We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a restaurant ought to be!”
Review of Il Campaccio

Il Campaccio
Ranked #79 of 530 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: After a lot of workings a new management in one of the most beautiful corners of Siena. A small courtyard which is accessed through a small gate in Vicolo del Campaccio 2, next to the Sanctuary of Santa Caterina, will take you on a culinary journey in the name of tradition and modernity. Two young people with a great desire to experiment and invent propose a local and well taken bistrot with a various menu changing with the seasons. A lot of fish (always fresh) but also great meat, pasta and homemade bread, sweet temptations in name of quality. Self-production and looking for products strictly from our own organic and sustainable.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a restaurant ought to be!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have dined here before, in 2011. When I returned to Siena in March 2014, I went right back to Osteria il Campaccio. It is small, intimate place. The street is more of an alley, and you enter the restaurant through an iron gate in the stone wall and descend a flight of stone steps. In warmer weather, sit in a delightful courtyard which has about 10 place settings. lndoor seating, I'm guessing another 20 place settings, has some wonderful nooks with intimate tables. With a party of 10, we were able to share quite a few dishes for the primi piatti. All the secundi piatti were prepared perfectly. The house wines in caraffes were wonderful. The Sienese classic of "pici" pasta with the creamy cheese and black pepper sauce was my choice. Don't hesitate for a minute. Treat yourself to great ambience, great service, and of course, what its all about, great food. Buon appetito.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank homecook157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    81
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Siena”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've been looking for a place to have dinner at on a Saturday night and suddenly we found this hidden Osteria nearby the monastery of Santa Caterina.
The place itself is tiny and cosy. The waitress (Grazia) was nice and prepared, promptly answered all of our queries and went through a list of very good wines, through which we opted for one of the best Chianti I've ever had.
The cuisine is entirely made of typical Sienese dishes among which I would suggest the pappardelle with wild boar ragu, pici pasta with black pepper and cheese or the wild boar stew with polenta.

As the sign at the entrance says: "The difference between a typical restaurant and a Sienese restaurant"...enough said.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GLUTEN FREE, authentic, hidden gem!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My Mother & I stayed at Hotel Alma Domus & were willing to venture anywhere in the city for a chance to enjoy gluten free pizza. Osteria il Campaccio is a hidden gem just around the corner!! The staff was INCREDIBLE. Friendly, accommodating, & eager to ensure we had a wonderful experience. The pizza was fantastic - better than any we've found in the states. Handmade by a chef who suffers from Celiac Disease. We made reservations to return the next day for tiramisu & pizzas prepared just for us!! The experience will be our favorite from our time in Siena! Spread the word - it's too special to keep to ourselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfareproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better for meat eaters than vegetarians”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

November visit. We were the only customers. Small place. Friendly. Atmosphere would probably be better with more diners. Radio was playing a football match commentary, which interfered with conversation at times. Food for meat eaters was great. For vegetarians/fish eaters, options on secondi piatti were very restricted. A good rustic pleasant meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We walked by this restaurant several times and were intrigued by the menu. We had dinner and were very impressed with the quality of the food in such a tiny place. The pear and pecorino pasta was delicious!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Campaccio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Campaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing