We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Osteria Del Carcere
Ranked #38 of 129 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Despite this having been recommended we were very disappointed. The menu was limiting and food uninspiring. The wine list was good although we only had a glass each. It may have been our selection but it did not represent value for money. Especially as we have had so many good meals in San Gimignano

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    199
    59
    28
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a lovely lunch in San Gimignano at Osteria del Carcere. The food was simply prepared...we watched from the floor above the main level kitchen as the chef rubbed garlic on rustic bread and slathered toppings for crostini. We had crostini, salad and delicious hearty soups, generous portions! Food was excellent and unexpectedly good!

We have to say that while San Gimignano is a very pretty town, it is terribly touristy and crowded, and lost that "authentic" feel for us. But the osteria was a highlight!

Would go there again, perhaps in quieter season!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cosy friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stopped by for lunch. The soups were tasty although the pate portions were a bit small and dry. Deserts portions were good value though. Friendly but slightly slow service with nice comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dropbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Simply delicious.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were not in the mood for a big meal at around 9 PM and wanted something "easy" and not too filling. We were recommended this restaurant by a local artisan for a simple meal of soup, salad and wine. The owner and his wife were very friendly and happy to provide us with a nice wine selection with our meal and we just sat back and watched as they prepared our orders in a leisurely manner with a nice attention to detail. The food was served simply and beautifully with attention to presentation. The owner selected a nice local wine for us which was reasonable and delicious. We were seated downstairs so were able to observe first hand how our meal was being made which was also enjoyable. The owners (husband and wife) were very friendly and I was even presented with a cloth bag with their restaurant's logo on it!
I would definitely return to the Osteria Del Carcere when we are next in San Gimignano and I can heartily recommend it for anyone interested in a simple, well prepared meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Authentic, simple Tuscan food done very well indeed - lovely pecorino platter to start and all three of us had delicious soup. Staff were very pleasant. The restaurant is connected to the famous Cecchini butcher of Panzano and is part of the slow food movement. We all enjoyed it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Del Carcere also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Del Carcere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing