We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing has changed in 10yrs, which is good and bad.....”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing has changed in 10yrs, which is good and bad.....”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We lived in Siena years ago and now have stayed at Hotel Duomo on our last 4 trips back. Location is the only reason we go back. Excellent location inside Siena. Simple walk to Piazza del Campo and Duomo. Very safe walking home late at night. We were in Room 59. View of adjoining roof and next door kitchen....never had the "oh-my-god THE View room" in all our different stays. Great AC - you set the temp and fans came on and cooled room. It was a hot mid-80's week in May and AC was great. Great shower. Cannot believe no Wi-Fi for $200+ a night. In US, most chain hotels $60 have free Wi-Fi. After speaking with multiple desk agents, reasoning is management doesn't want to spend the money...on wi-fi or anything else. One computer downstairs in main lobby, but I wouldn't log on to personal email, banking sites. Strange that desk receptionist, room steward, and breakfast lady were the same - but in different clothes during one day. Small, old TV didn't work. Hall paint and decor were exactly the same as 10+ years ago. Should be updated. Rooms simple, basic, yet clean. Parking is 20 Euro/day in city garage. You do not get any deal or discount by staying at the hotel. We are looking to stay somewhere else next time....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    544
    168
    30
    13
See reviews for
301
513
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We drove to Siena and were not able to find the hotel from the first attempt, had to ask locals for help after hitting the Duomo. After arriving and unloading we had to park the car in a paid parking quite far from the hotel at 20 euro a day. The view from our room (44) was breathtaking - probably the best we ever had. The room was not small, had a minibar. The bathroom was nice and lined with marble but there were some problems with hot water pressure and temperature stability - no matter how you try to adjust it you get alternating hot and cold water from the shower - not to everyone's taste. Unfortunately, in spite of the fact that our windows overlooked a spacious garden and there were no streets visible, we had some annoying machinery noise like an alternator or an air conditioner gone berserk all night coming from somewhere beyond the garden. I hope it was a temporary nuisance not a permanent problem. In any case I would definitely come back to this hotel, if only for the view.

Room Tip: By all means get a room with a Duomo view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel was right near all of the action in Siena. We loved our view!!!! The breakfast was great and the hotel staff were very accommodating.We would definitely stay here again. They even had a computer for us to use which I so appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittcrew3147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We loved Siena and this hotel so much that we decided to stay three nights. The view from our room was amazing! The staff were really friendly and were able to provide lots of ideas on what to do in Siena and the surrounding region. Free access to the Internet was also a bonus. The only negatives was that the air-conditioning was not very effective. It was controlled by the reception and we were advised it had to be set on a certain temperature and not any lower. Also the water for the shower tended to fluctuate between hot and cold water quite often. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay in a wonderful town!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We drove. While directions provided to get to hotel were very good. Unless you are familiar with driving in an old part of a city with narrow streets and no nearby parking, you might prefer arrival by train and taxi to the hotel. Hotel reception was excellent. We had a room with a fantastic view - Room 51. The walls had drawings of past occupants showing the views and letters of praise (in Italian or French). If you drive, parking is some distance away in an indoor parking ramp for Euro 20 per day which is paid at the hotel at checkout.

Room Tip: Room 51 or adjacent room would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Had a nice 2 night stay here. The views were great out our 2 room windows. Staff was good and very friendly. Breakfast was good. Location was very good just a short walk from the Duomo and Campo. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gweedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My family of four stayed in a countryside-facing room on the top floor, which was reached by an elevator plus a walk-up. The room had four twin beds, two of which were pushed together to form a double/queen bed and the other two separate for the kids. The bed lengths were inadequate for adults, leaving feet to hang over the edges. By far the best feature was the wonderful view, on two sides of the room, of the countryside beyond the Siena city walls as well as the Duomo. Clear evenings brought out the stars and planets. A bonus was the very good breakfast, included with room, in a comfortable basement seating area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing