We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Villa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first visit to Il Borghetto and were bowled over by the location and the accommodation. We rented an apartment with two double bedrooms and two bathrooms. The apartment was very clean and beautifully decorated in Tuscany style. We stayed there for 6 nights with friends and spent a good deal of our time sitting on the patio, taking in the views with a good bottle of wine or two. We found the owners extremely welcoming and friendly. On the last night we had a meal in the "caves" and regret not having more. The food was very fresh and beautifully presented. Although the apartments were all full, it was very quiet and peaceful. We will be back again as soon as the "holiday fund" allows.

Room Tip: Whichever apartment you choose will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
153
165
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We planned to meet friends and family half way through a long tour around Europe at Il Borghetto and arrived just over a week ago. It had come highly recommended to us from a number of people who return there frequently. Put simply, if you go to Italy, especially Tuscany do yourself a favour and spend a week at Il Borghetto. It is the perfect base to either travel around and view the sites, or relax, unwind and take in those amazing views. Nonna served up the best meals(and so cheap) we have had so far in Italy complimented by fantastic local red wines that Sandra and Nicola explained to us with passion. Take a day out to join in with the traditional Tuscan cooking class as well, it won't disappoint and you get to eat the results! Having spent a month in and out of typical size hotel rooms, the large ground level room we booked was just what we needed with a separate lounge area, bedroom and even a walk in robe to finally unpack our suitcase in. The friendly and relaxed atmosphere the staff produce rubs off on all the guests, with everyone mingling and swapping travel stories and tips.
Wake up and take a relaxing stroll through the bush, sit and read by the pool or take a trip into one of the stunning towns near by. What every you want Il Borghetto has it, with a smile and usually a funny little story from Nicola.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Buongiorno dear Daniel from all our family at il Borghetto. We hope you had a great return home that you probably missed after your long travelling but we alos hope you miss your time here in a way to think to return back soon!
We wanted to say grazie mille for enjoying the spirit you found here, we have been very pleased to welcome you and your family and consider as if we made new freidns in your beautiful distant part of the world where you live!
All the best!
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose Il Borghetto because of the TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
My husband and I had booked a cruise that ended in Rome and wanted to relax in Tuscany after almost two weeks of daily excursions. Il Borghetto is a wonderful place to relax and a wonderful introduction to the area. We stayed only 3 days in a very nice apartment with phenomenal views of the Tuscan hills. Everyone was kind and helpful. Fortunately, they were serving dinner on the first night we were there...it was one of the best meals we had during our entire visit to Europe, Simona and Nicola explained each course and helped use find a lovely chianti to pair with our meal...and we loved the little wine room's coziness.

Although our apartment was at the bottom of the stairs and our door opened into the courtyard, and you could hear other guests...this was only in the evening as everyone was gathering either for dinner on the property or elsewhere. We slept very, very well in our room.
One other thing...we didn't have a GPS so we made our way to San Gimignano and then connected with Simona who sent her Riccardo to meet us so that we could follow them back to Il Borghetto. It wasn't far and wasn't difficult, but that level of hospitality is what we experienced throughout our stay. We loved the location, accommodations and the owners...We will Definitely Be Back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Ciao Allison D,
we are happy you had a lovely stay, even if short, at il Borghetto This could be a good excuse to think to come back in the future. We wish to say thank you for your great review, and hope next time you will experience the cooking class that this time you could not attend!
With warmest regards,
Bimbi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our third visit to Il Borghetto. We had a wonderful week! Four couples rented two apartments. We were greeted warmly by the Bimbi family every day. Our accommodations were spotless and very comfortable. Our favorite nights were dinners at Il Borghetto ....delicious four course meals prepared and served by Mama, the family and helpers. The surrounding area is landscape on steroids. I simply cannot get enough! San Gimignano is nearby. Many beautiful Tuscan hill towns are day trips.
Ps. Two couples did the cooking class offered at Il Borghetto and LOVED it. I'll be sure to sign up next time!

Room Tip: Sandra will help you with photos and descriptions of the available apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear PCVagabond,
we can not thank you enough for your returning visits to il Borghetto, some time with family some time with friends! And always with the same enthusiasm as if it was the first time! It is the same for us, each time you come back it is as if we just left you days ago as so strong is our connection to you. Many hugs, Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We just completed our third visit to Il Borghetto (we also visited in 2008 and 2010). Each time, it's a wonderful experience. Sandra, Nicola, Simona, Riccardo and Mamma work hard to make sure guests have a beautiful stay.

First, the location is great. San Gimignano is 4k away, and you can get great views of the town and its towers by taking a nice walk down the country road that the villa is on. With a car, you are within an hour or so of Siena, Florence, Volterra, Montepulciano, Montalcino and other great hill towns.

The villa is situated above beautiful vineyards, and you can see the quintessential Tuscan landscape from the villa's terraces or at dinner if it's warm enough to eat outside. Speaking of which, the villa offers meals cooked with much love by Mamma and her crew three nights a week. DON'T MISS THEM. They are some of the finest meals you will have during your trip to Italy. My husband and I started eating gluten free since the last time we stayed at Il Borghetto, and Mamma hooked us up with meals just as great as the ones we remember with flour. It was really great, because this time we were traveling with other family members who are not GF and we got to see the little changes they made to the menu to accommodate us, and we generally got to enjoy the same things. And Nicola is an expert at helping you choose wine that perfectly complements the food. And he's a very entertaining storyteller. :-)

The apartments are very nice - they're definitely a step above a normal self-catering apartment rental. The kitchenettes have the basic appliances and serving ware you'll need if you want to head to the local grocery store and do your own breakfasts or other meals (when Mamma isn't cooking, of course). They also have a washer and dryer you can buy tokens for to do a little laundry (self-serve). The wifi works well in the designated area, but the signal doesn't extend to the rooms.

When we remember the places we stay, it's always because the hosts go the extra mile to make our visit enjoyable. Il Borghetto is great that way, and you will be treated like family when you visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Carissima Meredith, we were amazed by your kind super review! Grazie mille! You had a nice word for each of us and for everything here! You know that you are always more than welcomed when you decide to return as you did after some years and we always look forward to meet you with joy each time!
Hope you have a wonderful summer. With affection,
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently stayed at Il Borghetto with 3 other couples and had an absolutely delightful time. One couple had stayed there a couple times before so we knew from what they were telling us we were in for a treat. The family running the villa could not have been nicer and the experience was highlights by 3 dinners prepared by "Mama". They were excellent and really the best meals we had all week. It was a fabulous week and we look forward to going back some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Scott P.
It was our complete pleasure to having you at il Borghetto and we wish to thank you for your kind words. We also enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return again.
With gratitude,
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Perfect Tuscan Villa owned by perfect hosts, the Bimbi Family (who are never intrusive but very friendly, hospitable, knowledgeable and extremely proud of their accommodation, food and wine).
Perfect apartments set in perfect surroundings and the location is perfect for exploring the Tuscan countryside and nearby Towns and villages.
Perfect home cooked food and excellent variety of local wines.
So perfect that we will be returning again this August for our 7th stay! The only thing that isn't perfect is that you have to come home at some point!
We highly recommend Il Borghetto (as long as there is always an apartment available for us to continue to visit!)

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different apartments throughout our visits but have been lucky enough to have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorghettoSGimignano, Proprietario at Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Ciao cara Pauline,
we are happily grateful by your choice of words in your review title, thank you.
Our reply is that you are perfect guests! We enjoy everything of you each time you come back: your humour, your friendship, your smiles, your courtesy, your sensibility.
Thank you and may we see you many more times at il Borghetto!
Famiglia Bimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#5 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Property: Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing