day using this as a "vacation from our vacation", and we could not have been happier.

I would highly recommend this spot to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinschiene
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

If you look for a great vacation retreat in the heart of Tuscany, Pietrafitta Podere La Costa is it. About 2 miles from San Gimignano they offer 9 rooms in absolut tranquility with a great view of the skyline of this medieval town. It is ideally located in respect to sight seeing high lights like Firenze, Siena, Volterra, Lucca and the Chianti area. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds. There is a large swimming pool on the premises amidst the vineyards where the Pietrafitta winery grows its delicious Vernaccia wine. They also make a good Grappa.
The best asset in this old but renovated winery is probably the director of La Costa, Luciano. He greeted us upon arrival, showed us around and never grew tired of our numerous questions about what to do and to see and where to shop and to eat and how to get there, etc.. He was always friendly and most helpful and speaks english very well. Every morning he bakes fresh bread and picks fresh figs from the trees outside for breakfast. With Christina's help he keeps everything spotless including the pool.
We loved everything about this unique and authentic place and hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

of all the hotels that we booked during our three weeks of travelling, this one is the one that we spent the most time researching - consequently our expectations were high.
Upon arrival it's impossible to ignore the spectacular setting with breathtaking views. The gardens and pool looked fabulous.
Our welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown quickly to our room.
It was spacious, comfortable, very well fitted and had a magnificent bathroom. However, as we were completing the check-in procedure, we were advised that the aircon system was faulty and would be unlikely to be repaired during our two-night stay. This was a huge problem as the temperatures were still very high. The host apologised profusely and assured us that, if we left, there would be no cancellation charge. Reluctantly, we had to accept defeat and book somewhere else. The lovely host helped us connect our laptop to his wi-fi router and we went back onlne to select another venue. Terrible shame.
True to his word, the host emailed me to confirm that no charges would be made. Even though we didn't manage to stay here, I felt that such an honest approach to customer care should be rewarded with a positive review - and if we ever return to San Gimignano (even though we were ultimately very happy with our second-choice hotel) we would give this place another try.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We arrived in late May 2012. My son and his wife, my daughter and I. To date we had an amazing trip through Austria, (Salzburg, Innsbruck and Heiligenblut) We then stayed in Cortina and it was beautiful but when we arrived at Pietrafitta we knew we reached a 'gem' in the hills of Tuscany. Each morning I would awake to the Kuckoos cooing, the pheasants and peacocks calling and when I opened by window the view of the ancient medievil town of San Gimignano took my breathe away - across the vinyards and olive groves the towers in the morning sun were breathtaking. Breakfast is wonderful and included in a very reasonable room rate. Eggs and Prosciutto, fresh bread and yogurt with fruit and meusli and more. Of course the wonderful italian expressos and cappucinos. Sitting by the pool and relaxing in the late afternoon after a morning of sight seeing was devine and I think we all agreed that we could live here.
Service is wonderful, the rooms are beyond clean and the bathrooms new and updated. We appreciated the refigerator in the room as we would buy cheese and sausages and bring wine and feast as the sun went down on the patio by the pool. I want to go back and will gladly recommend my friends at Pietrafitta. (BWT - once you are close with the GPS - call them and they will guide you but our GPS took us almost all the way there. Salut! Heidi

Room Tip: every room was wonderful...but ask to be facing San Gimiganano ---- it is truly breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Colline
Le Colline
#12 of 31 in San Gimignano
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
Hotel Ristorante da Graziano
#13 of 31 in San Gimignano
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Il Castagnolo
Il Castagnolo
#31 of 66 in San Gimignano
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#10 of 111 in San Gimignano
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#25 of 111 in San Gimignano
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietrafitta Podere La Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietrafitta Podere La Costa

Property: Pietrafitta Podere La Costa
Address: Localita Cortennano 54, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pietrafitta Podere La Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietrafitta Podere La Costa San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing