We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Visiting Aia Mattonata Relais was a joy. The inn is beautiful and Elisabetta and Mario are extraordinary hosts.
The breakfast area was a lovely glassed in porch with a beautiful view of ancient Siena. Breakfast was marvelous with fresh fruit and veggies, wonderful cheeses, cakes and breads—and the best coffee ever! I traveled throughout Italy and this was by far the best breakfast and the most charming environment I encountered.
Elisabetta and Mario made my visit to Siena perfect. I arrived by train, and there was Mario waiting on the platform. I needed a sim card for my phone and Elisabetta drove me into Siena (I had no car) and spent an hour helping me. Another day, she took me to Siena on her motorcycle and helped me purchase artwork. Spending time with Elisabetta was a pleasure: laughter and talk, and grace. I felt that I was with a friend.
I love Siena and have beautiful memories of Aia Mattonata.
Elisabetta and Mario: Grazie mille! I will return (with a car).

Sonia B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Sonia B,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your stay. We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found our breakfast marvelous and our coffee the best! It was our great pleasure to look after you and we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us again, never mind if you are without a car, we are here and we will be glad to help you in any moment.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Aia Mattonata Relais is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, among the finest properties that I have ever experienced. This charming inn sits on a perfectly manicured landscape that frames a powerful view of Siena in the short distance. The view is punctuated by rolling Tuscan vineyards and rows of ancient olive trees.

The Inn itself is impeccably managed by Mario and Elisabetta Olivo, the owners and keepers of the Aia Mattonata Relais. Their gracious hospitality is genuine and heart-felt. The rooms are light and airy and comfortably arranged and appointed. My wife and I had the opportunity to experience the 2-room suite which was absolutely exquisite, offering the aforementioned imposing view of ancient Siena.

The staff is courteous and efficient. You may use English but I am glad to note that they are most receptive to those of us who want to use whatever Italian we might have. Upon request, a sumptuous breakfast, which is included in the cost, will be delivered to your room. The breakfast offerings range from wonderful pastries to fresh fruit to coddled eggs to breakfast meats. Of course, the Italian bread is incredible! Abbondanza!

I most heartily recommend this property to you . John De Mado

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear John and Jane,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the staff courteous and efficient and enjoyed our decorated room and our breakfast. Thank you for recommending our little gem!
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in Siena.
Warm regards and best wishes,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in September with my daughter. Mario and Elizabetta could not have been better hosts. Felt like we were staying with friends. Other guests were great and we made some lasting connections. We had a special request over some boots my daughter wanted and Elizabeth went above and belying and ended up buying some herself.

I recommend with no hesitation. Breakfast was great and they even kent us a gps to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharontognietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Sharon,
thank you so much for your wonderful comment about your stay with us and for recommending Aia Mattonata. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. We had arrived late at night, hungry, rather lost, driving a stick, and very unnerved. Luckily we fell into the hands of Mario and Elizabetta, who drove us to an excellent restaurant and then asked the owner to drive us home! They gave us GREAT directions to get into town the next day - after offering to drive us there. But first, it was a wonderful, comfortable night's sleep in a beautiful room in their home/restored farm house. We woke to the most delicious home made breakfast ever! And then saw how helpful they continued to be to more guests - whose small dog had fallen out of bed and needed a vet. Mario and Elizabetta were on it! I can't say enough about our new found family and their warm and outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Jay G,
thank you for sharing your very positive comment on the site and thanks for your kind words about us. So nice to hear that our help and our advices have been so important to make your stay enjoyable and that you found the room beautiful and that you loved our breakfast.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

First time to Tuscany. Could not have found a better location or advise for what to see, eat, drink, where to park, etc.. Mario and Elisabetta helped us get the most of our four day stay. The premises were perfect in all aspects from location and views to the welcome home feel of the guest rooms and facilities. The breakfast was a treat each morning, everything fresh and not the usual American fare we are used to. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting the region, especially if not sure of what to see, do, etc.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Craig P,
thanks so much for your positive review and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me.
We are so pleased to read that Aia Mattonata came up to your expectations and that you appreciated all our advices. Thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata!
We do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Aia Mattonata is quiet and away from town, with a picture-postcard view of medieval Siena. It’s central location proved to be the ideal hub for our explorations of Tuscany and only a short drive to Siena city center.

We were pampered each morning with a sumptuous buffet breakfast with made-to-order cafe latte’s, cappuccino’s, café Americano, etc. Juices, fresh baked croissants, pastries, breads, omelets, Italian cured meats and more. The kitchen always has fresh baked cookies and snacks, cold beer & soft drinks and a refrigerator for guests’ wine and take homes. Early evenings can be spent on the patio with a glass of wine and a photo-op view of Siena.

Parking is private and secure with keycard entry.

Our tasteful room was thoroughly cleaned each day with fresh linens & bottled water on the nightstands. Mario is rumored to be a “neat freak.” The bathrooms are modern and well equipped. All the details are covered.

One review here mentioned that the downstairs bedroom might be noisy; not true. We stayed in this room and loved its convenience and privacy.

The unique value in staying at Aia Mattonata, however, is in the thoughtfulness of your hosts, Mario and his lovely wife Elisabetta. I tossed my researched restaurant notes and relied on Mario’s recommendations for lunch and dinner in the surrounding towns. He knows Tuscany and his suggestions proved to be reliable. Mario’s directions to cities and suggestions for sites “not to be missed” are priceless. He prepares detailed maps for any itinerary you choose in Tuscany. Our day trips exceeded all our expectations! Grazie Mario! He and Elisabetta make private arrangements for non-public wine tastings and tours, cooking classes, bike explorations and more.

Elisabetta eagerly coached me in pronouncing Italian phrases and in everyday conversation. My wife and I looked forward to breakfast each morning just to converse with them. We could never forget Runa, their playful longhaired German shepherd who toyed with us daily with her rubber ball.

The Inn was booked each of our 4 nights and our fellow travelers agreed that Aia Mattonata was a unique and special place with the most thoughtful hosts you could hope for. We eagerly await our return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear JimMarji,
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay with us.
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay was outstanding and delighted that you felt that nothing was lacking and that you enjoyed our breakfast, the patio with the view, your room on the groundfloor and the Italian class at breakfast time!
A million thanks for your kind words about me and Mario: we are so glad when we are able to help our guests with some good ( we hope!) advices.
What amazing feedback which we have passed to all our staff!
We do hope that you will stay again with us in a not too distance future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and we'd happily stay again. The owners and staff went out of their way and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is ideal as you are further enough away from town to get peace and quiet with spectacular views of Siena but not so far away as to make it difficult to get into town. It is around €15 to get a taxi into town or a 10 minute drive. You're on the right side of town to park to get to the cathedral with ease.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and there was some nice welcoming touches when we arrived. We also arrived early and were able to get into the room which was great.

Breakfast is something special, there is so much choice and all freshly baked or prepared you are spoilt for choice.

Simply put we couldn't recommend it more and if we come back to Tuscany we will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Chris S
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay at Aia Mattonata. We are delighted that you felt us and the staff helpful and that you enjoyed your room, the location and our breakfast.
We do hope that you will stay again with us and we wish you all the best for the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £138 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing