We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Exceeded all Expectations! Bravo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Far Exceeded all Expectations! Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I will start by saying that we are seasoned travelers and stay at luxury hotels all over the world. This place is absolutely outstanding. What makes a great hotel is when they get the small things right. That's what makes this place special. The owners Mario & Elizabetta were fantastic host full of enthusiasm and provided all the information that one would want to explore Tuscany. The hotel's website does not do this place justice. We were two Australian couples celebrating our anniversaries and used this place as a base to explore Tuscany. Now first on the place it self. The rooms are beautifully furnished with comfortable mattresses and pillows (a bit of a rarity in Italy even in 5 star). The shower is strong and fantastic. They are good sized rooms. The farmhouse has been beautifully restored. The swimming pool sits in beautifully manicured gardens. The setting is amazing with rolling Tuscan countryside looking onto Siena. Breakfast is plentiful with drinks and snacks provided for the guests all day. There is free Wifi also. Mario had a fully library at hand plus colour maps to provide advice. We really enjoyed engaging with the owners and the other guests. There is one negative of this place........YOU HAVE TO LEAVE.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
513
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Aia Mattonata was the most wonderful and memorable part of our 11 day trip! We stayed there three nights and wished we could have stayed longer! Mario and Elisabetta are amazing - they take great pride in sharing their fabulous home and go the extra mile to make their guests feel a part of it. The A.M. is less than 5 minutes away from the town of Siena (by car) set among vineyards on rolling hills. Plus it is located in the heart of Tuscany which allowed us to visit several of the wonderful towns throughout the area. This was our first experience in Tuscany and it was exactly as we had dreamed it to be!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KYbaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Having just returned from a wonderful trip in North & Central Italy, I wanted to cite for special commendation a delightful bed & breakfast in Tuscany-- the Aia Mattonata Relais. This Relais is housed in an old farmhouse that has been carefully and lovingly restored by the owners, Mario and Elizabetta, and is only a about 15 minutes away from the historical center of Siena. Both members of this husband and wife team are excellent hosts; warm, welcoming, and always ready to provide useful and knowledgeable advice about local restaurants or the wide variety of attractions in Siena and the surrounding countryside. If you have arrived by car, I advise you to ask Mario for the map and itinerary of a motor tour of southern Tuscany that he has prepared specially for his guests. Both my wife and found it to be among the most enjoyable and beautiful car trips that we have ever gone on-- in Italy or anywhere else. Equally enjoyable was a restaurant run by friends of Mario and Elizabetta near the the old town of Siena-- the Sotto le Fonti-- where one can enjoy many Tuscan specialties at reasonable prices in a pleasant tavern like atmosphere.

Our room at the Aia was bright and airy, with a lovely view . It was very tastefully furnished and came fully equipped with a host of modern amenities . Breakfasts were always delicious and featured, besides juices, various cold cereals, yogurt and other typical items, a very ample selection of cheeses, cured meats and delicious pastries and deserts. In nice weather, guests can dine al fresco on the back patio which looks out on an absolutely spectacular view of the Tuscan countryside facing toward medieval Siena. Sitting in this lovely spot is a truly extraordinary way to start a day or, for that matter, to end it sipping a good Tuscan red and watcing the sun set over the hillside

We spent three very happy days at the Aia Mattonata. Hopefully we will have the chance to return and to stay a bit longer

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeedala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gun Barrel City, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I can see why this place won the Trip Advisor 2011 award and well deserves it. It is in a rural area outside of Siena, but easy to get to the roads leading to all the Tuscany areas. The patio overlooks the skyline of Siena and it is very quiet and peaceful. I can’t imagine how much money the owners have put into the place to make it what it is now. It was an old farmhouse (the hotel) with an adjacent barn, storage (their house now). It has a pool (too early for that), spa (can give massages), and hot tub room (which was great after sightseeing), lovely linens, towels, etc. – first class all the way. The breakfasts were lovely. We ate breakfast on the patio all but one day. There were 2 other American couples there (only 5 rooms) so every morning we told about what we did the day before and what we planned to do that day. There were also French, Swedish, German while we were there. The owners speak several languages and will help you find restaurants, maps, and even a lavenderia when I needed to wash clothes. You can keep food in the little guest icebox in the dining area and drinks/water are always available for guests. The rooms are not extra large but nice and quiet and have lovely beds, pillows, etc. Showers are large enough for Americans! We really enjoyed our stay and would return if we are lucky enough to get back to Italy.

Room Tip: Get room on the second floor not by kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cclgbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel for just over a week April / May 2011. I must admit I was a little skeptical after reading all the reviews – how could Aia Mattonata be that good? If anything the reviews understate the excellent treatment that we received during our stay.
Mario and Elizabetta are very gracious hosts.
Prior to our trip we had already planned our basic itinerary and Mario supplemented those plans with excellent suggestions together with maps and directions.
In addition we were provided with restaurant recommendations and these suggestions were refined during the week based upon our feedback. Mario also made the reservations for us.
The hotel itself was spotless and the room was great – very tastefully decorated. All the equipment and fittings were top grade.
Elizabetta put together an excellent breakfast each morning and, weather permitting, could be enjoyed out on the patio with a beautiful view of Siena and the surrounding countryside.
I would thoughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Go here-it is wonderful. We had superb, personalised service, a comfortable room with everything we needed provided, good travel and tourist advice, complementary bubbly and cakes on my husband's birthday and above all a very warm welcome from Elisabetta and Mario. The whole place is equipped to a very high standard and the spa is spotless and luxurious. I stayed in a very expensive five star hotel in Madrid the following week and it came nowhere near Aia Mattonata in terms of room comfort or food - oh and the custard dougnuts served at breakfast (!!) are the best - leave your diet at home.

Room Tip: ground floor room might be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Aia Mattonata for three nights and were really sad to leave. Mario and Elisabetta are the perfect hosts. They make you feel like a house guest instead of a hotel guest.They are warm and friendly and happy to answer any questions that you may have. Mario helps you plan your itinerary and provides you with maps and suggests scenic driving routes. Elisabetta observes your food preferences at breakfast and tries adjust the menu accordingly. For example, she noticed that I like the apricot filled croissants so she made extra ones the next morning and also made an apricot tart for breakfast the last morning I was there.
Our room was so charming and bright and cheerful. We had a large bathroom with plenty of space to put our toiletries. A bottle of water is provided on the night table next to your bed and drinks and snacks are provided all day in the kitchen for guests. In nice weather, breakfast is served outside on the patio with a great view of Siena.
Of the five hotels that we stayed at during our 10 day vacation in Italy, this was our favorite. I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Mario and Elisabetta for making our stay with you so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing