We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at La Marronaia. The breathtaking setting on a small hill amongst vineyards and olive groves overlooking San Gimignano towers. Beautifully restored farm house. Lovely pool with a fantastic views. Podere La Marronaia is one of the most relaxing places you could imagine. We truly enjoyed every second of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berbelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed 10 days. Silvia is the perfect host from doing the online booking to saying good bye! Very efficient, never intruding, always ready with advice and arrangements. I stayed at Podera La Colonne, in my opinion the best of all the accomodation offered. Can well serve 2 to 4 people although best for 2. Fully equipped kitchen, beautiful views from the bedroom, kitchen and livingroom windows. I spend hours just sitting in the window and staring over the hills covered with vinyards, olive orchards and old farm houses. The view on San Gimignano is also something to appreciate. I got pictures with full moon - awesome! I'm going back next summer with my partner, never alone again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phlip_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My husband and I first visited La Marronaia in April 2009, for a romantic getaway from the craziness of London's busy life. We immediately fell in love with the place, and with the family that runs it! So we decided to go back and this time bring our family. My in-laws came from the United States and we spent a week there this past June (2010), and probably enjoyed the best family vacation the 6 of us have ever had. From the moment you arrive at the Marronaia, and step out of the car, you are immediately absorbed by the tranquility and stillness of the place. You then become aware that you are surrounded by beauty all around! The place itself is indeed stunning, and La Marronaia is a hidden gem within the Tuscan countryside, but what makes the difference is the kindness of the owners, Silvia and Luigi. Always with a smile and kind word, they would often give us advice on the best places to visit, eat and shop, providing clear directions and going out of their way to make sure that we had a lovely stay. I can honestly say these are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet in Tuscany (I am Italian, so I think I can say that!), warm, genuine and very caring. My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and often stayed in 5 star hotels and resorts, so we are used to nice, comfortable places, and La Marronaia fully met our expectations in terms of cleanliness of the apartment and it having all the necessary utensils and appliances for a comfortable stay! I find it hard to understand how someone could have such an oppositely different experience there, since I can only describe it as delightful! My husband and I are already talking about going back at the end of September! :o)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmaLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

As a family of five, we stayed at Podere La Marronaia for the second time in August 2009. We returned for the second time in 3 years because the accommodation, the surroundings and the hosts are second to none. The apartments are clean, fully equipped and sympathetically furnished. San Gimignano is an excellent base for touring the many beautiful towns and villages in Tuscany and for anyone going to Italy for the first time, Sylvia and Luigi will not disappoint. We are looking forward to visiting again and would not hesitate in making another booking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagpieMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

In 2009 we came to la Marronaia for the third time. It is absolutely the most beautifull place to go to in Tuscany. The owners are heartwarming people with always a nice word and attention for details. Our rooms were clean, the beds are good and all we have to do in la Marronaia is to relax. Next year we will go back again for we fell in love with the beautifull spot la Marronaia. Please contact us if you want some more information about this place for it is our pleasure to bring over our enthousiasm and love for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Amazing views, but what a shame about the rest. This could be a lovely place, but on our visit the apartment was very dirty, the people in the one adjoining told us theirs was the same and they insisted the owners called in cleaners to redo, ironicly we had been charged 50 euros before the start of our stay for cleaning!! We had to put absolutely all crockery and cutlery into dishwasher and wipe drawers and shelves out. The cooking utensils were old and grimy.
I am an animal lover, but there were un neutered unheakthy looking cats everywhere photo of one shown. and they were desperate to get into apartment, we had to barricade door with cloths airer, but could still not stop smell of tom cat wee.
When we arrived the lady was out, but we were met by her husband, we straight away said we were unhappy with the conditions and as it was late at night would prefer to stay one night and move on. The lady of the house then appeared and insisted we pay up in full even if we left she would debit our credit card for the balance , she only seemed interested in money, not her clients satisfaction.
As it was now late at night and raining heavily we decided we would give them the benefit of the doubt and give it a go and so paid in full as we had no choice. However we could only stand the smell for 4 days and then had to move on.. I then recieved a very rude e mail from the owner. So hey, maybe we just had a bad experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmdfking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

Dear Madame,
I prefectly understand who you are even if you did not sign your review with your name. As you personally refere to me, Silvia, I want to reply to your complains directly, even if I have already tried to do it privatly by email without success.
First of all I want to say that here at La Marronaia we'll not forget you very quickly. It was the first time in 8 years of activity we had a such shocking experience.
That is not to say that we are perfect but everytime we had a problem or a complain we tried to solve it to ensure to our guests a good service and a good holiday. The best prize for our work and our efforts are lots of guests coming back every year,, addressing here friends, the guests beconimg our friends and feeling at La Marronaia as at home.
Since you arrival we all supposed you'll not be an "easy" guest. I was out that afternoon for personal question but my husband was here to meet you and all the others guests to arrive.
You immediatly were disappointed about that, because you supposed to meet personally me at first; my husband called me by phone and I spoke a lot with you explaining that I'll be at La Marronaia for dinner, so in 2 hours. Nothing more difficult to explain, so I had to leave my sons and relatives and run to La Marronaia to meet you. That sound really strange as we didn't know personally before, when you book an hotel you are not supposed to refere only to one of the owners, you can be welcomed by the owner (in this case my husband) or by some others encharged of this. I want to specify that my family and I, you knew this, are living at the upper floor of the building and so we are here everyday.
When at La Marronaia, I was only able to speak with your husband as you never looked at me in face but staied all time with the eyes closed to show you disappointment for the weather, (it was raining!) for the distance from the town ect. Concerning the distance you told me you knew it was 1 km, I remind you about our website and the offer email I sent you where there was written 2 km but asked you to show me where and if in other sites the distance was different as I had to change it immediatly...I'm stil waiting for this answer.
A per our confirmation voucher, the payment was requested to be totaly done 30 days before the arrival, you didn't want to do it even when here; my fault, because I never ask payment in advance as required by the confirmation voucher I usually require at the arrival, I trust people. I also never ask to the guest to leave a deposit of 100 euros as required. In this case it 'd be better as when we entered in the flat you suddenly left without saying a word, we discovered lots of damages , you know, that costs a lot to repair but that more than for the money, hurted us deeply. The curtains and the lampshades have been cutted or seriously damaged and we had to change them all. I just want to say that when Luigi and I both this property we personally choosen all the dettails from the restoring of the house to the furnitures. There are not reasons of disappointement to leave a flat in the conditions you did, you wanted to hurt us?Perfectly done you reched you goal. It's a shame. I did not charge you any cost even if I could by credit card.
Concerning the animals I told you that the cat you got the pictures was not one of mine but my neighbours'cat (I wrote you the name of their farm but I don't want to repeate here to respect them ) and we don't want it to come here but sometimes it comes in love season because we have female cats. My sons always try to scarry it as we don't want to be responsable for it and its health. Mine are followed as the dogs, the horses, the donkey and the goats regularly by a doctor, if you really are a veterinarian you should recognize this.
At the end I only want to say you that there is no sense in your behaviour.There is no sense to fight with the world, it's better to try to comunicate with it. Nobody is against you, don't worry.
I ALSO WANT TO THANK YOU ALL MARRONAIA'S FIRENDS THAT LOOKING AT YOUR REVIEW CALLED OR WROTE US TO SUPPORT AND ENCOURAGE US.
THANK YOU FIRENDS, I LOVE YOU ALL.
We always have to look after the good side of the coin!
Sicerely, Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
#23 of 107 in San Gimignano
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
#51 of 107 in San Gimignano
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
#45 of 107 in San Gimignano
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Raccianello
Agriturismo Raccianello
#48 of 107 in San Gimignano
35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fattoria Antonella
Fattoria Antonella
#35 of 107 in San Gimignano
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo

Address: Podere Marronaia 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £59 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere la Marronaia is a small and welcoming farmhouse situated on a small hill amongst vineyards and olive groves, close to the historical centre of San Gimignano (2km). The central part of this historical building is the watching tower built in 1200 ad as part of the city wall defence. In the year 2000 the Dei family, in love with this area, bought the property to make of it our residence and actual business activity. Today the Podere la Marronaia Farmhouse is a family runned farm, dedicated to tourist accommodation with flats to rent, and farming activity with biological production of wine and extra virgin olive oil with direct sale in the farmhouse.We offer flat accomodations. Each flat is fully equipped with: oven, dishwasher machine, 4 fires, fridge+ freezer, crockery, tv sat, iron, hairdryer, little house appliances, free internet wireless connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing