We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Fulignano
Langenfeld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice location, with an amazing view of San Gimignano towers. The staff was very friendly, we had a great time, we are planning to go there again. Well cleaned and good rooms with a fantastic pool. Thanks to Silvia that is always available and ready to take care of her guests. We strongly suggest to visit this place for a relaxing vacation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Enzo6809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were a party of 13 (7 adults and 6 children), and this place is a real gem - recommended to us by friends who stayed there a few years ago. The views are superb, the rooms immaculate and tastefully decorated, the ambiance is friendly, and the manager Sylvia is discrete and super helpful (gave us some great tips). The pool is stunning and refreshing. The restaurant is independently owned and managed; it's cozy and the food is good (not particularly fancy, but well prepared solid meals - perfect for families); definitely worth staying in for a couple of evening meals (the owner-chef is a wonderful entertainer and makes everyone feel at home).
All in all, a fantastic find! Would happily return.
Emzda

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear,

thank you for your kind and appreciative words. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your party and we look forward to host your family reunions again and again in the future.

Keep well and cheery, all teh best.


Silvia Festini Capello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Excellent 1 bedroom apartment, well furnished, large in renovated castle. Nice grounds. Fantastic pool for summer, but too cold on our visit. Restaurant very ordinary. View was fantastic.

Location a bit too difficult to access, especially at night on long dirt road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller147388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

For a number of reasons we ended up leaving our booking of accommodation for the Tuscany leg of our journey a bit late and there were not a large number of options available to us (we booked at the end of April for a June stay). I'll be honest, Castello di Fulignano was not at the top of our list but when we found it was available, had two adjoining self-contained apartments (for us and our friends) and for the dates we wanted, we snapped it up.

Lucky for us! Castello di Fulignano did not just not disappoint, it delivered well beyond expectations. The photos on the site and here on Trip Advisor do not do it justice. The location is just gorgeous. Exactly what you picture when you think of Tuscany. At the peak of one of many rolling, vine & olive-grove covered hills, the Castello has a view over the ancient town of San Gimignano (the best way to see it in my opinion) and on our first night there, we quickly figured out that a glass of red, by the pool watching the sunset behind the towers was the way to go.

So some positives and negatives.
Positives:
- The apartments were clean, spacious and great value! The kitchen was equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, stove top, oven and a fridge. The bathroom was big and the bed was comfortable enough by Italian standards.
- The pool was amazing. Large, plenty of space, modern and with the ultimate view.
- The property is an area with loads of gorgeous walks. We got up every morning early before breakfast to explore, walking through forests and vineyards. What a brilliant way to start the day.
- Sylvia - our friendly and incredible host. She made some great recommendations including the best gelati in San Gimignano & Siena, a great restaurant to go to with our friends (one of our favourite nights in Italy!) and when we had another couple who wanted to stop by and join us for a night, helped us get them an apartment at very late notice in the Castello. Thanks Sylvia - you were amazing!

The negatives are few and to be honest really more watch-outs so I'll start with them:
- It's somewhat hard to find. Don't rely on Google maps or GPS, definitely follow the directions provided on the site as recommended by our host Sylvia.
- it is an an agriturismo / bed & breakfast, not a hotel. This means that the reception is not always manned, the rooms are not cleaned and there is no room service. We had no issue with this but it is something to be aware of in advance. We found a supermarket not far away that allowed us to stock up on snacks, etc.
- Breakfast is provided which is a bonus but it is simple. And the poor girl who ran breakfast on the mornings we were there seemed quite harried and a bit out of her depth. I wanted to get up and offer her some help when she was struggling!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebondipantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

After Rome and Florence, Castello di Fulignano was a very welcome place to truly unwind and soak in the Tuscan scene. The place is impeccably maintained, rooms are comfortable, better-than-a-painting scenery, quiet and even has a on-site restaurant that served the best meals we had on our trip at a reasonable price - not to be missed. The manageress, Sylvia was warm and helpful and offered all the travel advise we needed. There are food markets nearby in Poggibonsi to stock your kitchen and the wine country, Sienna and San Gimignano are very nearby for day trips. The seclusion is one of the pluses there, and if you're came to unwind, you could not do better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words, appreciation of our guests is our best reward.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family many more times to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Such lovely accommodation with amazing 360 views of the countryside including San Gimignano.
the website doesn't do it justice.
The staff were helpful and friendly, the accommodation spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped , the food was good. Sitting on the terrace , watching the sun set and eating local delicacies was a highlight of the holiday.
The pool is large and also offers stunning views
We are reluctant to offer any more positive info .We want to return and want it t be available for us!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RL-39a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We spent one day here (unfortunately only one) because we joined our American friends staying here.
Funny that we discovered such a wonderful place in Italy (where we live) thanks to foreign suggestions. Anyway the place is wonderful, peaceful, from the large and uncrowded swimming pool you enjoy a priceless panorama of the soft hills around Siena and a stunning view of the towers of San Gimignano. Strongly recommended to Italians too, not just to the English speaking fans of the Chiantishire... We will definitely come back

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChiccoChicco68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello di Fulignano, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Grazie mille, thank you so much for your kinds words!
Looking forward to seeing you again for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fattoria Abbazia Monte Oliveto
Fattoria Abbazia Monte Oliveto
#36 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Fulignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fulignano

Property: Castello di Fulignano
Address: | Località Casaglia, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Fulignano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient fortress backdated to the 10th Century, Castello di Fulignano has been restored and refurbished into an elegant country resort, perched on a hilltop overlooking the Tuscan hills and the famous towers of San Gimignano. Its 360° panoramic view offers the guests a vision of rare beauty. Enjoy history and nature in one of the most gorgeous place of Tuscany. Apartments and pool with a view. Free arrival and departure days. Riding stable and bikes for rent in the nearby. Hiking paths. Wi-fi connection in common rooms. There’s also a restaurant, La Grotta di Fulignano, where guests can taste Tuscan cuisine and the best local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Fulignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fulignano Hotel San Gimignano
Castello Di Fulignano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing