We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food that doesn't cost the earth”

Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti
Ranked #17 of 525 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food that doesn't cost the earth”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I ate here with my hubby and four friends in June. The restaurant came highly recommended by a MasterChef winner, so expectations were high. We were not disappointed. The owner's welcome was warm and friendly, the food fantastic and there was even gluten free pasta, which was much appreciated by me with all my various food intolerances! As previously mentioned by other reviewers it is not within the old city walls, but it is worth the walk away from the centre as this was one of the best meals of the trip. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyB3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    291
    108
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simple and good”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A simple trattoria with good (not outstanding) food at excellent prices in a simple and rather plain setting opposite a carpark. The main advantage is that it is indeed away from the main tourist traps and therefore much quieter. Depends what you are after - if you want the buzz and atmosphere of the old city this is not for you. If you know Siena and want a good simple meal without too much fuss then this is an excellent choice, albeit involving a bit of a walk. Incidentally, be sure to use the escalator to get there (and especially to get back!!) to the city centre, thereby avoiding the very steep climb

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good local food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This restaurant really lives up to its reviews. Friendly and welcoming, delicious Tuscan food. We just wish we'd tried the steak - it looked delicious and seemed to be popular with all the diners!
Definitely worth the short walk out of town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicchi, Proprietario at Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Claire! Thank you so much for your review, hope to see you soon again in Siena! All the best, Britta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Forget about the tourist traps by Il Campo, this place is both welcoming and serves great Tuscan food. It's located near S Caterina parking, at the bottom of the escalator. Buy a bottle as wine comes in very small glasses.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lachalung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we enjoyed an excellent meal here at very reasonable prices. i was especially impressed by the lamb main course. There is a nice, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Enoteca Sotto Le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing