We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
Ranked #14 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

In the middle of the famous and well known breath taking view of Tuscany, stands signora Mariangela's agritourism. We arrived there after 5 days in Italy: Venice, Reggi Emilia, 5 terra, La spezia. A long and enjoyable drive, but we really needed the rest. It was the right place for that matter. The place is beautiful clean and well kept. It has a nice swimming pool with a large green grass surrounding with several different types of fruit trees (like lemons, Figs, Apple and more). The area is not only beautiful it's also surrounded with plenty of small picturesque villages with nice and friendly people.
For laundry there are two options- just have use of the machine and hang the laundry by yourself – 5 euros or have them hanged and ironed for an extra fee. We bought our own food and cooked because this is something we like to do, but there is an option for breakfast.
We stayed in a spacious apartment, very well decorated and it had a real Tuscan atmosphere. There is a lot care for details.
There is a high sense of privacy and safety, due to the fact that the property is gated.
I would recommend this place for couples and families.
The only drawback was that the free internet was available only in certain places outside in the courtyard and not in the building. It took us time to come to that realization and that was a pity. Furthermore if the weather is no always agreeable – it might not always be comfortable to sit outside for "getting in touch" with the world.
We left the place for Florence with a lot of sorrow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank droshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Best choice we made in our tour of Tuscany just sad we only stayed here 2 nights! The service is exceptional - we had no problem in checking out late. Rooms have WiFi, clean and well placed. Lovely swimming pool with stunning views. Honestly couldn't ask for more.

Normally we stay in city hotels but this was by far the better option although obviously a car is needed. There is a supermarket nearby as well as a good restaurant if you don't fancy venturing into Siena.

Highly recommended there's a reason its got 5 stars on tripadvisor.....

Room Tip: Stay 2 or more nights and get a room with a kitchen and patio at no extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfishZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've stayed in the agriturismo with my family the first week of August and i've been excited with the hospitality of the owners! it was a peacefull place in the nature..with all the convieniences that anyone can ask to his vacacions. Poggiarello is situated in the heart of Tuscany,a few minutes by car from Siena!the rooms were clean,quiet and spacious,they had a lovely pool with great panoramic view to Siena city..and the owners really made us feel like home!the breakfast was great (all homemade stuff!),they have a lovely farm with ducks,chickens and other animals and they were glad to make us a ''tour'' in all of them :) i strongly reccomend it..and i hope to return there soon !! :)
Greetings from Athens!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The location is great for exploring Tuscani.
The rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast- simple but very tasty and satisfying.
My cons: I missed the personal touch as well as the home/agroturismo feeling.
The swiming pool is well maintained but if you have bad luck some nasty families can ruin your stay there.
Unfortunately there is no option for lunch or dinner and this was a bit disappointing for us.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This agriturismo is perfect. We stayed for only one night, but we wish we could have stayed much longer. The owner, Mariangela, goes out of her way to make you feel at home. She even drove us into the city in her personal car the next morning when she found out that we were planning to take the bus.
The pool is gorgeous and big enough for many people to use at once without feeling crowded. The location of this farm is fantastic, right in the middle of Tuscan countryside, but also a 25 minute drive from the city of Siena.
I would have stayed for much longer had I known how great it would be!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graderstorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Very nice and quiet location. Extremely friendly and with love for animals ! Very clean swimming pool with view on Siena.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our stay was great. Beautiful location, wonderful hostess, what more could you ask for?
The rooms are delightful- nicely appointed with a private bathroom. The view from my room was so relaxing. Mariangela has managed to make this farm a wonderful retreat. She provides such a nice friendly accommodation. The flora and fauna are amazing, the pool and little lake so refreshing. My friends and I were delighted by it all! (and I am Italian, so not impressed easily!) I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ialianaromana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#19 of 85 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#28 of 85 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Sant' Andrea
Villa Sant' Andrea
#16 of 85 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Renaccino
Agriturismo Renaccino
#11 of 85 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Poggiarello

Property: Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
Address: Strada di Fogliano 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORKING FARMThe Agriturismo is made up of one main building with other separate independent buildings all which are based on a small hill that allows you to see the amazing view of Siena and the typical Tuscan countryside. The apartments have been restructured from old stables and out-houses, while the rooms have been built from the Casa Calonica (the old farm-house). The farm has traceable origins from 1600. It was the old threshing - floor used for straw and wheat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing