We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal we had in all of Italy!”

Ristorante Guidoriccio
Ranked #45 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Markle, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in all of Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

First of all we were in Italy for 2 weeks. Rome, Florence, Siena, Milan, and Venice. Our time in Siena and Tuscany was far and away the highlight of our trip and the food certainly did not disappoint. This was the best dining experience! The atmosphere is warm and feels very intimate and certainly adds to the dining experience. The staff is fantastic and the service was great! We had gnocchi in a meat sauce, risotto w/ veg, and pici in a wild boar sauce. For a starter they brought us a delicious warm panzanella salad (that's what i'm calling it anyway, I don't remember what our waiter called it.) It didn't seem like something I would ever order, but it was delicious! I'm so glad I tried it. It was all fantastic and the best meal we had on our entire trip. I hope to return to Tuscany soon and when I do I'll make sure to go there again and again! They even called a taxi for us to get us back to the train station and came out on the stoop while we waited to make sure we knew the taxi was on it's way and approx. how long it would be until it arrived.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kspahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    187
    53
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We traveled through six cities on our honeymoon, and this is the only restaurant in any of those cities where we thought - I know we're supposed to be trying new things every night, but can't we go back here for a second meal?? It was THAT good. The space is cozy, quaint and authentic. The woman who took our order was very sweet and helpful and even talked us through how to get to Montalcino the next day. I am still dreaming about the vegetable lasagna. They change the vegetable for every season, so I guess we'll just have to return to Siena at least once every season!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The owner of Guidoriccio is very charming and friendly, part of why we enjoyed our lunch so much.
The antipasti and homemade pasta were excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSternlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place with a friendly owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

One of the members of our group had been here before and therefore recommended we go back there for dinner. We were n a day trip from Florence. The restaurant is just off the Piazza del Campo yet out of the busy square where all the hectic fashionable trattorias are located. The owner struck up a conversation with our 3.5 year old son and instantly put everybody at ease with his friendly manner. The restaurant is less stuffy than your typical sit down place which I guess our American friend had liked in the first place. The wine recommendation was good and the homemade pastas were great too. We went away feeling that this was one of the friendliest places we had been to in our travels in Tuscany.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantanu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't leave Sienna without eating here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The owner was charming and very helpful with the food explanations, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, especially for the center of Sienna. The quaint restaurant is just off the Piazza del Campo, to the right of the Town Hall and has a friendly atmosphere, definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Champagne1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Guidoriccio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Guidoriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing