We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery and ambience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena
Ranked #61 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely scenery and ambience!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at this cute bed and breakfast for three nights in May with my parents. We were in the Tinaia room. There was a full kitchen with large dining table, living room, one bedroom plus one other double bed behind a curtain off to the side of the living room. There was one bathroom with standup shower. The bigger bedroom was tight, but easily fit our pack-n-play. We had a patio out front, which was very cute, but not private. The room looked perfectly Tuscan!

We came to Tuscany for the hillside views and wine tasting, so this was a perfect location. In our two full days, we were able to easily drive to San Gimignano, Chianti, Montalcino, and Sienna, and stop at a few other small towns and wineries along our route. This part of Italy is beautiful!

The owner is so nice, but speaks only a little English. He did recommend a good nearby restaurant for our first night there, and actually drove to lead us there to show us where it was. The only thing we were disappointed in was the breakfast. It is only a tray of plastic wrapped pastries and crackers. But, since they have a full kitchen, you could bring/make your own. We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirl636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
29
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The place is quite hard to find - but once you are there, you don't want to leave it, although Siena is only a couple of minutes away. It's an old farmhouse converted into apartments. The annex is even better: the apartments have their own gardens and a great view of the countryside. The apartments are quite big, clean and perfectly equipped with absolutely everything you might need. Giuseppe is a wonderful host - he doesn't really speak anything but Italian, but always was able and willing to talk and to help. We got a free bottle of olive oil plus a free bottle of wine every day. Breakfast is a bit special - you have the choice between a tray of sweet stuff and a voucher for a nearby restaurant. We opted for the tray, which wasn't really a good idea. But all in all, this is a wonderful place and we will certainly come again if we go to Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkaboutGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

A lovely conversion of old farmhouse buildings mainly for couples but we stayed as 4 in the 2 bed Fullino first floor apartment with an upper floor attic bedroom. Pleasant lounge/kitchen dining area with selection of pots and pans and china but no decent bottle opener or sharp knives. The 3 apartments in the annexe for couples have very private terraces and loungers plus a jacuzzi area but if you are staying in one in the main farmhouse building the terraces all face the car park and are not particularly private. That said we really enjoyed our stay here - rustic feel, quiet, lovely views and garden and welcoming host (but his English is very limited); but all at a very reasonable cost so we would recommend it and come back again. You really do need a car though - for arriving - unless you know the area and get the no.4 bus from Siena but it would be difficult to know where to get off - and a taxi would probably cost 15-20E. It is also difficult to find in the dark. It was great to come back to in the evenings and everyone was very friendly on the small complex and a great base to explore Tuscany. We went to San Gimignano, Florence, Monterrigioni, Siena and Montalcino. We went to Florence by train (9E return) and left the car at the station all day for 2E. There is a great little cafe/bar at the end of the road for lovely breakfasts and pastries - also the evening menus included a delicious cold buffet option and lovely desserts - and some of the best red wine I tasted at only 1E a glass - and I'm fussy. Make sure you go into Siena by bus for 1E - they run frequently all day and evening - and Siena was very busy when we went and parking/traffic a nightmare. We were provided with coffee/tea and milk on arrival and some of Guiseppe's own home made wine and oil which was delicious; but there are no nearby shops; and no kettle. A great little place to unwind as long as you are aware of some of the drawbacks - we did not need to use the a/c or laundry which we think were extra. Peaceful and pleasant.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms in the separate annexe if travelling as a couple are definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyLilian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

After several Agriturismo stays, this was our favorite. The location is close to Siena's downtown but still in the countryside. The rooms are excellent with modern appliances, including dishwasher and laundry! You are even close to a good supermarket if you need something.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trentandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Antica Fonte was exactly what we were hoping for when making our booking. The accommodation is in a great setting, on the very outskirts of Siena, over-looking the countryside. The apartment was compact but perfect for couples, with a king bed and very well looked after. Although we arrived at 11am, Giuseppe made the room available to us, even though it had only been vacated that morning. I would recommend this accommodation for those looking to escape restaurents and also to relax for a couple of days during their travels. Just bare in mind that its a bus or drive into Siena, walking would be a risk, espcially with the italian drivers!! FYI use of the AC is an extra cost, costs about 4euros if only used during the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigboy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We would recommend Antica Fonte - it is reasonably priced, charming, one of the friendliest places that we visited and in a beautiful rural setting. The only downside is that it is 3km outside of Siena city but we would recommend staying here. The apartments are self catering, which made a lovely break from eating out all the time and Giuseppe (the owner) is lovely - he even gave us fresh figs from his garden. Also, one of the most comfy beds in Italy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSunnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

VERY clean!
Owner will do everything to please you... he is wonderful!
There is no pool although we thought there was as listed under activities... but a hot tub.

Be aware there is extra small fee for using laundry, air conditionning and internet.

Very peaceful villa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.6 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#44 of 121 in Siena
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B La Coperta Ricamata
B&B La Coperta Ricamata
#48 of 121 in Siena
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Piccola Siena
Villa Piccola Siena
#36 of 121 in Siena
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#29 of 88 in Siena
62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
0.1 mi away
Fullino Nero
Fullino Nero
#41 of 88 in Siena
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena

Property: Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena
Address: Strada del Petriccio E Belriguardo 164, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing