We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Siena(Siena)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo di Valli(Siena)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Chiusarelli(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Italia(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Garden(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Athena(Siena)
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$757
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
738
25
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
25
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman shepherddog runaowners mario and elisabettawonderful hostsour honeymoonthought of everythingbeautiful propertyevery morninginfinity pooltuscan countrysideminute driveexplore tuscanyrestaurant reservationsoverlooking sienapleasure of stayinghighlight of our triprelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our time here. It's a beautiful place, just sit outside and watch the sun set with Siena in the distance, yet it's close to town and an easy place to use as a home base for travel in this heavenly area. The rooms are very pretty, breakfast is amazing, and we loved talking with the owners, Mario and Elizabetta. It is a perfect cross between a b & b and a hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Robin S,
thank you for your feedback and wonderful comment about Aia Mattonata and for recommending our property .We are delighted to know that you had enjoyable stay with us.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to meet you again one day.
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

After reading all the great reviews on TA, we stayed here for 4 nights on our first leg of our honeymoon and loved our stay. Everything was clean and comfortable and we loved the view of Siena during breakfast. And those cappuccinos were the best I ever had!

Mario and Elisabetta were amazing hosts! Mario was so helpful in giving us directions and recommendations for restaurants, gelato, and wineries as well as helping us ship our wine back to the States. We particularly enjoyed the cooking class on our last night in Siena with Massimo. This is a great spot to make your home base while you explore Tuscany!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jennifer L,
thank you so much for your positive review and for your kind words about Aia Mattonata.
We are pleased that you had a memorable honeymoon with us and that you enjoyed your stay, the view and our cappuccino!!!!!.
So nice to read that you also enjoyed Massimo cooking class !!
We will be very glad to welcome you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Needing to find accommodation near Siena for a family wedding, we selected Aia Mattonata Relais, and could not have been more pleased with our choice. It exceeded our expectations in every way: spacious, airy, light and comfortable bedroom; large and well-appointed en-suite; excellent breakfast which could be eaten on the patio, with a view of Siena; and welcoming hosts who were available when needed, but melted into the background, to allow the peace and tranquillity to prevail. We really appreciated the details which made our stay so comfortable - the refreshment facilities, the minibar in our room, the range of guide books on the area etc. We also appreciated the welcome we received with recommendations for restaurants, car parks, and the quiet scenic routes in the surrounding area. All in all a Tuscan gem and we are so pleased that we stayed there.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Valal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valal2
thank you for taking the time to write your very positive feedback on your stay at Aia Mattonata. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the level of the service. We are very proud of the level of service we provide to our guests and we work hard to ensure each and every guest receives this service.
We do hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back in a future visit in Tuscany.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We were lucky enough to spend a week at Aia Mattonata. Believe all the reviews - this really is a special place. Views views views of the glorious Tuscan countryside with Siena in the distance, pretty and spotless rooms with super comfy beds, a delicious breakfast served by the sweetest staff and wine, sweets and snacks set out everyday for you to enjoy. I swam almost daily in their cold but extremely refreshing pool and enjoyed lounging around, soaking up the sun and just staring at the beautiful landscape.

What really makes Aia Mattonata, however, is the lovely family who runs it. Mario & Elisabetta are the loveliest people. When we arrived my husband had been suffering from a stomach issue and we were really concerned. Elisabetta gave me all kinds of food suggestions and wrote down a whole dictionary of terms I could use in the restaurants. They suggested restaurants and even called ahead to make sure we would be able to find what we needed. We felt so cared for.

We really enjoyed staying outside of Siena and taking drives every day - gorgeous drives in every direction - bopping into Siena a few times for din, to walk around and one night to see Elisabetta (bass) and her son, Vittorio (guitar) play music with their band in a local bar. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Suite has a gorgeous view of Siena.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Divasongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Divasong,
what can we say to answer you? just thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!!
We really hope to meet you in Siena or maybe in the States for a concert together !!!!!
Elisabetta, Mario & Vittorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. I would not hesitate to recommend Aia Mattonata to anyone looking for a beautiful, romantic slice of heaven. The owners Mario and Elisabetta do everything to make your stay enjoyable. We started as strangers but left as friends.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mdasilva11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Mdasilva11,
thank you for your very positive review following your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you felt like at home, our goal is to let our guests feel welcome in every moment of their stay and “at home far from home”.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata to visit your new friends !
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews