We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014, and to steal an adjective from another review, it was simply magical. I had read all the Tripadvisor reviews and was having a hard time thinking it could live up to them, but if anything, it was even better than advertised. Absolutely stunning... just so peaceful and beautiful. Elizibetta and Mario are perfect hosts. They welcome you with open arms and are so willing and excited to share their love for the area with you. We arrived late on our first night due to some travel difficulties and had not eaten. We were ready to go to bed hungry when Elizabetta left her house next door to come over to fix us up an impromptu meal of Italian meats and cheeses that we were able to eat while we watched the sun set over Siena. A long travel day suddenly was transformed into a magical memory. These are the types of acts of kindness and care that earn Aia Mattonata Relais its very deserved reputation as the best of the best. You can believe everything you have read from folks who have stayed here. The food, the infinity pool, the rooms... they are all wonderful. We have already begun to spread the word to our own friends and family, as this now resides right at the very top of the list of places we have ever stayed. Perhaps the best way to describe how we felt is to mention that my wife began to cry a little as we drove away on the final day- it was that good a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear jmick42
thank you for your lovely feedback on your experience at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me. It’s always our great pleasure take care of our guests in any moment of their stay with us and of course we could not let you go to bed hungry, not in Italy!!!
We are delighted to hear that you loved the room, the infinity pool, the food and that you felt welcome since the first moment.
We really hope to welcome you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
523
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our stay at Aia Mattonata Relais was simply magical, and the best accommodation of our trip to Italy. We felt like we were visiting family! Upon arriving, we did not have our rental car until the next day, and their son actually drove us to Siena for the afternoon. The following day, Elizibetta and Mario again went the extra mile for us and drove us to Siena to pick up our rental car! ot only are Elizibetta and Mario stunning hosts but, have created a beautiful property, as it is set upon the rolling hills of Siena. The farmhouse has five rooms, which all have stunning views of the Tuscan Hills, and we awoke each morning to the sound of wildlife. The rooms were also spacious, clean and wifi was provided. Each morning, a delicious homemade breakfast was served in the garden with an assortment of fruit, vegetables,homemade bread, pastries, and eggs. Throughout the day, they also leave a fridge stocked with beverages, and the kitchen contains snacks ( fruit, cookies, etc.) for guests. Our stay here was unforgettable and we we will recommend this property to all of our friends for years to come! Thank you for making our stay in Tuscany unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Shanna T,
we very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review on the site, it is very important for us and we thank you so much for your kind words about Mario and me.
It is so rewarding to read that all the aspects of your stay were so enjoyable!
Thanks again for recommending Aia Mattonata to all your friends and we do hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Simply stunning, Elizibetta and Mario are the most gracious and welcoming hosts. Amazing views from up in the hills above Siena which is simply spectacular. 15 euro taxi from town centre and the train station. Delicious spread every morning for breakfast which is included! Fresh baked homemade bread, crossaints, eggs whichever way you like, cappuccinos or proper coffee, fresh fruit, yogourt, you name it! We usually had ours outside on the terrace overlooking the hills. No better way to start the day. Great hub to relax at after touring Siena or the surrounding towns like Montalchino for wine tours, etc. Did we mention the Infinity pool, it was so great to take numerous dips in during the day. Sunsets here are gorgeous. Rooms are very spacious, bed comfy, bathrooms super clean and modern but charming as well. We are here on our honeymoon and will most definitely be back again!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hills are stunning. Awesome to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ben S,
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, the location, our breakfast, the pool and the sunset from the patio.
We do hope that you will stay again with us and we wish you all the best for the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We followed other trip-advisor reviews and decided to stay here as our home base for touring Tuscany. We were very pleased with our 7 night stay. From the B&B we can sit out by the pool or patio area and relax, enjoy a beer (included!), have a snack and swim in the pool all while enjoying a magnificent view of Siena!
Elisabeth and Mario are amazing hosts. They are very accommodating to all guests. I noticed they even personally drove some guests into town that did not have a car!
My recommendation....this is a PERFECT place to use as a home base to tour Tuscany. But **RENT a CAR•• and stay for a few days or a week. From here you can day tour Montalcino, Pienza, Assisi, Volterra, San Gimigmanio, Greve etc etc. Not much is more than a 1 hour drive. But ***buy a data plan SIM card••• and use google map navigation, or get a car with GPS to help to navigate....the roads are crazy and were laid out by the cows or the Tuscans 500 years ago.
Some visitors here did not have a car and only stayed 2 days which might be ok, but you can see most of Tuscany from here with a car and sleep in the same bed every night.

The rooms a very comfortable, air conditioned, modern and large. There is a common area kitchen that is available to all guests to use if they buy lunch or some food for supper. A pleasant sitting area with a fireplace for visiting other guests and having a drink.

Highly recommended.
You probably won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear steve b,
thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Aia Mattonata .We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the view, the rooms, the patio and that you were pleased of your long stay with us.
Thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata and for suggesting to rent a car, we totally agree, especially for a long stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta &Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I cannot use enough superlatives to describe this property B&B. It exceeded our expectations, Mario and Elizabetta have managed to create an absolutely beautiful, elegant, and restful place for all their guests. From the well appointed rooms to the delicious breakfast and the spectacular gardens with an incredible vista. This is THE place to stay when in Siena.
Grazie!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear DanaLW,
thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our little gem, our breakfast, the gardens and the view, thanks again.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata .
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived in Siena for the second part of our holiday in Italy. We had arranged for an apartment located within Siena that unfortunately was not what we expected. After quickly looking on Trip Advisor, we came across Aia Mattonata and called them. Mario and Elizabeth had one room available and sight unseen, we booked it. When we arrived, we were met by Mario and Victor, who whisked our luggage to our room. Mario was beyond gracious and gave us a tour of Aia Mattonata and all the beauty that it held. Aia Mattonata is a truly special place that offered us relaxation, amazing views of Siena’s skyline, and hospitality that was second to none. Each morning, we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast and excellent conversation with both Mario and Elizabeth. They both offered suggestions on what to venture out and see for the day. Much to their surprise, we were a bit of a challenge for them since we have travelled through Tuscany and seen much before. However, they stepped up to the challenge and provided us with some great sights and locations that we have not seen before. When we arrived back at the end of each day, they were eager to hear about our adventures and immediately started to think about where we could go next. The intimacy, relaxing atmosphere, the rooms, and the hosts all lead to one incredible experience that Aia Mattonata provided. If you are going to stay in Siena, you would be foolish not to book Aia Mattonata. Thank you for everything Mario and Elizabeth… The connection we made is everlasting and we can’t wait to see you again, either as a guest or a neighbor!!

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden with a view of Siena was superb. Had 2 separate ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear davisten,
It was our great pleasure meeting you and taking care of you on your visit at Aia Mattonata and we thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on the site, thank you!
We are so glad to hear that you loved the location, our hospitality, the breakfast and that you found all the ingredients to have a memorable experience in Siena.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to meet you again in Tuscany, either as guests or neighbors!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our third visit to Tuscany and we decided to try Siena. We like to be near a selection of restaurants, bars and shops but also like the idea of escaping to a quiet retreat once we have finished our day/evening out. It you are seeking a perfect tranquil setting, wonderful hospitality, breakfasts and accommodation, lovely pool, terrace and two hosts offering unlimited recommendations, guidance and ideas of what to do, then look no further. Siena is just a short drive away and offers beautiful buildings and architecture and the surrounding countryside is exactly what you would expect of Tuscany - beautiful. Mario and Elisabetta (as well as their other staff) make your stay truly memorable and at the same time respect you are on holiday. This is not your normal run of the mill establishment and one we will without doubt chose to stay in when we return, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Bellhurst,
Thank you so much for your very positive review!
We are so glad to read that you had memorable days at Aia Mattonata and that you found useful our advices. So nice to hear that the location was perfect for you: with the convenience of having shops ,bars, restaurants near home and the quiet of the countryside after a long day in tour.
We do hope to welcoming you once more in Siena in the future ( not too distant future!)
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing