We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant holiday at Vignale”
Review of Vignale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vignale
Ranked #52 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
UK
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another brilliant holiday at Vignale”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Have just returned from two weeks at Vignale. Everything was equally as good as my previous review, nothing having deteriorated or got scruffy during the year, and we thought the road up to the hamlet was actually in better shape than last year.

This year we appreciated even more how central this location is for exploring Tuscany. We caught the train from Montevarchi to Florence, which was very easy. There are some beautiful, ancient hilltop villages in the surrounding areas all serving delicious homemade meals at very reasonable prices or you can go bang up to date (well last season's anyway) at the designer outlets.

Going back again next year as my two early teenaged daughters wouldn't let me book anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed for a week at Vin Santo, one of the six apartments (although they are more like separate houses, some attached, some completely detached) in August and it was absolutely wonderful.

The location was excellent for visiting the rest of Tuscany (1 hour to Florence, 30 min to Siena, 1.5 hours to Montepulciano, etc).

The hamlet was arranged in such a way to give everyone at least one private terrace with great views. Although we were attached to the other properties we never felt we were overlooked by our neighbours; the gardens now having matured much more than the earlier photos shown on the website. The infinity pool was beautiful and had 180 degree plus views over the Chianti vines and olive groves. Good quality sunloungers and never a fight to get one.

Our accommodation was spotless, light and airy. We had two private terraces, one with a great barbecue; so we could enjoy the shade at different times of the day. There was enough cutlery, crockery, etc to have one load in the dishwasher and still one load to use. A huge fridge and small freezer. Satellite TV and even free WIFI if you required it. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom with a powerful shower. The bedding and towels were of a high standard. Beds were really comfortable. There were mosquito nets at all windows.

A nice touch was a bottle of wine from the owners to welcome us, along with some useful and interesting information about where to visit and how the accommodation was built. You felt like you were staying in a place that mattered to someone and wasn't just a source of income for them.

The only (small) drawback was the access, which was up a very steep and bumpy gravel track. We hired a Fiat Punto, which is quite low slung, and there were some clunks on the way down! That said, it was never a problem, if you keep it in first and don't meet anyone on the last section.

I absolutely loved the place. I had very high expectations and these were exceeded. Like the title says, I wish I were still there. Will probably be next year, but for two weeks this time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This is a unique place at a unique location. The property has all the comfort you desire, yet it is built on a 1000yr old foundation with lots of it original characteristics still present. Being on business, the location (i.e. on a hill, in the midst of vineyards), gave a completely different feel to the work to be done...it all felt easier and more fun. While it it a quiet place, ideally to relax., being located in the heart of Toscane..within ten minutes there are many interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdeprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Great spot with outstanding views high in the hills of the Chianti region. The accommodations are very comfortable and the big, open kitchen/LR became the place the four of us hung out. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very comfortable, with king size beds.

The location is a bit removed from the nearest village but that is part of it's charm. It served as a great base for touring Chianti and visits to Siena.

There are excellent local restaurants, particularly Grotto di la Rana and Malborghetto in neighboring villages, and Radda is only 10 minutes away for shopping and more dining.

Overall we spent a great three weeks there.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank napafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
7.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
10.4 mi away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
24 reviews
9.2 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
6.6 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignale

Property: Vignale
Address: Location Vignale | 53010 Gaiole in Chianti (SI), 53010, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vignale is a small hamlet found on top of a Chianti hill that gives it the luxury of a stunning view all around. Within a short drive there are three of the five famous Chianti towns: Castellina, Radda and Gaiole. Vignale was lovingly restored in 2002, creating an ancient hamlet with luxury accommodations that have every modern convenience. The large pool sits on the crest of the hill overlooking the vineyards in the valley below. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing