We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwind...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Fulignano
Reviewed 11 July 2013

After Rome and Florence, Castello di Fulignano was a very welcome place to truly unwind and soak in the Tuscan scene. The place is impeccably maintained, rooms are comfortable, better-than-a-painting scenery, quiet and even has a on-site restaurant that served the best meals we had on our trip at a reasonable price - not to be missed. The manageress, Sylvia was warm and helpful and offered all the travel advise we needed. There are food markets nearby in Poggibonsi to stock your kitchen and the wine country, Sienna and San Gimignano are very nearby for day trips. The seclusion is one of the pluses there, and if you're came to unwind, you could not do better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind words, appreciation of our guests is our best reward.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family many more times to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Such lovely accommodation with amazing 360 views of the countryside including San Gimignano.
the website doesn't do it justice.
The staff were helpful and friendly, the accommodation spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped , the food was good. Sitting on the terrace , watching the sun set and eating local delicacies was a highlight of the holiday.
The pool is large and also offers stunning views
We are reluctant to offer any more positive info .We want to return and want it t be available for us!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL-39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent one day here (unfortunately only one) because we joined our American friends staying here.
Funny that we discovered such a wonderful place in Italy (where we live) thanks to foreign suggestions. Anyway the place is wonderful, peaceful, from the large and uncrowded swimming pool you enjoy a priceless panorama of the soft hills around Siena and a stunning view of the towers of San Gimignano. Strongly recommended to Italians too, not just to the English speaking fans of the Chiantishire... We will definitely come back

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank ChiccoChicco68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Grazie mille, thank you so much for your kinds words!
Looking forward to seeing you again for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed with another couple in the apartment overlooking the pool. We chose this place based on what we pictured Tuscany to be and we were not disappointed. As it came into view from the dirt road we were driving down, we took a breath with "that's it, that's it". Upon checkin and being shown around our apartment, we all high-fived each other on the brilliant choice we had made. We then walked around the pool and the grounds just awe-struck. Rolling hills, sunshine and blue sky, great views of San Gimignano and its towers, it was just magic. We pretty much had the whole place to ourselves for our 4 nights and when the restaurant and manager werent there on a Monday night, it was even a bit eerie, just the four of us in a big compound, but what a beautiful place in which to be alone. Sylvia was wonderful. We had a problem with our hire car and Slyvia rang for us an arranged an exchange the next day. She was extremely helpful in her recommendations on places to see (in a limited time) and wineries to visit and gelato shops to try! The castle was in a great location from which to explore nearby areas and towns, but then again, you need not explore if you wanted to just enjoy the pool and the views. We didnt quite have the weather for this but I can see how it would be lovely in summer. The restaurant was a great (and quite cheap) experience for dinner (which I will review separately). The other plus for this accommodation is that it allowed a shorter stay than one week which so many places in Tuscany did not. We were thankful for that. There were just a few things that let it down, but in the scheme of things, they arent that big of a deal. 1. no spare pillows - only one flat one each (I am sure I could have asked for another but we were out and about during office hours). 2. the bathrooms in our apartment had no ventilation which meant that they steamed up and this is ultimately having an effect on mould and the paintwork. 3. it would be nice to see the apartment have some basics such as tea, coffee, sugar and milk for arriving guests; and 4. Breakfast was poor. There were only the four of us staying there yet the eggs must have been cooked at 8 (start time) and put in the warmer (heated only by a tea candle) at about that time. They were cold, dry and unappetising. Later in our stay, the person who ran the breakfast room cooked the eggs once we arrived which was the better way to do it. Fresh fruit would have been nice but we only saw that available one morning otherwise it was just cereal, yoghurt, some cold meat and cheese, toast and jam and occasionally some pastries. You had to pay extra for a good coffee (fairly average coffee was free). The breakfast was good enough but I thought the quality didn't match that of the accommodation. As you can see, the complaints are trivial. I would still highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Guest Relations Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear,
thank you so much for your enthusiastic and very flattering words. Our greatest reward is to see our guests appreciating the beauty of this very special place. In fact, this land is charming in every season. I am sorry for the few glitches, probably due to the opening of a new season, when a few details still need to be fixed. I apologize about the pillows but, had I known, I could have promptly given you others. As for the breakfast, I was told about the problem with the eggs the first day and gave instructions to make them once you were there. Cold meat (ham and salami) are not even included in most continental breakfasts offered in the region. Coffe on the buffet table is american coffee in jars for practical reasons, so that the guests can help themselves as much as they like, but it's the same quality of coffee used to make espressos and cappuccino, on request. Every day we make fresh home made cakes and muffins. maybe we underestimated the variety and quantity because you were the only guests at the moment, apologies for this. Not to forget though, that breakfast is offered for free without any addition to the rent cost. Having said this, we are sorry you weren't completely satisfied and we committ all our efforts to improve this side of our reception. We wish we will see you again soon, maybe in the warm season to enjoy the pool! Again, thank you for choosing Castello di Fulignano and thank you for your generous comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was really worried about renting this without first hand recommendations. It was so much more than I expected. The apartment was lovely and the views were beyond compare. The manager, Silvia, was very competent and all around exceptional person. We ate at their restaurant a couple of nights but also found good local dining nearby. Like some of the other reviewers, we met other guests that we enjoyed a glass or two of wine with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Guest Relations Manager at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you Jill for this very generous feedback, this incourages us to do better and better!

I hope we will see you again at Castello di Fulignano, and wish you all the best.


Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Perched on the top of a Tuscan hill, the view from the windows of Castello di Fulignano towards the towers of San Giminiano is simply sublime.
Combining self-catered semi-seviced apartments and bed and breakfast, you have the perfect balance of independence and the opportunity to chat with fellow-travellers. Some nights a dinner is also available in the Castello's dining Hall, which while expensive, is a must-do. New-old friendships were made over a couple of bottles of the local wine and even the kids were thrilled to be dining together with their new-found friends.
Nestled in an olive grove, the large pool is also very beautiful and while the Castello's web-site looks like the gardens are not sheltered enough, the sun-umbrellas and olive trees provide enough shade for even the palest skin to be protected all day and the breezes take some of the heat out of the Italian mid-summer sun.
The apartment was spotless, equipped with some shower gel, soap and dishwashing pellets for the first few days when we arrived and the towels are changed during the week. There is also a mid-week quick clean offered, but this is really only emptying of bins and distributing fresh towels. Given the garden is gravelled, a vacuum would have been nice.
The outdoor spaces are communal which means you may be forced to watch the sun go down over San Giminiano while you dine above the pool area, rather than directly in front of the main entrances, but somehow it all works out very well, even when the hotel is fully occupied.

There were a couple of glitches with freezer compartments in at least 2 of the apartments not working and not all the appropriate flatware & crockery was present, nor did I find a suitable place to hang our wet towels of an evening, and the dryer costs a steep €5 a cycle but all-in-all this is a wonderful place to stay in summer and our 2 weeks were not long enough.
Sylvia, the polyglot manager is one of the best aspects to the Castello di Fulignano - a really lovely person, a wealth of information and incredibly kind and helpful when our silly son broke his collarbone on our last evening.
I wouldn't rely on internet access, however. It was only very intermittently available and then, due to the very thick walls, from only one corner of the terrace.
San Giminano and its world-famous gelato (and towers) are 10 minutes by car, the Chianti and its vineyards 30 minutes, Florence and Pisa an hour, Grosseto, Roselle and the beach of the Maremma 2 hours by car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Direttore at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you so much for your very kind words, we really appreciate guests' feedbacks, grateful for what was praised and taking note of the few glitches to better our service.
We are currently working to improve the wireless >Internet line and to provide each apartment with connection. Next season, we look forward to our restaurant open on a fuller schedule with more menu choice both for grown-ups and kids; as for hanging clothes, each apartment is provided with clothes racks and I assure you, 5,00 € is the average price for a drying cycle (7,00 € in Poggibonsi and you need to take your laundry there...).
In any case, thank you very much for your appreciation, we will do our best to improve and make Fulignano even a better place, and we look forward to seeing you back in the future!
All the best

Silvia Festini Capello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at Tuscany. The appartment was really perfect, the views we had while we had dinner were impressive! The swimming pool...I have no words to express the feelings of swimming in it... Martina, our daughter was crying the departure day. She didn't want to come back...neither us... Such a wonderfull place to relax, to spend family days and to experience peace... Thank you Silvia for your kind hospitality. We'll come back for sure.
Josep i Marta

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta250600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
823 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
4.6 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
390 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Address: | Località Casaglia, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £119 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Fulignano is an ancient building dating back to the 10th Century and retaining all the charm of its original structure. Meticulous restoration and attention to preserve the traditional features with cotto floors, beamed ceilings, layout united with the amazing views, provide the guest with the perfect spot for a relaxing and inspiring holiday. Ideal for any type of vacation: couples will love the peaceful grounds and romantic atmosphere, families with kids will enjoy walks on panoramic countryroads and local festivals. More active guests have a good choice to keep busy, ranging from mountain bikes, horse ridings, visit wineries …. Whenever you will manage to draw away from the super panoramic swimming pool, many of the most interesting sites in Tuscany are at easy reach for you to visit (Florence, Siena, Chianti villages and Volterra only 30 minutes drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing