We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tuscan Cuisine in small restuarant”

Osteria La Sosta di Violante
Ranked #10 of 531 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan Cuisine in small restuarant”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We ate our last meal in Siena during our fall holidays at La Sosta with our four boys. It was recommended by a native Sienean. There were no pizza ordered and everyone was happy. Pasta was excellent. My wife, son and I shared a steak, pasta and salad and had a ton of food. We ate in alot of restuarants in Siena during our visits and my wife has eaten in many more, this was one of our favourites, it will be visited again during our Christmas visit. The waiter spoke excellent English and helped choose a good wine and served everything hot and timely. We decided to have dessert as everything sounded so good and home made. We were scraping bowls for more do not limit yourself to Tiaramisu. Can not wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locopsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    412
    65
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We were six persons arriving to a crowded restaurant. Despite lack of room they managed to seat us comfortably outside. Weather was perfect for late evening dinner. Great local food and wine list. Waiter spoke very good english and knew how to keep customers happy and important for him.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citta di Castello, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place justly popular and among locals too”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A return visit to this excellent restaurant. Essential to book. Clearly a place popular with locals (birthday party going on). Attractive menu though mostly Tuscan fare, to be expected, well cooked and cheerfully and quickly served. Wine was excellent too at a reasonable price. It's location slightly away from the campo makes it feel very different from the customary joint. (Beware poor food at inflated prices in Siena!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cedric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll wish to go again”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went there because we heard there's a good value. We expected decent food but we were amazed with what we got. It's not the cheapest place there but certainly worth the money. Cheese plate is amazing! There's also a great wine chart and spectacular vegetable and cheese lasagnas! And the service is fantastic, very friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bixler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a fantastic meal here last night. Two of us had the incredible steak florentine which was enough for three, for starter we had the buffalo salad and the mozzarella was creamy and delicious. Our waiter was friendly, charming and knowledgeable. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Sosta di Violante also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria La Sosta di Violante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing