We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal”

La Compagnia dei Vinattieri
Ranked #25 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$61
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ristorante enoteca nel centro di Siena
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We did the tasting menu which included; Presecco, appetizers (3/person), two first courses (pastas), a main beef course, and dessert medley (3 items).

The charge was €40 without three wines and €50 with three wines. We did the wine option
They kept coming back to refill our wine glasses. One got Prosecco with either selection.

You had the option of selecting any of the first and second course items..we let the chef pick and were quite pleased.

Great service and excellent/extensive wine selection.

There was a €5 service charge added....our bill was €100.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiken82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    260
    63
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
239 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“nothing to dream about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was advised by some friends to go to this restaurant in the old Siena, unfortunately we were vey upset about a menu that had nothing to do with Tuscan flavors. They try some sort of "Nouvelle Cuisine" with a relatively bad taste, the lamb was smelly and very heavy, the pasta so,so and overall not a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,528 reviews
835 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Nice WIne !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The restaurant was underground and looked the cave of wine, and the atmosphere was casual and nice. The ham and mozzorela were nicest for me, but the best one for myself was red wine, Brunello di Montalcino 2007. I had tried this wine four times during my stay in Toscana, but the wine here was the best. They had a lot of wines and it is worth of visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Charming restaurant in a basement. High quality food with excellent service. We took the menu with adapted wines and had a delicious meal with exellent wines. Definitely worth visiting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filiep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

nice place, cozy atmosphere, tasteful dishes and desserts. try the pastas with taleggio cheese... great wine selection

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merlot527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Compagnia dei Vinattieri also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Compagnia dei Vinattieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing