We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way.”
Review of Montebuoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montebuoni
Ranked #40 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We rented Due Leoni for a week in May 2010 and were very pleased with our experience. The booking process was smooth and the unit itself was very comfortable and nicer than expected with beautiful views from the terrace, especially those of the sunsets. The restaurant in nearby Lecchi was excellent as well and there is easy access to many other good restaurants within a few miles. There are also shops and grocery stores in nearby towns (Greve and Gaiole) that sell a wide variety of goods. The location of Montebuoni is perfect for touring Chianti. We made daily excursions to the surrounding hill towns, including San Gimignano, Sienna, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Cortona and a few others. It was also an easy drive from Florence, being just over an hour away. We took advantage of a nearby cooking class at Fattoria Corsignano and had a fabulous day with our hosts and the other participants. We also enjoyed a full day private wine tour provided through a company named Dolcechianti; our guide Christina Wespi was an excellent guide; very knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend the day with. The weather can be cool in early May so be sure to bring a warm jacket for the cooler days and evenings. The roads are somewhat twisty in Chianti but fun to drive and the locals are kind and very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soleiltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place is quite a surprise. You approach along a fairly long rough road and finally arrive at a beautifully developed former farm (I am guessing but that is what it looks like) There are a number of different sized apartments and cottages with breathtaking views across the corrugated Tuscan landscape with vineyards in every direction. Despite the size it is so quiet you are almost unaware of other residents, unless you go to the pool which is understandably very popular. The pool area is extremely well appointed and maintained and there are loads of loungers and parasols and a tennis court. Handy for trips to all parts of Chianti-shire, or just great to hang out in the peace and quiet. Definitely do the wine tasting tour- wine and food delicious. Only gripes would be the furnishings were all antique- deliberately so I suppose to fit with the style of the property but really a bit naff and uncomfortable- also no aircon. Poorly equipped for self catering if you wanted to do that. And its a bit of a hike with heavy cases from the car park- there are trolleys but over deep gravel paths- I dont think so. Minor points really as it is a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac60mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We arrived here having been recommended this jewel by other friends. Honestly, this was an amazing place! Secluded, friendly, quiet and beautiful... words really cannot explain how much we enjoyed this break. Perched on a hilltop surrounded by golden valleys full of olive trees and vineyards.

The villa was really comfortable. There was everything we needed and the staff at To Tuscany checked to see if there was anything else we needed. We didn't but their attention to fine detail really impressed me.


We went wine tasting at the local vineyard. The personal style in which the tour was conducted once again made it very special.

We have travelled all over the world on different types of holidays but I can honestly say that this weeklong break is at the top of the pile.

Every time I think about this holiday it brings a smile to my face...

Hope to come back very soon.

Andy & Sally

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This was an excellent place to stay and we had a great time at apartment Bella Vista! We were well looked after by our owner Edward who provided Tennis racketts, a million wine glasses and Sky News, very important when providing news updates to the families we shared our terrace with! The place was so friendly and sociable particuarly around the excellent pool, tennis court and many rocks we fought over to enjoy the amazing views over the Chianti countryside. Trips to Sienna, Radda, Florence and San Gimignano are easily done and an absolute must; look out for the 'Good Coop Directory' from Preston publications to help you on your way! Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks in Il Forno, at Montebuoni...
It was our very first holiday with our little baby, 8 months, and the BEST holiday ever!!
The domain was very pretty, and Florence, Siena, Volterra, Radda, Volpaia,... were all nearby...
The house felt like home, and everything we needed was inside!!
The service was excellent: we had a little problem with the shower suddenly, and the very same day it got fixed!
We enjoyed our meals on our little terrace, while our baby was well asleep inside, and she also slept very well under a tree near the pleasant pool!!
We certainly will come back, and bring friends and family!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed in the Bella Vista apartment in Montebuoni and had an amzing time.
The apartment had everything we needed and Montebuoni itself was set in the ideal location right in the heart of chianti. We did have a car for the week which you'll need if you want to explore the whole area. However, the stunning little town of lecchi in chianti is within 20 mins walking distance so great if you fancy a few glasses of wine with dinner!

I'd also highly recommend going on a tour of the local vineyard (again only 20 mins walk from Montebuoni) where we spent the afternoon tasting wine and eating great food in the owners garden. It really doesnt get much better than that!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We have travelled to Italy for 10 years and Hamlet Montebuoni is our favorite destination. It is centrally located in Chianti making it a great spot from which to make day trips to many small Chianti villages and other Tuscany towns like San Gimignano and Voltera. Siena is only 30 minutes away and Florence about 1 hour. Our two favourite restaurants are in the nearby villages of San Sano and Lecchi. A fantastic spot to relax at or use as a base for touring Tuscany. The only reason I give it less than 5 for service is that there really isn't any service as the accommodation is self catering.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa Veronica
Villa Veronica
#87 of 120 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
4.3 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebuoni

Property: Montebuoni
Address: Lecchi in Chianti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a ridge overlooking the fabulous Tuscan countryside with its olive groves and vineyards, is the undiscovered Chianti Hamlet of Montebuoni. A cluster of privately owned villas and apartments sit amongst olive groves, beautiful planted gardens and courtyards. Montebuoni was once a large estate producing wine and olive oil. It is these original buildings which have been restored and modernised to a very high standard, with shared pool, tennis and internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing