We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but with shadows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Fulignano
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It is a very nice residence with a wonderfull view over the surrounding valleys. The apartments are tastefully furnished and Silvia, the manager, was extremely helpful an friendly. However, the heating was not switched on despite the cold and humid weather, as it was already late April! This made the whole stay (8 days) much less comfortable than it could have been.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Direttore at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Sir,

we thank you for your review that is a useful suggestion to improve our services.
We are sorry you suffered the heating mulfunction in the first two days, which we tried to fix unsuccessfully, according to the technical procedures everything should have been working but halas, it wasn't and we deeply apologize. This was for the first two days. The third day the temperature raised abruptly and Saturday, we had 30° and guests wearing light summer clothes and using the pool, so it was for the following days. It is common use in Italy to turn the central heating off when the springtime weather begins, considering also that we all use gas central heating systems, an the other guests staying that week weren't mentioning the heating at all. If I had known that you were still feeling cold after Saturday, I would have certainly done something about it. I apologize for not understanding that you still were unconfortable about it.
I am positive that this unconvenience will never happen in the future and I hope I will see you and your wife again at Fulignano, hopefully with super good weather! Thank you for being with us.

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

I booked an apartment here for ten days in June and loved it so much I even cancelled my trip to Rome to stay five more days. This is one of those rare finds you come across only every once in a while. Sitting on top of a hill with views to the beautiful village of San Gimignano, the Castello Di Fulignano is one of the many "agriturismos" that are spreading across Tuscany. It's important to note that this is not a hotel, and does not offer services like room service. You have to make your own bed, cook (kitchen is decently equipped), etc. THey change the linens once a week, and offer some sort of breakfast that I did not try. TO me, this is no big deal, as I don't mind making my bed and love to cook whenever I get the chance to go to places with such great ingredients, like Tuscany and France. The manager, NIccoló, is a gentleman, and will give you excellent tips. Just to be able to drive around Tuscany and have one place to come back to and enjor the wine you bought is simply fantastic. And the pool here is also great!

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of my apartment, but it was on ground level, facing the pool. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We spent only one week at Castello di Fulignano and we agreed with our friend that this time was not enough for us in in this place…The location of the Castello is perfect, it is on a hilltop overlooking the village of San Gimignano and it is really true what I read in its website: this is „the most gorgeous place of Tuscany”.
We stayed in appartment Ranuccio, which was really nice, big, clean and well furnished and we had beautiful view from each room. The pool is great: we mostly liked the sunsets, sitting on the deck chairs at the pool, drinking fine wines while we had an incredible the towers of San Gimignano and the surrounding hills. The garden is amazing with beautiful ornamental shrubs, flowers and many many olive trees.
I have to mention that there was a dinner one evening with the other guests and we enjoyed the typical tuscan foods, good wines and to meet people from all over the world .
And last but not least: the host of the Castello, Niccolo is a really helpful, nice person, he suggested us good restaurants, places, explained how to get there and answered to any questions we had….
We can say that this place is a jewel of Tuscany, and we decide to return some day…

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bregoklari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We ad reserve for four nights but when we saw the place we extented for eleven nights. The view is spectacular and the situation is very interresting. Also the manager Niccolo is a gentleman and speeks english perfectly

Room Tip: we had the apart # 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dupodupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I visited Tuscany several times before and knew what to expect at this price level. At least I thought I knew. Everything was better than we expected.

First, the location. Many places claim they have a view of San Giminano. In many cases it means that if you stretch and twist your body and use good binoculars you may see a tower from the bathroom window. Here there is a clear and beautiful view of the town and its towers. It is a few kilometers away (a long walk but we did it), but the view is there from the windows facing west and from the swimming pool.

Then we met Niccolo, the nicest host you can wish for. He made us lists of places to see according to our requests. We wanted to visit farmer markets and simple family restaurants. Niccolo had everything printed out, explained how to get there and gave us very good recommendations.

The apartment we were in is called "Ottone". It is much bigger than what we expected from the pictures on the website. The bedroom window has the most perfect view in the world. The apartment also has a tower with large windows overlooking San Gimignano and the area.

Everything was very clean, the bed was large and comfortable, enough storage space that does not show on the website. We both love to cook, hence the farmer market visit, and we enjoyed the well equipped kitchen. They even had some dishwasher tablets, oil, salt and pepper there, which is not the standard in this area.

The shower is large and was also very clean.

Every other evening the team - Niccolo and Francesco ( chef, gardner and maintenance man all in one smiling and charming Italian), serve dinner in the dining room. The dinners (extra charge of course) we attended were very pleasant events. All the guests sit together at a single very long table. You get to meet people from all over the world, drink good wine and eat traditional Italian food. And you don't even have to drive.

And I still didn't mention the pool, the fitness room, the garden...
I think the general idea is clear. Go there if an apartment is available.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Even better than the brochures would have you believe.....and that NEVER happens!..The weather was almost perfect for the entire week in late June 2010. A few minor glitches but overall a superb value.... Was there with my wife and another couple and shared the Berengario #1 apartment...overlooks the lovely infinity pool...overlooks lush fields extending to San Gimignano....The charming Nicolo is a character of note and added to the experience.
Clean and up to date and well thought out and lovingly restored--- and so very pleasant!
A VERY very good vacation value that will be heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We just spent 10 days at the Castello. What an unforgettable experience. The location is superb. We stayed in the Il Debrando apartment that was spatious, very clean, well furnished and whose bedroom window provided a spectacular view of San Giminiano and the Tuscan countryside. The pool is top notch for both kids and parents. Niccolo and Francesco were incredibly helpful and always with a big smile on their face. The Castello is ideally located to discover all of Tuscany while minimizing driving time. The price quality ratio of this place is outstanding. Our family highly recommends the Castello and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgaz2Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
807 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Address: | Località Casaglia, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £121 - £1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Fulignano is an ancient building dating back to the 10th Century and retaining all the charm of its original structure. Meticulous restoration and attention to preserve the traditional features with cotto floors, beamed ceilings, layout united with the amazing views, provide the guest with the perfect spot for a relaxing and inspiring holiday. Ideal for any type of vacation: couples will love the peaceful grounds and romantic atmosphere, families with kids will enjoy walks on panoramic countryroads and local festivals. More active guests have a good choice to keep busy, ranging from mountain bikes, horse ridings, visit wineries …. Whenever you will manage to draw away from the super panoramic swimming pool, many of the most interesting sites in Tuscany are at easy reach for you to visit (Florence, Siena, Chianti villages and Volterra only 30 minutes drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing