We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So pretty and clean, but far away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Siena Hostel Guidoriccio
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So pretty and clean, but far away”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay! Perhaps another shower in the dorm would have been nice, but it was fine. Breakfast was delicious, and free. I wish we could have stayed longer. There was a garden below, the rooms were spacious, they gave us locks for our closets, and it was very clean. The only downside was that it was somewhat far away, but public transportation was not too hard to navigate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yotekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    99
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
47
90
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hostel itself is very nice - big and clean and comfortable. But it's so far from Siena that I don't think it's even worth going to Siena if your only option for accomodation is this hostel. The buses run semi-frequently, but less so at night, so it's a bit risky to go into town in the evening. (Plus, the buses and stops are not totally intuitive.) So at night, you're basically stuck out in the 'burbs. It's about an hour walk from the centre.

I fortunately ran into friends at this hostel. If I hadn't, I probably would have been a bit miserable stuck out here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasasa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's a massive hostel, so already some of the charm is lost with its sheer size. And despite how many beds they have, it seems like a ghost hostel with nothing but slamming doors.
Its bright in the public areas and it's clean... But the rooms (at least the twin private) are sterile and cold - like a prison cell - though reasonably well equipped but the floor is all tile (it feels like a renovated bathroom) and the room door is like that of a bunker or safe - heavy and thick - and all you hear is the constant slamming of doors in the hallway at night & the echo it makes as it resonates around the room meaning it was a mission to get any sleep.

No welcome drink offered as advertised on website.

Breakfast is poor & unimaginative and by no means filling or nutritional. We had no choice or food selection, but given a doughnut and packet of biscuits. We were lucky to get a second serve of coffee/tea though were quickly ushered out of the dining area at 1030am so they could mop the floor, though there was plenty of other floor yet to mop before getting to the area we were in.

A few staff were friendly and helpful though 2 of the male staff were rude and argumentative For example, today I asked one man who was constantly letting the bedroom doors bang shut while cleaning to please shut the doors gently, he shrugged, mumbled something under his breath and then his mate came out of the room in a very aggressive manner.

Wifi - pretty good in all areas of the hostel though had a few glitches from time to time.. But this might have just been my device.

Kitchen facilities - what kitchen? A kitchen is a fundamental part of any hostel for budget-Style backpackers.. And this hostel had none, not even any utensils/plates etc to offer. There is a fridge for guests to use, but I can't imagine it would be big enough to house food for everyone in the hight of summer when the hostel is full.

Lounging areas in the common area of first floor is comfortable and welcoming with nice lighting as is the area on the second floor. Nice view of hillside from the terrace on third floor.

Hostel well serviced by bus route arriving and stopping directly out the front.
This is not my ideal hostel but the only option for Siena. I believe it is a lot of money for a budget traveller to pay, but it might be the cheapest accommodation in this area.

Room Tip: Take a bed in a dorm room. It is on the third floor and much quieter & cheaper. Dorms seem to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploraO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The service is the key word here. They were all sooo friendly and willing to help out at this hostel - a couple of the men were even a sight for sore eyes :-P

The doors in the corridor outside our room seemed to have no springs and banged shut everytime someone left a room! The room was very average and the breakfast, well what can I say, I bought my own teabags, bread and toppings and had a feast because a cup of weak tea and a cold croissant just doesn't do it for me. Also, we didn't realise until after we bought our groceries on our first night that there is in fact no kitchen available.

However... despite all these drawbacks the friendly staff made our two-day stay in Siena very enjoyable, their rates were very good and we left happy :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My friend and I had a great stay at this hostel. It was clean, the people at the front desk were super friendly and helpful, and it was a very affordable price. We stayed in a private 2 bed room, and while it was small, there was a sink in the room, a nice big window, and definitely enough space for 2 people. The only slight inconvenience is the location, since you have to take a bus to and from Siena, but for the price and cleanliness of the hostel, I think it was worth it.
There was a common bathroom on the floor, but it was the nicest I've ever been to in a hostel- each stall was like a mini room with a toilet and sink.
And breakfast was included, which was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Marco, Alessandro & Leonardo (front desk clerk, general manager & concierge) always greeted us with a smile. Every day they made sure we were happy with our accomodations. They highlighted points of interest on the map, so we could find things easily. They arranged taxi service so we would stay on our agenda. The hostel\hotel was clean and safe, with crispy white sheets. They included a continental breakfast that was quite sufficient. We had home made croissants with nutella and other jams along with juice or cappuccino.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#22 of 40 in Siena
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
227 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Sant' Andrea
Villa Sant' Andrea
#17 of 85 in Siena
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camping Siena Colleverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hostel Guidoriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hostel Guidoriccio

Property: Siena Hostel Guidoriccio
Address: Via Fiorentina 89, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siena Hostel is the first and only hostel in the city of Siena. Since 30 years the hostel is an institution for all travellers who come to visit the wonderful town of Siena. After two years of closure, Siena Hostel reopen with a brand new style!Siena Hostel is a warm and friendly hostel that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We like to serve our guests with passion because we love our jobs: tuscany is a good place to stay... and to work!The hostel has 46 rooms, equipped with latex mattresses and wooden slats. Each room also has a wash basin. Sheets and linen are included.Bathrooms are located on floors and all with hot shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siena Hostel Guidoriccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing