We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful buildings/surrounding; good location, very quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena
Ranked #54 of 119 Siena B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful buildings/surrounding; good location, very quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed at this B&B for four nites and used it as a base while we traveled by rented car to Siena and surrounding mountain cities. Accommodations were great...private, clean, reasonably priced, comfortable and very quiet. Beware of a few niggling issues: the proprietor, Giuseppi, spoke virtually no English so it was nearly impossible to glean recommendations for travel; breakfast food was minimal and was not replaced each day; the spa, listed as an amenity, was empty; and we paid an extra 5 euro each day for heat and 3 euro per laundry load in a machine that did not dry the clothes. Still, we were very pleased with this B&B; we'd return.

Next time, we'd follow the advise of a fellow traveler and take the bus from the B&B to downtown Siena, where traffic is heavy and parking difficult to locate. Even with a friendly GPS and maps and road signs (which occasionally conflict with each other), we made a few wrong turns...not too much fun in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rco000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

What a beautiful, relaxing place. Could not fault one thing about Antica Fonte and the gracious host Giuseppe. He cannot do enough for you. The apartment/small house had everything. Even though we had a hire car we caught the bus at the end of the street into the old Siena town...to come back to our home away from home at the end of the day was bliss. We would cook up beautiful meals with the fresh produce that we had purchased from the markets and sat on our balconey with a bottle of Giuseppe's home made wine and watch the sunset. Bliss!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoesJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We booked only one night here after travelling from Lucca and visited Siena the following day on our way down to Umbria where we were staying for a week. I wish we could have stayed for longer. We had a gorgeous little appartment with a huge bed and lovely little kitchenette/lounge and a great bathroom. The appartment was clean, comfortable and full of character, and there was every attention to detail. The kitchenette was well stocked with wonderful italian coffee and a breakfast pack with muffins and breads. The owner was so welcoming and had left us a note on the reception door as we arrived late, but he didn't turn a hair and arrived to check us in and show us around the appartment. It was located in wonderful countryside just a mile or so from Siena and was so quiet. I don't think I had slept so well in ages!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuffBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Antica Fonte. The pictures online do not do it justice. We were pondering if we wanted to stay closer to Siena (within the city) but I am glad we chose Antica Fonte instead. It is close enough to Siena to enjoy, but far enough away to relax in the jacuzzi at night, enjoy your meal in your own private courtyard (made from your own well equipped kitchen) and watch the sunset. We were able to do laundry as well. No need for a/c at night (but is available for extra charge). The proprietor spoke little english, but we managed just fine and he is truly about the most gracious host I have ever met. We had trouble with the washer/dryer (my fault) and I just ended up putting the clothes outside to dry. After a day of sight seeing we came home to find all our clothes dried and neatly folded! He was not intrusive, but just genuinely kind and generous...if you have a car this is the place to stay! I know a bus stop is just down the road, minutes away, but I cannot speak to that as we did not use the bus.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfamilysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

The hotel fairly new and it is owned by a charming couple who built incredible villas with an unbelievable view of Tuscan landscapes. The hotel is 10 minutes driving from Siena center and is located in an old wine and olive farm. Ideal if you are driving to get away from city crowds, parking is free. The villas are fully equiped with kitchen, (2) flat screen TV's and very clean. You can have breakfast at the terrace overlooking Tuscan landscapes. The owners are very nice and take care of every detail to make you feel home. This was a very pleasant surprise to all of us with incredible value. If you don't mind staying a few minutes away from the city, this is the best choice you will probably find.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teleflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Ours was a one night stop after visiting Siena and on the way down South. The surroundings were beautiful. Great patio. Hot tub. The apartment was large and well appointed. The facilities were way beyond our needs (staying only one night). All the modern amenities: full kitchen, dishwasher, clotheswasher. Had we known, we would have used Antica Fonte as home base for our Tuscan explorations and stayed at least a few more nights. It is not walking distance to Siena. So if you stay here, I would strongly recommend having wheels. Also, they do not provide breakfast (but do have the fixings for espresso) so bring your own food. A great value, in lovely surroundings, with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pegscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This Bed and breakfast was absolutely amazing! It really made visiting Siena that much better for us. It had everything you could ask for-even a spa bath! Inside was extremely clean and there was a beautiful outdoor verandah where you could have breakfast. It is located about 5km from central Siena but this did not worry us at all-it added to the wonderful Tuscany experience-being located in a lovely open, quiet space. The owners were extremely friendly and very helpful. My partner and I highly recommend staying at Antica Fonte Residence!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
11.9 mi away
Antica Fonte Resort
Antica Fonte Resort
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 119 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#4 of 119 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casale Virgili
Casale Virgili
#42 of 119 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena

Property: Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena
Address: Strada del Petriccio E Belriguardo 164, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Antica Fonte Residenza di Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing