We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Fulignano
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is the place to be in Tuscany! After your breakfast with a breath-taking view on San Gimignano and splendid countryside you can even visit places like Assisi and Orvieto. But do not forget San Gimignano with it's famous frescos. You will reach the Castello di Fulignano from Poggibonsi by a charming coutryroad. The apartment we had was exellent. Sylvia, the manager, is a very kind woman who knows a lot about the environment and the culture in Tuscany and speaks many languages. We will be back soon in Italy an of course stay again in Castello di Fulignano.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are so pleased that you loved this special place of Tuscany.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Fulignano!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

My family and I were blown away by Castello di Fulignano. For starters, the setting is absolutely stunning, high on a hill with incredible views of Tuscany and, more specifically, San Gimignano. The first drive up to the castello was a bit nerve-wracking (hoping my GPS knew where it was going) but we found it with no problems at all. Silvia greeted as we arrived and, let me tell you, Castello di Fulignano is lucky to have her. She was an excellent hostess, ensuring that all of our needs were met, explaining all of the facilities, and reassuring us that even though it was not a full service hotel, we should not hesitate to call her should we need anything at all. Breakfast each day was a great treat, and every night we sat on the patio eating and drinking what we had picked up in the towns we visited that day. The apartment was immaculate, nicer than anywhere else we stayed during our trip all over Italy. The price was so reasonable that we were actually concerned that we had mis-read the price once we saw the castello and 2-bedroom apartment. Surely the total price on our printout was actually for one night? Of course not. What a great find. Initially when we were planning our trip, we just wanted to find some "good-enough" places to stay because we assumed we wouldn't have any time at our apartment while we were out exploring Tuscany. But, after seeing Castello di Fulignano, more than once we found ourselves hurrying back from the towns in order to be able to spend a bit more time in this perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Daniel H.

thank you once again for your appreciative and kind words, we are so pleased that you and your family loved your holiday experience in Tuscany and your enthusiasm is our best reward.

We look forward to seeing you and your family back soon, hopefully next year!

Thank you for staying with us and all the best from Fulignano.

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We are currently staying here at Fulignano. It is a stunning setting, on top of one of the highest hills outside of San Gigmignano. 270 degree views of hills, wineries, farms, and villas. With only the songs of birds singing, it is very quiet, relaxing, and the fragrance of lavender from the gardens fills the air (I am writing this on a Sunday morning and the church bells are chiming all across the valley!) It is just far enough away from SG to be be isolated, but a quick 10 minute drive gets you to the main gates for excellent culinary experiences. We are a family of 4 so the pool is a twice a day ritual. Sylvia is the hostesses and she does a wonderful job making sure that are needs are met. We highly recommend thin villa. And we would come back again.
Note: Castello diFulignano are apartments, and as such this isn't a full service hotel experience. We weren't aware of that (our fault) but very quickly adjusted, stocking our kitchen with local produce, wine and beer. That made it even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: For families: the Berengario room is garden level and poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Jeff P.

thank you so much for your touching words. It is our greatest reward to see that our guests appreciate the nature and the beauty of this place. It was a great pleasure to have you and your lovely family with us and we hope we'll see you again next year!

All the best

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This place is in a stunning setting, sat on top a hill the views from the pool and terrace towards San Gimignano are better than the views from the town itself, it's around 7-8km from the town and Poggibonsi & Colle Di Val D'Elsa is the same distance in the other direction so a great location, the road to it can be best described as a track for the most part but traffic is almost non existent so not a problem.

The apartment we had was as good as any we've had in Tuscany, the price was a little more than we normally pay but the views were more than worth the extra, it's a lovely peaceful place to start and end the day, away from the hoards of tourists in the nearby towns.

Sylvia the manageress is a credit to the establishment too and nothing is too much trouble, when she realised it was our honeymoon she promptly knocked our door with ice bucket and prosecco.

Room Tip: apartment 8 'Soarzio' is on the first floor, is a very comfortable size for a couple, has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hello and thank you for your vey kind words, we are so pleased that you loved this beautiful place. Maybe yes, it might seem a bit far away the first time you take the dirt road to reach here but, considering its unspoiled landscape, it is amazing that we are just a 10 minutes drive from Poggibonsi, a busy town where one can find all commodities. For a country venue to be isolated is the essential requirement to be quiet, beautiful, clean and in a healthy environment.
A landscape regulation on country landscape in the local council of SG forbids to pave country roads, but we do hope that they will fix it one day so to make the last part of the journey more confortable.
And we hope we will see you again here. Thank you again for staying with us.

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It is a very nice residence with a wonderfull view over the surrounding valleys. The apartments are tastefully furnished and Silvia, the manager, was extremely helpful an friendly. However, the heating was not switched on despite the cold and humid weather, as it was already late April! This made the whole stay (8 days) much less comfortable than it could have been.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Direttore at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Sir,

we thank you for your review that is a useful suggestion to improve our services.
We are sorry you suffered the heating mulfunction in the first two days, which we tried to fix unsuccessfully, according to the technical procedures everything should have been working but halas, it wasn't and we deeply apologize. This was for the first two days. The third day the temperature raised abruptly and Saturday, we had 30° and guests wearing light summer clothes and using the pool, so it was for the following days. It is common use in Italy to turn the central heating off when the springtime weather begins, considering also that we all use gas central heating systems, an the other guests staying that week weren't mentioning the heating at all. If I had known that you were still feeling cold after Saturday, I would have certainly done something about it. I apologize for not understanding that you still were unconfortable about it.
I am positive that this unconvenience will never happen in the future and I hope I will see you and your wife again at Fulignano, hopefully with super good weather! Thank you for being with us.

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I booked an apartment here for ten days in June and loved it so much I even cancelled my trip to Rome to stay five more days. This is one of those rare finds you come across only every once in a while. Sitting on top of a hill with views to the beautiful village of San Gimignano, the Castello Di Fulignano is one of the many "agriturismos" that are spreading across Tuscany. It's important to note that this is not a hotel, and does not offer services like room service. You have to make your own bed, cook (kitchen is decently equipped), etc. THey change the linens once a week, and offer some sort of breakfast that I did not try. TO me, this is no big deal, as I don't mind making my bed and love to cook whenever I get the chance to go to places with such great ingredients, like Tuscany and France. The manager, NIccoló, is a gentleman, and will give you excellent tips. Just to be able to drive around Tuscany and have one place to come back to and enjor the wine you bought is simply fantastic. And the pool here is also great!

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of my apartment, but it was on ground level, facing the pool. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We spent only one week at Castello di Fulignano and we agreed with our friend that this time was not enough for us in in this place…The location of the Castello is perfect, it is on a hilltop overlooking the village of San Gimignano and it is really true what I read in its website: this is „the most gorgeous place of Tuscany”.
We stayed in appartment Ranuccio, which was really nice, big, clean and well furnished and we had beautiful view from each room. The pool is great: we mostly liked the sunsets, sitting on the deck chairs at the pool, drinking fine wines while we had an incredible the towers of San Gimignano and the surrounding hills. The garden is amazing with beautiful ornamental shrubs, flowers and many many olive trees.
I have to mention that there was a dinner one evening with the other guests and we enjoyed the typical tuscan foods, good wines and to meet people from all over the world .
And last but not least: the host of the Castello, Niccolo is a really helpful, nice person, he suggested us good restaurants, places, explained how to get there and answered to any questions we had….
We can say that this place is a jewel of Tuscany, and we decide to return some day…

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bregoklari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Address: | Località Casaglia, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £120 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Fulignano is an ancient building dating back to the 10th Century and retaining all the charm of its original structure. Meticulous restoration and attention to preserve the traditional features with cotto floors, beamed ceilings, layout united with the amazing views, provide the guest with the perfect spot for a relaxing and inspiring holiday. Ideal for any type of vacation: couples will love the peaceful grounds and romantic atmosphere, families with kids will enjoy walks on panoramic countryroads and local festivals. More active guests have a good choice to keep busy, ranging from mountain bikes, horse ridings, visit wineries …. Whenever you will manage to draw away from the super panoramic swimming pool, many of the most interesting sites in Tuscany are at easy reach for you to visit (Florence, Siena, Chianti villages and Volterra only 30 minutes drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Atrapalo so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing