We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
“The Best!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you have been looking for the perfect travel destination to use as a base to explore Tuscany and all of the delights to be found there, then this is the one! You can return at the end of the day and enjoy recounting your adventures with other travelers from around the world who are willing to listen and share their own experiences.
Or, you can simply enjoy the pleasures of the Villa and the surrounding area.
The furnishings are marvelous and the owners are very hands on. They are helpful in finding a destination or for an unexpected item that you must have. The meals that are prepared 3 nights a week by Mamma and her staff are not to be missed!
A stay here will embody the warmth and joy to be found in Tuscany!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
156
168
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The owners were wonderful hosts. Our apartment was immaculate and tastefully decorated.
Every single room had a fabulous view over miles of unspoilt Tuscan countryside, picture
postcard, panoramic perfection!
The family prepare dinner three times each week with different menus each day. The food
was absolutely fantastic with fine affordable wines to compliment the wonderful Italian
cuisine.
We would highly recommend booking II Borghetto. It is ideally located near to San Gimignano
which is our favourite Tuscan location. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of my husband and I's favorite places we've ever stayed anywhere! When we arrived we were mind blown by the breathtaking views, generous hospitality of the people running it, and the property, everything about it was a dream come true! It will be a genuine tuscan experience if you stay here. it is central to many beautiful cities including Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Sienna, and 5 min drive away from the quaint town of San gimignano. I highly recommend doing the dinner at II Borghetto at least one night! food, atmosphere, and company are wonderful.

The whole thing is straight out of a fairytale!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshNoelOfsthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Our family has travelled all over the world and our stay at il borghetto was the best experience we have ever had on vacation. The owners are a wonderful family that made our family feel as if we were guests of their family. The apartment la scalina was perfect for our family of 4. It is a 2 level apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, dining room, sitting room, and a terrace overlooking the vineyards in the valley.

We had dinner on the property and the experience and meal was unforgettable. We stayed for 6 nights and everyday we explored new towns with easy access to florence, pisa, lucca, voltera, San Gimignano, montepulciano, grieve, and pienza. Each day we had help from Simona to help plan our day. When we were tired after a long day of sightseeing relaxing in the pool felt amazing.

Thank you Il Borgehetto for making our visit to Italy perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Ahhh. We are homesick already for this place and I know we will return as soon as we can. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. Love the drive up appeal of a country, gravel road, yet the proximity to nearby Poggibonsi is super convenient for groceries/pharmacy, etc. Simona and Sandra are warm, welcoming and friendly. And their eye for design is impeccable. We stayed in the smallest apartment and still had a breakfast nook, upstairs loft area and charming kitchen, plenty of space to spread out. We could've stayed 2 weeks and had plenty of space to spread out. And oh how I wish we had! Highlights: gorgeous views of sloping vineyards, simple yet perfect dinner overlooking said vineyards, the pool area, brick floors in our apartment, the warmth of the owners, meeting other travelers at dinner...
Awesome experience. So grateful we got to go and spend time here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently spent 6 nights at Il Borghetto and found that it was exceptionally well placed to do both. Being situated very near San Gimignano in central Tuscany makes it easy to go see cultural landmarks in Firenze, Siena, Pisa and more. With plenty of places on the grounds and a nice pool one can also have great "down time" days filled w/views of the beautiful Tuscan hills and San Gimignano. We even spent a few days where we did both by visiting the smaller but still fascinating nearby towns and then relaxed at Il Borghetto.
As others have written the facilities are great and the when served the meals are a must. Wonderful flavors in each course that go well w/the wine pairings offered. Our daughter also enjoyed a cooking class offered one day.
While the above is reason enough to visit in the end it is the people that make Il Borghetto a must for your Tuscan visit. Nicola, Sandra, Simona, and Ricardo set the tone w/their help and friendliness that results in visitors sharing meals and stories while making friends. Evidence of this was that most visitors during our stay were repeat visitors. They came not only to enjoy Il Borghetto but to renew their friendship w/the owners and their fellow repeat visitors as well as make new friends.
Thanks Nicola, Sandra, Ricardo and Simona for a great stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the triple upstairs in the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeanddizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything you read about this gem of a place is true. Perfect location. Stunning views. Great hospitality. Delicious dinners. Spotless apartments. We stayed a week---It was hard to leave. For those who like to excercise, note that the pool is long enough for lap swimming and there is a fully equipped Equinox gym about ten minutes away that only costs 5 Euros per person for a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 111 in San Gimignano
411 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Property: Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing