We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant--we stay here yearly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really pleasant--we stay here yearly”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This family-run holiday rental is a perfect homebase for exploring the Tuscan countryside. Each apartment is simply appointed, but clean and comfortable. They are spacious. In the summer, they have air-conditioning which I would hope to not hve to use, but if you sleep with the windows open the mosquitos will feast on you!

The pool is large and has comfortable furniture. Although it is not heated, it is generally warm by June.

Our favorite part of this property are the meals that are cooked and served 3 times/week. For us, we travel with our toddler twins and usually can't enjoy a quiet meal. At Il Borghetto, we leave our electronic baby monitor in the apartment while the kids slumber and enjoy a quiet, peaceful, tasty meal in the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanceTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
161
175
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a great place to stay. Well located to allow exploration of Tuscany. Simona and Sandra run the front office and are fantastic at recommending sites around the area. Apartments are well funished and exceptionally clean. The villa has been beautifully restored. Highlight of our stay was Mamma's authentic Tuscan cooking which is served 2 or 3 times a week in either the garden restuarant or the cellar depending on the weather. Excellent wine list at good prices. Ask Nicola for his recommendations re wine. Absolutely recommend Il Borghetto.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have stayed here several times over the years, and it is always a pleasure to come back. The location is wonderful and offers beautiful picture-perfect views over the surrounding vineyard and the swimming pool is big enough and is surrounded by good-quality deck chairs (and if you're here in July, as we are, wasps!).
Yes it is pricey for a self-catering apartment, BUT it does have air-conditioning which not many comparable apartments in Italy have, and the decor, which again in Tuscany can be quite dark, heavy and rustic here is more of a modern country style and more pleasing to the eye.
San Gimignano is a 10 minute drive away, Florence half an hour and Siena about 20 minutes.
May I also note that we have been here with our children who at their first visit were two and six years old respectively, and they enjoyed the pool and our holiday here a lot. They are well behaved though and do respect other guests.
Overall I can fully recommend Il Borghetto.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardenlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have stayed at Il Borghetto twice so far and will be there again in May, 2012. We have stayed in two different apartments. Both were beautifully appointed, squeaky clean and totally unique. The "men" meet you in the parking lot and take your luggage to your apartment - part of their service at no charge - but also to protect their beautifully restored villa from luggage banging the walls. If you are fortunate to be there when "mamma" is cooking, don't even consider going out to eat. You will have an authentic Tuscan dinner with delicious local wines that they will recommend. And if you are very fortunate, Simona (one of the owners) will provide a concert of her own compositions under the gazebo one evening. In summary; beautifully restored villa, gorgeous surrounding countryside within walking distance of San Gimignano, first rate apartments, genuinely charming/charismatic/helpful friendly hosts, food and entertainment that will provide many pleasant memories of your time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eyeyq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Since we planned to spend almost 3 weeks in Tuscany, we did extensive research of many agritourisimos (spread sheets and all)! We chose the perfect place. The location is ideal, so close to San Gimignano, convenient to Florence, and in the heart of Chianti country. Since we were there for a while we did quite a bit of our own cooking. There is a supermercato close by so that was another plus for us. Our one bedroom apartment (Scuola) was spacious with a well appointed kitchen and beautiful views, such a nice place to come back to after a day of sight seeing. The setting is spectacular with panoramic views and oh my, the peacefulness! The dinners cooked by Mama Bimbi were among the best meals we had in Italy with Nicolo's extensive wine list to choose from. Last, but not least, the staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our fondest memories of Italy are of our stay at Il Borghetto. Many thanks to Sandra, Nicolo, Simona and Ricardo, the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. South facing roooms are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear JMRUN,
we are very much pleased to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your 3 weeks stay at Il Borghetto last October.
We thank you for your review and really hope you will be back in the future.
With our warmest regards,
The Bimbi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Sept 21 2011: We just loved this place. Il Borghetto has it all, spotless and very comfortable rooms, some of the best food we tasted, wonderful views and staff that couldn't do enough for you. We were two couples travelling thru Europe, our apartment was 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, very well equipped with amazing views over the valley of vineyards. Beautiful, well maintained areas to relax including a wonderful pool area. The staff were so friendly, always had time to answer our questions and offer suggestions. We were blessed with the opportunity to enjoy a concert by Sandra on evening, such a wonderful voice and a fairy tale setting. Our evening meal melted in our mouths, the best ever ravioli!! Thank your for such wonderful memories of San Gimignano and Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I just loved this place. We had a 2 bed apartment, really well equipped and large, was nice to relax and cook dinner in the evenings. The apartment was spotless and comfortable with lovely views. The staff are all just lovely and helpful with anything you need. The grounds are so well maintained and beautiful, many seating areas outside to sit and relax. Unfortunately it was a little cold to use the swimming pool when we were there, but hopefully next time! I would recommend this to anyone. They also offer dinner 3 nights a week cooked by mama, well worth having, food was beautiful and they are great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Property: Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing