We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a picture perfect location”
Review of Montebuoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montebuoni
Ranked #43 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxation in a picture perfect location”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This was our second visit to the heaven that is Montebuoni. We stayed in a the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa La Stalla. This was a lovely villa, spacious with a huge front terrace. Plenty of space, but found the kitchen / dining layout a little cramped. Lots of couches in the lounge even a sofa bed. The top bedroom had 3 single beds, all very comfortable. The views from the villa were gorgeous. Bonus that all windows had fly screens on them, not all of the villas do. Well equiped with a microwave and dishwasher and washing machine.
Loved being able to order fresh bread and milk to be delivered daily.

The pool is divine, even as the weather was cooling down. Lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas.

Lovely service from the staff, all very helpful and friendly.

Fantastic local villages San Sano and Lecchi had little grocery stores and awesome coffee.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We came back here for a second time. I could not believe how wonderful our return was. Peaceful and idylic but still plenty to see if you want to explore.

We visited 3 towns South of Sienna in one day. All different all beutiful. It was thanks to the staff at Montebuoni who gave us the advice. they could nt not do enough for us and yet we never felt they were there.

It is the small things that matter and I cannot thank To Tuscany enough for arranging this holiday. Thanks again and I we will be back!

Andy & Sally

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in L'Oliveta for 1 week with our 7 year old son. The location is stunning & peaceful - high on a hill top near Lecchi in Chianti yet easily accesible via a good unpaved road. We had an amazing view from the garden of L'Oliveta & enjoyed eating out all our meals on the private terrace. The pool and tennis court & all the communal areas were very well maintained. Although there are about 8 to 10 apartments in the Borga it always felt peaceful & other guests were very friendly. My only suggestion is that the villa could have been better appointed with kitchen utensils & needed more plates, glasses & cutlery so we didn't have to keep running the dishwasher.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We rented Due Leoni for a week in May 2010 and were very pleased with our experience. The booking process was smooth and the unit itself was very comfortable and nicer than expected with beautiful views from the terrace, especially those of the sunsets. The restaurant in nearby Lecchi was excellent as well and there is easy access to many other good restaurants within a few miles. There are also shops and grocery stores in nearby towns (Greve and Gaiole) that sell a wide variety of goods. The location of Montebuoni is perfect for touring Chianti. We made daily excursions to the surrounding hill towns, including San Gimignano, Sienna, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Cortona and a few others. It was also an easy drive from Florence, being just over an hour away. We took advantage of a nearby cooking class at Fattoria Corsignano and had a fabulous day with our hosts and the other participants. We also enjoyed a full day private wine tour provided through a company named Dolcechianti; our guide Christina Wespi was an excellent guide; very knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend the day with. The weather can be cool in early May so be sure to bring a warm jacket for the cooler days and evenings. The roads are somewhat twisty in Chianti but fun to drive and the locals are kind and very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soleiltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place is quite a surprise. You approach along a fairly long rough road and finally arrive at a beautifully developed former farm (I am guessing but that is what it looks like) There are a number of different sized apartments and cottages with breathtaking views across the corrugated Tuscan landscape with vineyards in every direction. Despite the size it is so quiet you are almost unaware of other residents, unless you go to the pool which is understandably very popular. The pool area is extremely well appointed and maintained and there are loads of loungers and parasols and a tennis court. Handy for trips to all parts of Chianti-shire, or just great to hang out in the peace and quiet. Definitely do the wine tasting tour- wine and food delicious. Only gripes would be the furnishings were all antique- deliberately so I suppose to fit with the style of the property but really a bit naff and uncomfortable- also no aircon. Poorly equipped for self catering if you wanted to do that. And its a bit of a hike with heavy cases from the car park- there are trolleys but over deep gravel paths- I dont think so. Minor points really as it is a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac60mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We arrived here having been recommended this jewel by other friends. Honestly, this was an amazing place! Secluded, friendly, quiet and beautiful... words really cannot explain how much we enjoyed this break. Perched on a hilltop surrounded by golden valleys full of olive trees and vineyards.

The villa was really comfortable. There was everything we needed and the staff at To Tuscany checked to see if there was anything else we needed. We didn't but their attention to fine detail really impressed me.


We went wine tasting at the local vineyard. The personal style in which the tour was conducted once again made it very special.

We have travelled all over the world on different types of holidays but I can honestly say that this weeklong break is at the top of the pile.

Every time I think about this holiday it brings a smile to my face...

Hope to come back very soon.

Andy & Sally

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This was an excellent place to stay and we had a great time at apartment Bella Vista! We were well looked after by our owner Edward who provided Tennis racketts, a million wine glasses and Sky News, very important when providing news updates to the families we shared our terrace with! The place was so friendly and sociable particuarly around the excellent pool, tennis court and many rocks we fought over to enjoy the amazing views over the Chianti countryside. Trips to Sienna, Radda, Florence and San Gimignano are easily done and an absolute must; look out for the 'Good Coop Directory' from Preston publications to help you on your way! Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
0.3 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#7 of 12 in Monteriggioni
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa Veronica
Villa Veronica
#87 of 121 in Siena
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,179 reviews
7.3 mi away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
24 reviews
4.3 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebuoni

Property: Montebuoni
Address: Lecchi in Chianti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a ridge overlooking the fabulous Tuscan countryside with its olive groves and vineyards, is the undiscovered Chianti Hamlet of Montebuoni. A cluster of privately owned villas and apartments sit amongst olive groves, beautiful planted gardens and courtyards. Montebuoni was once a large estate producing wine and olive oil. It is these original buildings which have been restored and modernised to a very high standard, with shared pool, tennis and internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing