We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts, beautiful location with panoramic view of Siena!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic hosts, beautiful location with panoramic view of Siena!”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aia Mattonata Relais for two nights last spring. This trip was the last big trip before our baby Alex's arrival in Sept. It was the last leg of our 10 day Italian vacation touring Tuscany and I regret not staying longer. Aia Mattonata Relais is fantastic. The hosts (Elisabetta and Mario) are warm, welcoming and provide guests a wonderful Italian experience.

Let me give you the details of how wonderful this place really is:

Location - it is in the rolling hills outside of Siena with a fantastic view of the lovely, historic city. There is nice pool and a beautiful garden with lawn chairs perfect for relaxing and reading.

Hotel - the B&B is a historic farmhouse that has been beautifully renovated. We stayed in a lovely room with green decor. It had a canopy bed, flat screen TV, wardrobe and ultra modern bathroom. The attention to detail was wonderful. The drapes, the canopy bed, the hardwood floors, the paint on the wall, the desk, the wardrobe etc. all reflect the hosts ability to create an unforgettable Sienese experience for guests. And, one last note, Mario loves his gadgets; the hotel was up-to-date with the lastest technology including a self-powered lawn mower, key card locks for every room, wifi and a remotely operated gate to get onto the property.

Food - the hosts made sure I was stuffed like a bird! They served a lovely breakfast with a multitude of options (eggs, toast, pastries, yoghurt, coffee, tea, assorted fruits, meats etc.....) My boyfriend and I barely made it out the door because we were bursting after stuffing ourselves with the wonderful food. I was 6 months pregnant during my vacation and Elisabetta made sure I was never hungry. She even gave me a "to go" lunch for our long drive to the airport!

This place is fantastic and not to be missed particularly for travelers interested in staying in a peaceful setting outside the hustle and buslte of Siena.

Christine and Stephen

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
511
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Beautifully renovated farmhouse in the beautiful countryside with a breathtaking view of Siena. The place is stunning. You can easily use this as a base for exploring Tuscany. They had just closed the pool when we arrived but i imagine that is wonderful to relax in when warm enough. We were still able to sit out at night and enjoy the peace and beauty with a glass of wine.

The owners, Mario and Elisabetta, are what make this already wonderful place, a place you simply cannot pass up. They are the kindest most inviting and genuine people you will ever meet. From the moment you arrive, they welcome you and cater to your every need. They go out of their way to help you with everything and help you enjoy your stay in Tuscany to the fullest. You simply will not find a place with better costumer service and care. Of all the wonderful sights and places to see in Italy, I never would have thought that just the actual B&B I stayed at would be one of the highlights but it truly was. We felt like we were leaving our dear friends when we left Mario and Elisabetta and we miss them now!

Do not pass up the opportunity to stay here!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

If you are traveling by car, this is an excellent choice about 15 minutes outside of Siena. The rooms are all very good and the breakfast is excellent at this newly restored farmhouse. Mario and Elisabett, the owner/hosts, really go out of their way to make sure that your needs are met and that you feel welcome. There is also a lovely swimming pool with a fabulous view of Siena and the surrounding countryside. It is difficult to imagine you will not be satisfied here as long as you realize that you will have to drive to and pay for parking in Siena, and that you are in a semi-rural area and will hear dogs, roosters, etc in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights but should have stayed longer. Mario and Elisabetta were amazing hosts. Breakfast was fantastic. The rooms were incredible. The venue which includes a beautiful infitini pool. It is a short drive to Siena. The location was so serene and peaceful, that we stayed in 2 of the 3 nights and ate on the terrace watching the sunset. This was truly one of the highlights of our 3 week stay in Italy. Would go back and stay longer. The spa was just being completed so we would definitely take advantage of the treatments next time. We love you Mario & Elisabetta. Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fai235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

- Mario & Elisabetta are wonderful hosts! The property has been beautifully & sympathetically restored & is so handy for sightseeing. We asked Mario if it was possible to see both Montalcino & Montepulciano in the same day, & he promptly produced a laminated map with the route on one side & the directions on the reverse, which he copied for us & suggested other sights along the way. (Depending on the time you have there, we'd suggest doing the trip over 2 days, as there's so much to see - we also found that with San Gimignano & Volterra).
The only slight downside of the location is if you want to have a drink in the evening - our first night, Mario advised us the bus was picking up their maid at 5.15, so we promptly got ready, caught the bus, then found ourselves dumped on the outskirts of Siena! Fortunately, the maid pointed out on the bus timetable which bus we then needed for the centre, but when we got to the bus station, there were still no signs for the centre - we managed to find a tabac, bought a map, & the owner pointed out on the map where we were, & where we needed to go! After that, we asked Mario each evening to phone us a taxi into town (about E15 each way). We did comment that if we'd gone when the weather was better, we'd have possibly bought back some meats, cheeses etc & sat in the lovely garden overlooking Sienna, with bottle bought earlier from one of the wineries! Overall, an excellent place to stay & explore the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at the Aia Mottanata Relais for 4 out of the 12 nights we were in Italy, but I wish we stayed for all 12. It was the most relaxing part of our stay. Siena is a beautiful city and the surrounding area offers plenty to keep you busy during the day. Mario and Elizabetta were the most wonderful hosts. They were so helpful with telling us places to go and things to do in the area. It seemed that they were truly invested in us having a great time during our stay. The interior and exterior are very new and clean(which is generally not the case ANYWHERE in Italy), and it seems that there was a lot of thought put into the design and decor within the house.

Having a car is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My favourite hotel of all time!! It was such a relief to get away from the busy streets in Siena city centre and discover that our choice of hotel was simply perfection! Upon arrival I am sure that you will know (the minute you see the property) that this place is really special.

In advance I apologize for my lack of representative adjectives in this review. My English isn't good enough to explain just how nice this place is.

There's a lovely garden with wonderful trees, plants and flowers. The house/building is very typical of Toscana. The view is breathtaking with a vineyard close by and an amazing view of Siena. I actually feel sorry for those who have only seen Siena from inside the city centre, because seeing it from the Aia Mattonata really makes you fall in love with the city and Toscana.

As you probably know by now, Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts. Mario does what ever he possibly can to please his guests. Elisabetta is always smiling and every morning she makes sure that you have had the two cappucinos that are required for a good start of the day. If you've only had the one, you just have to send a glance her way and she'll get the message and run into the kitchen to get you the other one.

After several meals in Siena and Florence which were all terrible, I am so happy that we got to taste proper italian food during breakfast at Aia Mattonata; a huge variety of cakes, muffins, croissants, cheeses and different kind of ham/meat. If we hadn't stayed here we would have travelled back to Norway with a huge disappointment in Italian cuisine.

Our room was lovely with nice colours and decorations, a comfy king size bed, a flat screen television, a desk, two chairs and a huge mirror. The bathroom was really spacious and had the best shower I have ever been in! Cleaning was done every day, each day leaving it spotless.

Transportation from Siena was 15-17 Euros by taxi. It is also possible to go by bus from the Aia Mattonata to the city centre, but I think you have to tell Mario a day in advance that you want to join the bus so that the bus drops by the hotel. We never went by bus though, so I am not completely sure about how they arrange for you to join the bus.

Remember that they don't serve any dinner at the Aia Mattonata, but they do leave leftovers from the breakfast on the kitchen table. So you can eat cakes and croissants all day if you want to! There's also always different kinds of cereal, juice and fruit that the guests can have any time of day. Also, it is possible to order take away to be delivered at the hotel. If you want to have food delivered in the evening, then you'll have to order it in the morning the same day. If you want food delivered for lunch, then you'll have to order it in the evening the day before. We had a taste of some kind of pasta, a meat dish, brucettas and tiramisu - which are all highly recommended!!

Remember that they have 2 bicycles for rent, free of charge! If you want helmets, then of course Mario has thought of this too! Everything is "no problem"! :) And do go for a ride on the bicycles in the countryside! Mario knows the area, so just ask him where you should go! We went for a ride to a small village (which had a small grocery store) that was 10 kilometers from the hotel (really easy to find, no complications, just go straight!), and it was just the perfect distance for a short trip during the afternoon.

Oh, and the pool! Well, if you're from Scandinavia you won't mind that it's a bit cold. Anyway, once you get into the water it's really lovely. Swimming while enjoying the view to Siena was really nice.

And one more thing, regarding a comment made by another reviewer; we didn't have ANY problems with noise from the other rooms! We could not hear people talking in the other rooms at all! If you do hear something, I am pretty sure that the problem is the guests and not the thickness of the walls in this hotel.

I have probably forgotten something, but I don't have time to write more now.

Grazie mille for a wonderful stay! And we will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iselinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
3,091 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing