We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
Ranked #70 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

OK so there are a lot of steps to climb. But our room was very attractive and we appreciated having our breakfast brought to our balcony every morning. We found out later in the week that we could enter from another street and save at least one bunch of stairs and that helped. We were in a great location and the people at the hotel helped us arrange for two tours. We appreciated that. No AC but there was WiFi. We slept fine with the balcony doors open. Very sweet hotel. I felt like we were staying in a castle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location! Really cool atmosphere with complicated winding corridors and staircases :) Staff seemed really hurried all the time but pleasant enough. The breakfast that was included was very basic but the coffee was great. When you drop your bags off try not to get lost in the old city streets… we did and ended up in a small square and waiting for a parade to go by :) what an adventure :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were very disappointed with state of room (No.1) Bed was comfortable and clean but bathroom left a lot to be desired. Difficult to use shower as doors were loose and grimy around bottom - no soap (5 shower cap packets!) water sometimes very hot or lukewarm. The fridge had 1/2 opened tin of fish and 2 old yogurts left in it. The whole room needed bit of tender loving care. Not cleaned every day. Staff were very good, but would not stay there again or recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Found the hotel online while sitting in a gelateria just off the main square and decided to walk the four minutes over instead of calling. The proprietor was amazingly kind and energetic, touring us around the property, letting us chose a room, offering us a great price for the room and helping us get our car into the city to drop off bags then back to a suitable public parking area. She even set us up with trays of plates, flatware and glasses so we could have a picnic dinner in the garden and the neighborhood /contrada/ celebrated in the street below. In the morning we were greeted with a spread of breakfast and cappuccinos delivered to our rooms!
It is a historic building (or, really, parts of three historic buildings), with some grand spaces and tight staircases. Our room (#3) had an amazing ceiling fresco of putti, and a small bathroom tucked in the corner (per historical preservation restrictions). There are an number of sitting rooms with other frescoes, as well as the garden and a terrace. No elevator, so not for the handicapped or those traveling with heavy luggage. Very central to the top places in Siena, but on a quieter street. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character; consider asking for one higher up if you'd like a view. Note t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

for me it was a real pleasure to have you as our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. I arrived when reception was closed but my key was left ready for me. I loved the quirky decor. It was a little awkward to get my bag up the narrow stairs. There's a delightful terrace with garden. The rooms were spacious and quiet. It is a very convenient walk the duomo and the campo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We got to Siena late at night, got on a wrong bus which's did not take us straight but roamed around on the hills for one hour. Dragged the bags uphill in the city. Got to the hotel at 9.
Here...the door locked.
After a moment of panic, I see an envelope with my name glued to the door. I open it. Inside a letter and a key.
Nobody sleeps there at night. We need to open and look for an envelope on the desk. We find it. Another set of keys. One is for our room, the others for a secondary entrance.
The villa is empty. Huge, tall, old and empty. It's a 15th century beautiful pallazzo of sorts but no one inside. No one.
We start exploring. My sister is freaked. We find large halls and waiting rooms with antique furniture and high ceilings, paintings and old book cases. Everything is beautiful.
We go up on all 3 floors. A lovely terrace on the 1st floor looks gloomy in the strange light of the lamp posts. We needed two glasses of prosecco to be able to sleep the first night and felt like we were in the first 15 minutes of a freaky horror movies. And it was exhilarating.
The morning came with sun shining through the golden curtains, a lovely breakfast on the terrace and one of the most picturesque locations I have ever slept in.
It was a lovely stay and a wonderful memory to last a lifetime :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The first thing I experienced, arriving at Il Casato D'Epoca was peace. The hotel is placed in an old monastery, and the atmosphere was just so peacefull and calmning. The decor is pretty, with a lot of old stuff, and imitations of art from famous artists as Botticelli and Da Vinci. Our room had no Real aircondition, but we handled it. The hotel is near to everything in Siena. Especially the Campo, which is just 4 minutes away. The woman at the counter was so nice! From the first Day, she drew a map for us, to get around in the City. She laughed a lot, and made a good mood for all of us. The breakfast is served at your room, and that works so Well.
We would like to go back to Il Casato D'Epoca! :D

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
0.1 mi away
Camere d'Epoca
Camere d'Epoca
#58 of 125 in Siena
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Quattro Cantoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Address: Via Giovanni Dupre' 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il casato b & b is in the heart of siena close to the famous piazza del campo and the magnificent gothic cathedral which dominates the most' old city. All rooms are furnished with care and private bathroom, mini bar, safe casset, telephone ,cable tv, wifi.Into the palace there is a romantic garden overlooked by almost all rooms, some with private terrace.Is a great place to spend your free time in siena, to studies, to job, to discover the history or just go for walks through the narrow streets of the city. You can forget the car because we are two steps from aroundchildren are welcome.And if travel with dogs or cats you will find always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casato Residenza d` Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing