We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

wonderful house in san gimignano. we visited the little city of tuscany and stay in this house with pool. big rooms. clean toilet. perfect apartment. there is an internal parking in the garden. we cooked with barbecue and was so beautiful in fron of san gimignano.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxilupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in the Timo 3 bed apartment, although there was only the two of us. We'd booked as part of a package with Thomson (good local rep). The apartment was very clean, ceiling fans adequate for 30degree temp in September. All bedrooms were a good size. Kitchen a little small, but well equipped, not a problem to cook for two, maybe a bit more space wanted if cooking for 6, although you could use the dining table for preparation space. Pool and outdoor areas were nicely landscaped and equipped and kept very clean and tidy. You will need a car but it's convieniently located for visiting San Gimignano and easy to get the regular train to Florence and Siena. Please note 150 euro cash deposit needed on arrival and 1.5 euros per person per night "tourist tax" is payable out of this.

Only bad point was that we didn't get bed linen or towels changed during our to week stay. On the middle Saturday there was a box of linen outside the apartment as if they were waiting to get in. We went off to the supermarket and when we got back the box was gone, but no cleaning had been done. Luckily we could get clean towels from the other two bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaesthetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in the same villa with the Snorklers on tour - see their comments below. We had a great time too and this was a perfect base to see so much of Tuscany. Fabulous view from our patio of the Medieval Manhattan (attached). Hot at night though (ceiling fans only).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here for the first week of our tour of Europe. Great place to chill out and relax. Loads of lovely places to visit for the day within easy reach. Really lovely pool and surrounding area with lots of sun beds and grass. Very clean and well equipped accommodation and a welcome from the owners who provided us with one of their own bottles of wine on arrival. Good quality bedding and towels, all immaculate. Laundry room just a few steps from the pool area with two machines, large sink, iron and board and lots of clothes airers made keeping on top of the washing a dream! (only the mum's reading this will appreciate). Large tables and chairs outside the kitchen door offered dining with amazing views over the surrounding vineyards. BBQ also provided. Don't hesitate to book this lovely location.

Room Tip: ceiling fans rather than air conditioning so keep the shutters closed! Very warm at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorklerOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights but wished we had booked for longer. Well equiped apartment, clean and spacious. Good base for traveling around Siena and 10 minute drive to the Certaldo for the trains to Pisa and Florence and 10 minute drive from great town of San Gimignano.

Safe and secure 'resort' with a lovely pool area, laundry facilities if required, and wine and olives in the little shop on site.

Staff we friendly though communication was basic (both ways wish I had learnt some Italian!) but were as helpful as they possible could.

The appartments had a rustic look and feel which is exactly what we imagined Tuscany accomodation to be like.

Loved everything about this holiday except coming home and leaving some items which are being kindly returned by the owners!

If you want to travel around as much as we did make it at least 10 days and relax a little around the pool in between breathtaking views and beautiful walled towns.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was a great place to rest and relax. W e stayed in Timo, one of four adjoining houses. We had three double bedrooms all ensuite and a dining kitchen. The rooms all had fans but in 36 degrees of heat we would have really appreciated some air conditioning. The kitchen was small but adequate although could have ben improved with a coffee machine or cafetierre and some sharp knives. Outside were some tables and chairs with parasols. The real bonus was the shared swimming pool which was never very busy and the perfect place to read and relax on the sunloungers. There were also communal washing machines available to use. The owners were very pleasant but their English was very limited. The wine they produce was available to buy and was very pleasant. The rural setting gave good views of San Gimignano and other Tuscan highlights were within easy travelling distance. We all had a thoroughly enjoyable week being able to relax and also see some fascinating places, I would definitely recommend this destination.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wobblylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here recently for two weeks with our three children and were very impressed. We stayed in Alloro, which was spacious with three bedrooms, all ensuite, and very clean. The pool is also lovely with beautiful views to San Gimignano. There is use of a free washing machine and ironing board on site. It is a 10-15 minute drive to San Gimignano but no bus service which is a pity as parking can be difficult (but definitely worth the trip). We also really enjoyed eating out in Colle di Val d'Elsa nearby which is less crowded and has some lovely restaurants. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I would highly recommend this location as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sushi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.7 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
4.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 107 in San Gimignano
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Ducci
Villa Ducci
#15 of 107 in San Gimignano
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
#18 of 107 in San Gimignano
72 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Macinatico 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Macinatico 1

Property: Agriturismo Macinatico 1
Address: Via San Benedetto 56, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturism Macinatico1 is on a sweet hill at 5km in the north of San Gimignano, in country all around between vineyards and olive treeswhere is possible to look at from the Chianti's hills landscape to the far Apennines mountains of Toscany.The farm consists of 6 complete and independent apartments2 apartments for 4 people (Olivo and Vite)2 apartments for 6 people (Alloro and Timo)1 apartment for 8 people (Salvia)1 apartment for 10 people (Rosmarino)Is possible to ask also for only a double room and in this case the kitchen of the apartment will be shared between the rooms of the apartment,for groups of 4, 6 or more people you can choose a complete apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Macinatico 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Macinatico 1 San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing