We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idilic summer holidays in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Fulignano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idilic summer holidays in Tuscany”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at Tuscany. The appartment was really perfect, the views we had while we had dinner were impressive! The swimming pool...I have no words to express the feelings of swimming in it... Martina, our daughter was crying the departure day. She didn't want to come back...neither us... Such a wonderfull place to relax, to spend family days and to experience peace... Thank you Silvia for your kind hospitality. We'll come back for sure.
Josep i Marta

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta250600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We went to Castello di Fulignano seeking a restful place to stay for a week in a lovely rural apartment, within a short drive of villages, fresh food markets, restaurants and historical contexts. We wanted peace and quiet yet the choice to eat out for lunch and cook for ourselves in the evenings. This was the perfect place! Other guests mainly ate at nearby restaurants (10-15 minutes drive) in the evenings. In June the pool in the afternoons was beautiful, sunsets gorgeous around 9pm when we ate outside. Silvia Festini Capello the manager/hostess was very helpful. Breakfast with other guests created a sense of community so we could all share our best experiences of the previous day with other guests. We drove from Milano,visited Siena and especially loved the smaller towns, the agri-tourism with history on the top of almost every hill. Local art, music, food, wine and people were great. Mostly unserviced apartments this is a great place to stay! We'd love to return in a year or two with family or friends!

Room Tip: the beautiful curtains and windows open - views of San Gimignano are in the morning and it fades in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is the place to be in Tuscany! After your breakfast with a breath-taking view on San Gimignano and splendid countryside you can even visit places like Assisi and Orvieto. But do not forget San Gimignano with it's famous frescos. You will reach the Castello di Fulignano from Poggibonsi by a charming coutryroad. The apartment we had was exellent. Sylvia, the manager, is a very kind woman who knows a lot about the environment and the culture in Tuscany and speaks many languages. We will be back soon in Italy an of course stay again in Castello di Fulignano.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are so pleased that you loved this special place of Tuscany.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Fulignano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My family and I were blown away by Castello di Fulignano. For starters, the setting is absolutely stunning, high on a hill with incredible views of Tuscany and, more specifically, San Gimignano. The first drive up to the castello was a bit nerve-wracking (hoping my GPS knew where it was going) but we found it with no problems at all. Silvia greeted as we arrived and, let me tell you, Castello di Fulignano is lucky to have her. She was an excellent hostess, ensuring that all of our needs were met, explaining all of the facilities, and reassuring us that even though it was not a full service hotel, we should not hesitate to call her should we need anything at all. Breakfast each day was a great treat, and every night we sat on the patio eating and drinking what we had picked up in the towns we visited that day. The apartment was immaculate, nicer than anywhere else we stayed during our trip all over Italy. The price was so reasonable that we were actually concerned that we had mis-read the price once we saw the castello and 2-bedroom apartment. Surely the total price on our printout was actually for one night? Of course not. What a great find. Initially when we were planning our trip, we just wanted to find some "good-enough" places to stay because we assumed we wouldn't have any time at our apartment while we were out exploring Tuscany. But, after seeing Castello di Fulignano, more than once we found ourselves hurrying back from the towns in order to be able to spend a bit more time in this perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Daniel H.

thank you once again for your appreciative and kind words, we are so pleased that you and your family loved your holiday experience in Tuscany and your enthusiasm is our best reward.

We look forward to seeing you and your family back soon, hopefully next year!

Thank you for staying with us and all the best from Fulignano.

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We are currently staying here at Fulignano. It is a stunning setting, on top of one of the highest hills outside of San Gigmignano. 270 degree views of hills, wineries, farms, and villas. With only the songs of birds singing, it is very quiet, relaxing, and the fragrance of lavender from the gardens fills the air (I am writing this on a Sunday morning and the church bells are chiming all across the valley!) It is just far enough away from SG to be be isolated, but a quick 10 minute drive gets you to the main gates for excellent culinary experiences. We are a family of 4 so the pool is a twice a day ritual. Sylvia is the hostesses and she does a wonderful job making sure that are needs are met. We highly recommend thin villa. And we would come back again.
Note: Castello diFulignano are apartments, and as such this isn't a full service hotel experience. We weren't aware of that (our fault) but very quickly adjusted, stocking our kitchen with local produce, wine and beer. That made it even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: For families: the Berengario room is garden level and poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Jeff P.

thank you so much for your touching words. It is our greatest reward to see that our guests appreciate the nature and the beauty of this place. It was a great pleasure to have you and your lovely family with us and we hope we'll see you again next year!

All the best

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This place is in a stunning setting, sat on top a hill the views from the pool and terrace towards San Gimignano are better than the views from the town itself, it's around 7-8km from the town and Poggibonsi & Colle Di Val D'Elsa is the same distance in the other direction so a great location, the road to it can be best described as a track for the most part but traffic is almost non existent so not a problem.

The apartment we had was as good as any we've had in Tuscany, the price was a little more than we normally pay but the views were more than worth the extra, it's a lovely peaceful place to start and end the day, away from the hoards of tourists in the nearby towns.

Sylvia the manageress is a credit to the establishment too and nothing is too much trouble, when she realised it was our honeymoon she promptly knocked our door with ice bucket and prosecco.

Room Tip: apartment 8 'Soarzio' is on the first floor, is a very comfortable size for a couple, has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hello and thank you for your vey kind words, we are so pleased that you loved this beautiful place. Maybe yes, it might seem a bit far away the first time you take the dirt road to reach here but, considering its unspoiled landscape, it is amazing that we are just a 10 minutes drive from Poggibonsi, a busy town where one can find all commodities. For a country venue to be isolated is the essential requirement to be quiet, beautiful, clean and in a healthy environment.
A landscape regulation on country landscape in the local council of SG forbids to pave country roads, but we do hope that they will fix it one day so to make the last part of the journey more confortable.
And we hope we will see you again here. Thank you again for staying with us.

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

It is a very nice residence with a wonderfull view over the surrounding valleys. The apartments are tastefully furnished and Silvia, the manager, was extremely helpful an friendly. However, the heating was not switched on despite the cold and humid weather, as it was already late April! This made the whole stay (8 days) much less comfortable than it could have been.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Direttore at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Sir,

we thank you for your review that is a useful suggestion to improve our services.
We are sorry you suffered the heating mulfunction in the first two days, which we tried to fix unsuccessfully, according to the technical procedures everything should have been working but halas, it wasn't and we deeply apologize. This was for the first two days. The third day the temperature raised abruptly and Saturday, we had 30° and guests wearing light summer clothes and using the pool, so it was for the following days. It is common use in Italy to turn the central heating off when the springtime weather begins, considering also that we all use gas central heating systems, an the other guests staying that week weren't mentioning the heating at all. If I had known that you were still feeling cold after Saturday, I would have certainly done something about it. I apologize for not understanding that you still were unconfortable about it.
I am positive that this unconvenience will never happen in the future and I hope I will see you and your wife again at Fulignano, hopefully with super good weather! Thank you for being with us.

Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
600 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fattoria Abbazia Monte Oliveto
Fattoria Abbazia Monte Oliveto
#35 of 111 in San Gimignano
48 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tenuta Mormoraia
Tenuta Mormoraia
#7 of 67 in San Gimignano
243 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Property: Castello di Fulignano
Address: | Località Casaglia, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient fortress backdated to the 10th Century, Castello di Fulignano has been restored and refurbished into an elegant country resort, perched on a hilltop overlooking the Tuscan hills and the famous towers of San Gimignano. Its 360° panoramic view offers the guests a vision of rare beauty. Enjoy history and nature in one of the most gorgeous place of Tuscany. Apartments and pool with a view. Free arrival and departure days. Riding stable and bikes for rent in the nearby. Hiking paths. Wi-fi connection in common rooms. There’s also a restaurant, La Grotta di Fulignano, where guests can taste Tuscan cuisine and the best local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing