We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, and that's about all”

Osteria La Chiacchera
Ranked #96 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Westchester County New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Cheap, and that's about all”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Normally when you find a place with all locals and no tourists, you are wise to eat there. I found this to be an exception. We ate inside and I would not recommend it. The back room was musty and humid from the kitchen adjacent, like a laundry room in an apartment. They moved us to the front room but there we had to sit on small stools. The menu is limited and nothing was particularly well prepared. Its saving grace was it did not cost much (only 15 euros / person), but honestly this was no better than cafeteria fare. Perhaps if you sit outside in warmer weather it would be nicer but I would look elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    261
    91
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Αριδαία, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Epic!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It was an excellent meal in an excellent and warm environment! very good and special taste and very good local wine! Very good staff with climate FAMILY!The affordable prices for italy! BRAVO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Γιώργος Ε
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Pasta and Cheesecake”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The best food that we had during our two week trip in Italy. Pasta, Pizza, Desserts, House Wine were just about perfect. Need I say more !!!! A must for anyone going to Siena.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravi15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Dinner and a show.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our first night in Sienna, Italy for that matter, we found ourselves in the midst of a large gathering of the Oca contrada and while watching from a polite distance we noticed the street seats of the osteria perched on the sloping street and decided to have dinner. We were seated at a small table with 2 others who turned out to be a delightful mother and daughter having a short holiday from Amsterdam.

The servers were friendly and very helpful with the menu, as well as extremely patient with my survival grade Italian. The food was very good and the servers recommendations of local specialties were spot on. We had a wonderful dinner with great company all with the backdrop of the Sienese singing and celebrating at the end of the block.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pasta!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This restaurant has delicious pasta and perfect portions. We did wait a while for our food, however it was very well worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivekpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Chiacchera also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria La Chiacchera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing