We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accomodating host, wonderful views, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena
Ranked #61 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Antica Fonte. The pictures online do not do it justice. We were pondering if we wanted to stay closer to Siena (within the city) but I am glad we chose Antica Fonte instead. It is close enough to Siena to enjoy, but far enough away to relax in the jacuzzi at night, enjoy your meal in your own private courtyard (made from your own well equipped kitchen) and watch the sunset. We were able to do laundry as well. No need for a/c at night (but is available for extra charge). The proprietor spoke little english, but we managed just fine and he is truly about the most gracious host I have ever met. We had trouble with the washer/dryer (my fault) and I just ended up putting the clothes outside to dry. After a day of sight seeing we came home to find all our clothes dried and neatly folded! He was not intrusive, but just genuinely kind and generous...if you have a car this is the place to stay! I know a bus stop is just down the road, minutes away, but I cannot speak to that as we did not use the bus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamilysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

The hotel fairly new and it is owned by a charming couple who built incredible villas with an unbelievable view of Tuscan landscapes. The hotel is 10 minutes driving from Siena center and is located in an old wine and olive farm. Ideal if you are driving to get away from city crowds, parking is free. The villas are fully equiped with kitchen, (2) flat screen TV's and very clean. You can have breakfast at the terrace overlooking Tuscan landscapes. The owners are very nice and take care of every detail to make you feel home. This was a very pleasant surprise to all of us with incredible value. If you don't mind staying a few minutes away from the city, this is the best choice you will probably find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teleflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Ours was a one night stop after visiting Siena and on the way down South. The surroundings were beautiful. Great patio. Hot tub. The apartment was large and well appointed. The facilities were way beyond our needs (staying only one night). All the modern amenities: full kitchen, dishwasher, clotheswasher. Had we known, we would have used Antica Fonte as home base for our Tuscan explorations and stayed at least a few more nights. It is not walking distance to Siena. So if you stay here, I would strongly recommend having wheels. Also, they do not provide breakfast (but do have the fixings for espresso) so bring your own food. A great value, in lovely surroundings, with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pegscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This Bed and breakfast was absolutely amazing! It really made visiting Siena that much better for us. It had everything you could ask for-even a spa bath! Inside was extremely clean and there was a beautiful outdoor verandah where you could have breakfast. It is located about 5km from central Siena but this did not worry us at all-it added to the wonderful Tuscany experience-being located in a lovely open, quiet space. The owners were extremely friendly and very helpful. My partner and I highly recommend staying at Antica Fonte Residence!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

A set of suites, with cooking facilities, in a former farmhouse on the hills near Siena.

Very few minutes' drive get you the quietest of the nights and countryside views.

Newly, smartly furnished. Breakfast and bottled water included.

Very hospitable owners, have been flexible with us checking out more than two hours after the requested time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I highly recommend this place! It is an old house renovated to become a bed & breakfast but still maintains the original feel. The rooms are decorated with pictures of Siena as it was 100+ years ago & pre-renaissance art. The furniture are all antiques in fabulous condition. The owner may be the nicest man in Italy. He doesnt speak a lick of english so get your English to Italian disctionary ready but he will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay. The surroundings are beautiful.

Let me suggest how you should utilize this place. Please note that this B&B is not with in the city walls. Best to come here if you have a rental car as it is about 5 Km of driving to get into the city. We made the mistake of using a taxi which cost us 14 Euros per ride into Siena. I would recommend staying here for 3 nights and using it as your base for Tuscany exploration. Day 1 is Siena; Day 2 is Pisa and Day 3 Florence or any other favorite Tuscany location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Our family stayed at the Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena for a few days at the conclusion of a two week Mediterranean cruise. It was the perfect conclusion to our trip. The Antica Fonte is perfectly located just outside Siena and is the perfect base for day trips throughout Tuscany. Aside from being in a perfect location, the Antica Fonte is immaculately and lovingly maintained by Giuseppe, our most gracious and helpful host. We stayed in the Oliveto unit, which has a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, with a complete bath and shower. Outdoors, the unit has its own patio area with an outdoor dining table, which is great for breakfast or dinner overlooking the Tuscan countryside, and chaise lounges. Finally, the Antica Fonte adds to its appeal by being an incredible value. We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagno
2.5 mi away
La Chicca B&B
La Chicca B&B
#13 of 126 in Siena
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#7 of 126 in Siena
245 reviews
3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
3 mi away
Villa del Sole Siena
Villa del Sole Siena
#10 of 126 in Siena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena

Address: Strada del Petriccio E Belriguardo 164, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £64 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing