We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and Leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We first heard about Il Borghetto from a friend who had been there last year. She described the leisurely ambiance and beauty of the Villa and the surrounding area. The apartment we occupied was large and very comfortable. Our hosts were very gracious and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They directed us to a local "fattoria" where we we enjoyed an afternoon of wine tasting Tuscan style. We especially enjoyed the meals prepared and served at Il Borghetto three days out of the week. All the courses were homemade, fresh and delicious. The wines were excellent. While we stayed at Il Borghetto, we found it easy to visit San Gimignano, Sienna, Florence, and Volterra. Each was an easy drive on highways that allowed us to enjoy the Tuscan landscape. We hope to return next year to further explore the Tuscan countryside. It was a great trip; we hope the first of many.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

There were four of us in our party and Il Borghetto was indeed an inspired choice. The greeting on arrival was perfect and throughout the two weeks the owners could not have been more helpful. Our apartment was perfect and the view from the balcony classic Tuscany, in fact we just stayed around the house for a day or two enjoying the peace and tranquility. Approximately 25 metres from our balcony was the al fresco dining area where we enjoyed the owners perfectly served food 3 times each week including a superb selection of local wines. The location was also great for touring Chianti area, Sienna, San Gimignano and all the historic towns were easy to get to. Best holiday ever - YES!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theGibsons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you have been looking for the perfect travel destination to use as a base to explore Tuscany and all of the delights to be found there, then this is the one! You can return at the end of the day and enjoy recounting your adventures with other travelers from around the world who are willing to listen and share their own experiences.
Or, you can simply enjoy the pleasures of the Villa and the surrounding area.
The furnishings are marvelous and the owners are very hands on. They are helpful in finding a destination or for an unexpected item that you must have. The meals that are prepared 3 nights a week by Mamma and her staff are not to be missed!
A stay here will embody the warmth and joy to be found in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The owners were wonderful hosts. Our apartment was immaculate and tastefully decorated.
Every single room had a fabulous view over miles of unspoilt Tuscan countryside, picture
postcard, panoramic perfection!
The family prepare dinner three times each week with different menus each day. The food
was absolutely fantastic with fine affordable wines to compliment the wonderful Italian
cuisine.
We would highly recommend booking II Borghetto. It is ideally located near to San Gimignano
which is our favourite Tuscan location. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of my husband and I's favorite places we've ever stayed anywhere! When we arrived we were mind blown by the breathtaking views, generous hospitality of the people running it, and the property, everything about it was a dream come true! It will be a genuine tuscan experience if you stay here. it is central to many beautiful cities including Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Sienna, and 5 min drive away from the quaint town of San gimignano. I highly recommend doing the dinner at II Borghetto at least one night! food, atmosphere, and company are wonderful.

The whole thing is straight out of a fairytale!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshNoelOfsthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family has travelled all over the world and our stay at il borghetto was the best experience we have ever had on vacation. The owners are a wonderful family that made our family feel as if we were guests of their family. The apartment la scalina was perfect for our family of 4. It is a 2 level apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, dining room, sitting room, and a terrace overlooking the vineyards in the valley.

We had dinner on the property and the experience and meal was unforgettable. We stayed for 6 nights and everyday we explored new towns with easy access to florence, pisa, lucca, voltera, San Gimignano, montepulciano, grieve, and pienza. Each day we had help from Simona to help plan our day. When we were tired after a long day of sightseeing relaxing in the pool felt amazing.

Thank you Il Borgehetto for making our visit to Italy perfect.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Ahhh. We are homesick already for this place and I know we will return as soon as we can. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. Love the drive up appeal of a country, gravel road, yet the proximity to nearby Poggibonsi is super convenient for groceries/pharmacy, etc. Simona and Sandra are warm, welcoming and friendly. And their eye for design is impeccable. We stayed in the smallest apartment and still had a breakfast nook, upstairs loft area and charming kitchen, plenty of space to spread out. We could've stayed 2 weeks and had plenty of space to spread out. And oh how I wish we had! Highlights: gorgeous views of sloping vineyards, simple yet perfect dinner overlooking said vineyards, the pool area, brick floors in our apartment, the warmth of the owners, meeting other travelers at dinner...
Awesome experience. So grateful we got to go and spend time here!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
805 reviews
1.9 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 108 in San Gimignano
435 reviews
4.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#11 of 108 in San Gimignano
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £106 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing