We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience in many ways”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First, If you are interested in exploring Tuscany, the location of Aia Mattonata Relais is ideal. All of our Tuscany destinations were within easy day trips driving. And, the driving was spectacular. Around every corner and over every hill the scenery was amazing. Second, the accommodations at Aia Mattonata were brilliant. An amazing combination of modern conveniences within a historic rural Tuscan environment. Yet, close enough to Sienna for anything from wonderful dinners to cleaning cloths. Third and most important, the Aia Mattonata is all about Mario and Elisabetta. They are the most genuine and sincere hosts you could ever imagine. Mario's advice for driving routes and destination points allowed us to experience Tuscany exactly as we wanted. Elisabetta's attention and concern of every detail of our stay was heart warming. It was difficult leaving, but left with wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has unbelievable views of Tuscan Countryside and Sienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear gasa1956,
thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. So nice to read that you enjoyed Aia Mattonata. Thank so much for your kind words about Elisabetta and me. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
538
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having read the Tripadvisor reviews we were expecting something very special. We hadn't been able to book any of their rooms so booked the still available suite. At over $750 for 2 nights B&B (in our opinion, this is a B&B not an hotel) this was pretty much on a par with luxury boutique hotels rooms we had stayed in while in Florence and Milan. AMR is a 5-10 minute drive into Siena and from the recommended car park an easy ride up the escalator system into the historic centre. Arriving at AMR is a pleasant experience - auto gates into the car park and then through the garden past the pool into reception. We were expecting something with a little more charm from an ancient restored farm-house but it is renovated rather than restored. Up we went to our room with high expectations of the suite luxury that awaited us. The rooms on the website had looked enchanting. Into the suite we went and thought we had wandered into grandma's retreat. The bedroom was small with very little room for any luggage. The bathroom was a window-less "corridor" with a single basin and a tiny shower - no room for two in here. Bathroom products were what you would find in a 3 star motel and not befitting of the luxury moniker AMR had attached to itself. The sitting room of the "suite" was also in the small category and furnished for grandma. This was where we put our luggage. We were extremely disappointed by the size and decor of the suite and when we saw two of the other very nice upstairs rooms on the morning of our departure we couldn't believe that we were being asked to pay so much for so little. Breakfast is a pleasant affair and the hosts are a lovely couple. Siena may be an expensive place to stay but even taking this into account we still left feeling very strongly that value for money played no part in our two nights here in the AMR suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear yungkara,
thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We greatly appreciate your comments.
We are really sorry you didn't like the room viewing Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Shores
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3-day stay at Aia Mattonata. The place is beautifully decorated and comfortable. Mario and Elisabetta are delightful and helpful in every way.

Our first experience with Mario was when he rescued us from the train station. We had arrived by train and then walked to our rental car place nearby. We tried to drive to Aia Mattonata using Google maps, but it was a disaster - we were hopelessly caught in the labyrinth of Sienese streets and barely found our way to the train station, where we called Mario in desperation. He hopped on his motorcycle and then led us to the B&B. We felt stupid since Aia Mattonata is only 10 minutes away, but it is truly difficult to navigate some of the round-abouts if you don't know which destinations on the signs to follow.

You will need a car to get around, since it is located in the hills outside of Siena. The B&B serves only breakfast, but Mario recommended an Osteria about 6 miles up the road, where we had delicious local dishes, (including an incredible roasted chicken with sweet and sour cipolline - tiny onions - that we are now trying to replicate at home). He also recommended a more formal restaurant in Siena, Da Divo, where we had a superb meal with friends.

The morning breakfast buffet is generous, with fruit, home-baked tarts and bread, cheese, meats, and an egg frittata. There is a large kitchen where the hosts have put out snacks, fresh fruit, tea and coffee that you can access at any time during your stay.

The view of Siena from Aia Mattonata is lovely (see photo).

Room Tip: I read that the room on the ground floor near the kitchen is noisy. It was very quiet on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyItalophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Amyitalophile,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the place, our breakfast, the view and that we were able to help you with our advices.
We all can imagine how it's stressful to drive in an unknown city, for this reason it's a great pleasure to help our guests when they are in trouble with the car.
We do hope to meet you again in Siena.
Kind regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just returned from 3 weeks in Italy and finished up with a wonderful 7 days in the Siena area. As so many other reviewers have noted the team of Mario and Elisabetta were beyond gracious hosts. Within 15 minutes of our arrival Mario helped put a full week's itinerary together for us based on his extensive knowledge of the area. Restaurants, day trips...including a private bike tour and guide were all taken care of. Located just a 5 minute drive from Siena meant going in for dinners was very easy. The breakfasts each morning were excellent. It was the best possible way to complete our trip - thanks again Mario & Elisabetta!! We would strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Oakfamilytravelers,
thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.
We are delighted that we were able to help you with our itineraries and our advices and that you enjoyed our breakfast.
Thank you for strongly recommending Aia Mattonata!
We do hope to meet you again in Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Aia Mattonata is one of those hotels where you feel like you are home every time you come back from your busy day. The owners/managers are the friendliest people we have met on our travels to Italy and the property is beautiful. The location is also perfect to see Siena but also as a central location to see all the best villages in Tuscany. We can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Bull-Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review and for your kind words about us.
We are so glad to read that you felt like at home and that you liked the property and the location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I found Aia Mattonata on Trip Advisor back in January and all the positive reviews are very true! I have only great things to say. My mother and I came for a week to celebrate her 60th birthday and we were blown away by Mario and Elisabetta's hospitality and kindness. Before we even arrived I exchanged several emails with Mario to ask questions and he gave me great advice and helped with the planning process.

My Mom and I have to eat gluten free and are used to having to bring our own snacks and eating out is sometimes a pain, but Elisabetta had prepared an entire basket of gluten free items for us to eat for breakfast to eat during snack times or when we chose to eat dinner at the hotel. We were so happy! There is a nearby deli where you can pick up cheeses, veggies, wine, meats, etc and make your own dinner at Aia Mattonata. We found this a great way to relax and plus eating out every meal gets exhausting and expensive. Like some other guests have said, they have a mini fridge that you can use to put in any food you may want to have during your stay plus there are an array of snacks available, a kettle for tea and coffee and many other options if you get hungry between meals. I've never experienced this at a hotel and thought it was so nice! The breakfast each morning is a huge spread of eggs, meats, cheese, cereals, breads, pastries, veggies, fresh fruit, coffee, etc. I couldn't have asked for anything more.

Our room was on the main floor right outside the kitchen so we were worried that it may be noisy, but the other guests were quiet during sleeping hours so we slept great. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

When it comes to the town of Siena, Mario and Elisabetta can provide restaurant recommendations, shopping ideas, things to drive to nearby. They really are knowledgable and helpful. Oh and we loved their dog, Runa. :) We were so sad to leave! We hope to return. Aia Mattonata is a very special place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessMarijaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear JessMarijaB,
thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you found your room quiet and clean, that you liked our breakfast, that you enjoyed the small ' tea corner' and that you loved our sweet Runa !
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a future visit in Siena.
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very easy hotel to find with the satnav and from the hotel it’s just a 5 minute easy drive to the car park (paying) that the hosts recommend for visiting Siena city. The car park is below a very well hidden multiple escalator system that takes you right up to the centre and from there just a minute’s walk to the square. Really neat solution to avoid a lot of hill climbing, and its brilliantly built.

Getting back to the hotel, entrance is through gates that require a card. Easy to get out of, but the missus had to get out of the car to use the card to get in every time. The hotel car park is big enough to handle all the guest cars as long as people park with due care and attention.

Breakfast in good weather is taken outside and is a really pleasant experience. In bad weather they have a covered area, which I don’t think is as good, but fortunately the weather was fabulous while we were there. The breakfast is self service, but the owners and staff are always keeping an eye on things and replenishing regularly.

On the ground floor are the kitchen and a lovely spread of goodies to eat that are always available at no extra cost. Also a fridge full of water, Fanta orange (my personal favourite drink) and the like. This is really outstanding and much appreciated.

The ground floor area is typical country kitchen and very pleasant. There are four rooms upstairs and this is where I felt rather flat. The bedroom is large enough with aircon, TV and WiFi access. A modern four poster bed plus wardrobe, safe and two chairs at the foot of the bed. The room is fine, but just feels like a bedroom that lacks any warmth or character. There is no fridge in the room, but that is made up by the spread and fridge downstairs.

The bathroom is well laid out, but the window overlooks the owner’s house next door and at night with no shutter and the light on here you would be visible next door.

Overall it was fine and I liked that the owners left it up to guests to decide how much help and advice they needed. They were excellent hosts from any point of view with very good staff. Probably our expectations had been spoilt by our just having stayed at the B&B Guerrazzi in Pisa which just blew us away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us and for your constructive comments.
Thank you also for your very kind words about us and our staff.
We are so sorry to hear that you found your room without character and warmth. What can we say about that ? We personally chose all the furniture ( made from local artisans for us), the curtains ( original tissue from England) and the shades of the rooms following our personal taste and the colors of Tuscany: yellow as the fields, green as the cypresses, rose like the terracotta bricks.
In our website it’s possible to find all the pictures of all the rooms.
For all the Tripadvisor’s users we would like to make clear that:
1) we serve breakfast in the garden and in case of bad weather the covered area is well protected and heated. In case of storm or snow ( anyway we are closed from November to the beginning of March) breakfast is served inside in the kitchen area.
2) every window of every room and every bathroom is equipped by net, curtains and shutters, for the privacy of our guests. We are sorry you didn’t see the shutters.
We are pleased that you liked the location and the service and once again we appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#7 of 40 in Siena
105 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing