We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, fabulous innovative food, incredible wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Compagnia dei Vinattieri

La Compagnia dei Vinattieri
Ranked #23 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$61
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ristorante enoteca nel centro di Siena
Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
564 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, fabulous innovative food, incredible wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cozy and warm setting, great stuff, central location, reasonable price. But it is the wine list and the food that makes this restaurants a gem. The food is an innovative rendering of mostly Tuscan food and a few other parts of Italy. There are superb appetizers and half a dozen pastas and a similar number of main dishes. There are also several courses menu which we didn't try. Everything we had was accurately prepared and superbly presented. The wine list is truly outstanding with hundreds offering of Chianti, Brunello, Vino Nobile, SuperToscana and Sagrantino. The staff is knowledgeable, professional and eager to please. A superb restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    252
    63
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Siena Lunch and Amazing Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I came here at the recommendation of Costanza of Siena Walking Tours. She recommended a local Sienese dish which was basically a pork ravioli with pesto. I also added a plate of local cheeses, Assaggi Di Pecorino Toscano, and a glass of Chianti Classico. The food was delicious and while servings were not huge, I was completely full. A highlight was the underground wine cellar which our waitress graciously allowed us to visit. It contained hundreds of bottles of wine from throughout the region. I would definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our favorite resitorante in Siena!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The staff is incredibly welcoming and we had a wonderful dining experience! We walked in without a reservation and the staff accommodated us as best they could. Because we loved the romantic feel of the restaurant we decided to make a reservation and come back the following night for my husband's birthday. The wine and food delicious and the service exceptional. Thank you for making my husband's birthday so memorable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riverrat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for wine lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Dined in July 2013. We had a reservation at 8:00 but found ourselves hunger earlier. We arrived at the restaurant around 7:30, and they were just opening but were happy to accomodate us. From the moment we sat down, we were treated like family. From the opening glass of Prosecco to the delicious dessert, we had a fantastic time. The restaurant is charming, the service is great, and the filet is one of the best cuts of beef I had on our trip. I highly recommend a visit if you are in Siena.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, good food and great wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our romantic dinner here. The ambiance of the restaurant is really very nice. We were welcomed graciously and it felt festive when the Prosecco and chef's amuse bouche arrived. The pasta was excellent. My husband adored his duck entree but mine beef was too salty. When I mentioned this to the waitress at the end of the evening she was extremely polite, thanked me for mentioning it to her and said she would relay the message to the chef. Also the owner passed by our table asking us how we enjoyed our meal and we appreciated his personal interest. The wine list is fabulous...(this is an enoteca). (I would recommend they put some work into improving their website....the English is not correct and therefore doesn't make sense and there is no menu.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andiamo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Compagnia dei Vinattieri also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Compagnia dei Vinattieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing