We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service for a very reasonable price.”

Trattoria Fori Porta
Reserve with
Trattoria Fori Porta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
St. Charles, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service for a very reasonable price.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We really enjoyed this little restaurant. We went because of a recommendation and we are so happy we had lunch here. Very nice surprise and very good food for a very good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    119
    32
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A Hidden Gem in Siena”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We discovered this restaurant through our hotel concierge since we were so hungry and we just wanted to head into the closest one from our hotel. Upon entering, one would think that this is just one among the many restaurants in Siena serving typical Italian cuisine. In the end, we were proven wrong since the food was absolutely delicious and done to perfection. The caprese salad and pasta pomodoro were out of this world. So good! We ended up eating here during 95 percent of our meals in Siena and we were there for 4 nights! Stefano is a wonderful man and owner and his 30 year old son is a fantastic cook. Last but not the least, the Brunello wines he has on stock are delicious and perfectly complement the meals you will have. We miss the food already.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMCLOPEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding food with quirky service”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a tricky restaurant to review. The food was really high quality. The entrees were just divine, I had the baked fig wrapped in smoky bacon and stuffed with ricotta, my wife the rolled and stuffed courgette. Secondi's were just as good. The wine list had been poorly maintained with many wines no longer available and those that were we're relatively expensive. Ironically, the house wines were cheap and good. The husband and wife team who run the restaurant were a bit quirky. For all it's idiosyncrasies we enjoyed this restaurant and ate here both our nights in Siena!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!! And reasonably priced?!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Right across the street from our hotel in Siena...wonderful food! The onion appetizer was to die for, and the pici pasta dish was out of this world. My husband and I also shared the "mixed pork", which was mouthwatering. Decent wine list and very reasonably priced. We will likely go back again before we leave Siena! Great meal all around...the only downside is that we ate too much!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This small establishment is a 5 min walk from the Hotel Palazzo di Valli. The restaurant like the hotel are both well worth your interest. The food at Fori Porta was freshly prepared and tasty. The service was good without being too in your face. The stuffed onions as a starter were a real treat and the baked rabbit for a main course is also very recommended.

We liked the choices so much we went back the following two nights to further work our way through the quite varied menu. After long days driving all over Tuscany going back to this restaurant was consistently pleasant and gastronomically rewarding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Fori Porta also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Fori Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing