We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fith visit to this Oasis of Peace”
Review of Podere San Luigi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere San Luigi
Reviewed 9 March 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt we had arrived home, our troubles and work live melt away as we enjoy the delights of this beautiful Tuscan farmhouse and garden and its owners mario and Annulinda. This is a perfect spot to enjoy the Tuscan atmosphere, visit Florence and Sienna or to travel further if you wish to. Mario can offer alsorts of advice on where to go and the history of Italy and lthe locality and the odd piece of European politics and how he likes the UK Royal Family! Annalinda cooks a fantastic Tuscan meal for all te guests once a week which is excellent and great way to mix with the other guests. There is nothing better than touring the local sites and returning to enjoy the pool and a siesta before taking in the evening entertainment. I would move here if I could but unfortunately the Euro exchange rate is not helping at the moment. We are returning for another fortnight to wash away all our troubles and stresses of work life in this beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

My wife and I have stayed at San Pietro on four occasions now in recent years and have booked again for this year.
It's the perfect place to relax: a beautiful quiet garden with stunning views over Tuscan hills, whether sunbathing by the pool or sitting in one of the secluded corners of the garden.

The location is excellent for San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra - and even the drive to Florence is well under an hour.
We have always stayed in the ground-floor apartment which is cool and spacious with good facilities and the advantage of its own patio - great place for breakfast or dinner.

But the best thing about San Pietro is the owners: Mario and Annalinda are wonderful hosts who get the balance just right of friendly hospitality without being intrusive. Mario is usually around to answer any questions or give a word of advice and Annalinda is a suberb cook!
If you don't go to San Pietro, you're missing a treat!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William52London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We have been to Podere San Luigi in Oct. 2005 and Oct. 2007. We have been to Rome and Amalfi/Sorrento but nothing is better than this beautiful place in the heart of Tuscany. We obviously cannot get there every year, and grandchildren and scattered children take a good share of our travel time, but there is no place we would rather be. Imagine driving up the road to the villa and there is Mario, on a ladder on an olive tree, shaking the tree to harvest the olives. Is this staged? Is this Hollywood? No - it is real. Wild boar hunting early in the morning? Yes. Being in the heart of Tuscany with a dozen destinations within an easy drive? Yes. If you don't enjoy your stay, let us know and we will go in your place next year.

Bob and Kate Brill
Minneapolis, Minnesota

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowsheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Podere San Luigi truly is a magical place. We enjoyed 2 wonderful stays here. The pool is lovely, set in glorious, peaceful gardens with views to die for. The garden is a peaceful place in which to rest amongst the soft scent of many beautiful roses with only the sound of chirping crickets to interupt your thoughts.

Our apartment on the ground floor was spacious and furnished with genuine Italian antiques. The pretty traditional old building providing cool after a day in the sun.

Mario & Annalinda are the perfect hosts. Very knowledgeable of the area, friendly and helpful but never overly intrusive. Many mornings we awoke to find some freshly picked vine tomatoes or a basket of black figs on our patio table. A true taste of Tuscany.

Podere San Luigi is in a great location for visiting the special towns and villages in this part of Tuscany. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank judy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Thats the only way to describe this lovely place, from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome but not overpowered with info of the surrounding area by Mario the owner. he showed us to our apartment which had everthing down to a wee torch for outside at night, he then left us do discover the area for ourselves. From the gardens you can look into the distance and see both Florence and Sienna in the most amazing panoramic view on this earth. You can then drive into San Gimignano in mins. and its like going back centuries the place has hundreds of things to visit and / or sit and watch the world of tourists go by at one of the many eateries. Travel an hour in any direction takes you to either Pisa, Florence,Sienna or Voltera with its famous walls a truly amazing sight especially coming in from the east coast side. Then its back to a great nights sleep and believe me after a day out here you will sleep soundly

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

In the depths of deepest Tuscany
Is a place we hold most dear.
It's called Podere San Luigi
and we love to come here every year.

We keep coming back to 'Podere'
It's everything we want from a holiday and more.
If we cant come here next year
our hearts will be very sore

We came to Tuscany in '94
When it was just us two.
The peace and quiet were wonderful
but now we have little Sue

Mario & Annalinda are
it's kind and thoughtful hosts.
Mario for his intellect,
Annalinda, her rabbit roasts.

Annalinda is the best cook
from 'Bombs' to 'tiramisu'
she invites us in for cookery lessons
which pleases little Sue

The setting is so tranquil
The pool, so clean and blue
The rose garden very beautiful
which pleases myself, John and Sue

Whilst sitting by the pool one day
I picked up a pad and pen
and wrote this silly poem
See you in two thousand and ten!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnwilliams57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Words cannot describe the sheer beauty of the location.
The views are breathtaking.
The apartment is immaculately clean, and in excellent condition. The owners Mario and Annelinda are most attentive yet unobtrusive hosts.
The promo photo from the pool is exactly as it is, truly wonderful. If you don't relax on your holiday here, there is something wrong with life!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiteman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#18 of 29 in San Gimignano
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Colline
Le Colline
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
908 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#23 of 67 in San Gimignano
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere San Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere San Luigi

Address: Loc. Pancole, 89 - Santo Pietro, 53037, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £68 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills of San Gimignano, the ancient farmhouse impresses at first sight with its superb location and its wonderful garden.The visitor soon realises to be in one of the lovelies parts of Tuscany, in an idyllic verdant oasis where to relax under a shady pergola, near the splendid pool, enjoying an extensive view to vineyards, olive groves, hills bordered by cypresses, to the extent of woods and to the classic hills of Chianti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere San Luigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere San Luigi San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing