We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria La Piana

Osteria La Piana
Ranked #52 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had an amazing meal here. True, authentic Italian cooking. My daughter had the bruschetta starter and I had the capers salad. Both were delicious. The owner recommended and excellent bottle of wine from the region. My daughter had pici with meat sauce and I had ravioli with mushroom and truffle ragu sauce. Both meals were delicious. I saw people reading the menu outside and found myself wanting to catch their eye and say "come in, it's worth it!"

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynneandkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    383
    96
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Went for Light Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just had appetizers but other dishes looked good. Had prosciutto with melon and husband had pizza. Service just okay. Not a favorite but, good average fare.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank a5035805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citta Sant'Angelo, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The food and prices were excellent - much better than in the center of the city where all the tourist go. The staff were very friendly and special orders were no problem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnWarren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The manager of the hotel we stayed at recommended this little, casual restaurant as one of her favorites. We had one of the most tasty meals I have ever eaten. We asked the excellent waitress to recommend the dishes for us, and she did not disappoint. (OK, steak tartare is an acquired taste, but it was worth trying here.) The house wine was perfectly fine and reasonably-priced. In fact, we had two appetizers, two entries, a liter of wine and water for 61 Euro. For an Italian city, that's not bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casualtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olsztyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to eat good but not sofisticated Italian meal, IT is a perfect place. Especially very good bruschetta....And good white wine per 8 euro/litre;)

Helpful?
Thank sebol04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Piana also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria La Piana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing