We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradiso italiano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

How can one begin to describe the ultimate escape from the world's events?. If one was to experience this, it would be at Il Borghetto! The family makes you one of their own and the warmth is sincere and truly heartfelt. And the food prepared by Mama and her staff is beyond compare! It is my time for rejuvenation and preparation for the upcoming year...it is my annual pilgrimage.

Room Tip: The view of the Tuscan countryside from any room is spectacular; I have stayed in five of the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't say enough about Il Borghetto and the wonderful family that runs it. The villa we stayed in was perfect for our family; well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The views from literally every room in our villa were absolutely breathtaking! We did day trips to Florence, Siena, and Montepulciano and it was lovely to come back after a long day and take a dip in the beautiful pool. They serve dinner there 3 nights a week and dining with them is a must. The 4 course meal was absolutely delicious and Nicola is a wonderful host! Simona was always available to provide information about nearby towns etc. and she gave us a recommendation for one of the best dinners we've every had at Cum Quibus in San Gimignano - you have to make a reservation to get in and it's EXCELLENT! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but, I believe they all have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a fabulous facility operated by a wonderful family. We spent 7 nights with them in May of 2014. The service was excellent. They serve three evening meals a week and we ate two of them which were outstanding. The facility is within two miles of San Gimignano and between Florence and Sienna, just off the main highway several miles. It is a great location to park it in Tuscany and enjoy the area. We wish we could give a higher rating than Excellent because it was that good. We want to return again. It was a highlight of our three weeks in Italy and Sicily.

Room Tip: They are working on the wifi and it is accessible for free from the main patio area. This is the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jayhawk67401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Gosh where do I begin with the accolades for Il Borghetto as there are so many!

This unique medieval building (circa 1200-1300AD) has been magnificently restored by the owners and it has been cleverly divided into about 12 unique villas, all of varying sizes and catering to the needs of all individuals.

The setting is so charming overlooking vineyards, neighbouring villages, and beyond and Il Borghetto is situated near San Gimigniano. The owners are the managers - a tight-nit family comprising a brother and sister, and their respective spouses and they cook delicious dinners on Friday, Saturday and Tuesday nights, plus they provide cooking lessons if you are interested. The 4 course meals are so delicious, complimented with lovely wines from Tuscany, and a few others. There a lovely walks to do, vineyards and cellars to visit and a never ending list of historic, fascinating villages to stroll through. (You will need a car).

The villas all have unique stories to tell due to their thoughtful restoration and they are so comfortable, clean, quiet and the mattress was comfortable too. There are plenty of outside areas to laze about in, including a beautiful, large pool. Wifi is available in certain areas.

Every need is catered for and the price to stay is extremely reasonable for the stunning experience. Saying good-bye after 6 nights was difficult as I felt as though we were leaving home.

Room Tip: There are a few steps to consider as the hotel is situated atop a hill. Maximum steps about 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Merry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wendy and I loved Il Borghetto. Il Borghetto is special because San Gimingniano, probably the main destination for us tourists in this part of Tuscany, is now overwhelmed by us tourists, so much of each day in the main tourist season! Il Borghetto was very close, but worlds away from the tourist mobs, and very well managed and cared for by the actual owners, who have personally and beautifully restored this old farm complex some decade ago. A tip about San Gimigniano….go there after sunset, when we tourists have mostly vacated it, and appreciate how the locals return to their local and beloved piazzas, to use them as they should be used.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A gorgeous property in Tuscany, I searched long and hard to find the perfect place for our 5 night stay in Tuscany and this definitely was it. Stayed as a family, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 12 and 10. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, it was a joy to come back here every afternoon and relax by the pool. The apartment was fantastic, a great size and comfortable. We had one of the dinners at the property and it was amazing, all of the food was delicious and there was so much of it, we were very full!! I would not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Il Borghetto last week. with our 3 children (15, 18 and 21). The location is ideal for getting anywhere in Tuscany, the views are breathtaking, the accommodation far exceeded our expectations (we stayed in the 3-bedroom Capanna di Capra which is huge and very private), the owners could not be nicer or more helpful and the dinners were delicious! We love the fact that we could hike into San Gimignano, which we did twice.

Of particular note were two things which went way above and beyond:

1. Our flight was delayed and we couldn't arrive until after midnight. Our 21 year old son, who was arriving earlier, was able to check in for us. However, having arrived without a car , he had no way to get food for his dinner. Nicolas very kindly drove him to a store to pick up what he needed.

2. Our 18 year old daughter is vegan; rather than just giving her a salad or plate of vegetables at the two dinners we ate there, they went out of their way to prepare delicious vegan meals for her - a lot of extra work and thought for just one person. When we expressed our dismay and what they were proposing to do, the response was "we love a challenge'!

Simona, Sandra, Nicola and Riccardo, thank you for a wonderful holiday. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianInUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
3.4 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#4 of 107 in San Gimignano
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo

Address: Localita Cortennano 21/23, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL BORGHETTO di Cortennano, Tuscany villa vacation rentals, lies on the side of a hill within the municipal borders of San Gimignano directly on the original old dirt road leading to the town, with the best view of the famous towers.The accommodation is divided into apartments of different sizes and typology to better satisfy the varying needs of the guests. All apartments are equipped with the following comforts: heating/air conditioning, kitchen with microwave/grill and freezer, dishwasher (in the larger apartments), cable TV, telephone.Some have a fireplace and all are furnished to recreate that typical Tuscan atmosphere that is characterized by the style and taste that have always distinguished this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Hotel San Gimignano
Il Borghetto Di San Gimignano Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing