We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but too much noise at night”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed in room 59 like the previous poster. It's at the end of the hotel near a plaza that had music and someone talking on the mic till 4am!! Even the reception person acknowledged that...but no discounts here. They have renovated the outside of the hotel, maybe now they should concentrate on the inside. Also,major construction going on directly across the street. The free breakfast was better than most, had a nice assortment of fruit and the usual processed, rolls, ham and cheeses (ick). It was a nice room with three HARD beds, but I think if you compare it to hotels in the USA it would equal a one star. Just deduct 1-2 stars for every hotel in Italy or Sicily and you'll be spot on. Its one big plus was location to the Duomo, the square, and family, too!. We did have WiFi. Nine euros for a taxi to the main bus stop when the hotel call for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (if they have any?), but in a quite location, not room 59!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated in Siena. If you take the Bus from Rome to Siena you are dropped off about 6 good blocks from the hotel. You just walk one winding road to the Hotel.
As others have said the Hotel is right near the Duomo and two blocks from the center of town where everyone hangs out.
The staff are very kind and generous. They have great recommendations for places to eat, whether cheap of pricey. Either way the places they recommend are nice!

Pros, Free WiiFii, Nice Breakfast, Decent shower, clean rooms and Location!

Cons, the only con I found was that the mattresses in the room is just ok. It feels like a big pad or pillow but not a true mattress but this is common in Europe. No safe in the room.

Otherwise I do recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just returned from a 1 week vacation in Italy and made a 2 night stop in Siena, staying at the Hotel Duomo. I chose this property because of it's location within the city walls and it definately met my expectations for convenience. What exceeded our expectaions was the fantastic view we had from our room! Although we had to climb a few stairs to reach the top floor, it was worth it! We had a corner room, right next to the rooftop patio, and you could see the most wonderful sunsets on one side and sunrises from the duomo on the other, There was a very good restaurant just down the same quaint street and shopping everywhere. The breakfast buffet was average (for all the hotels we stayed in Italy on this trip) but everything was very clean and tidy including rooms, hallways and baths. One slight difficulty was the wi-fi connection. It was inconsistent with our laptop and devices. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toothscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A delightful small hotel in the heart of the old city. An excellent service, an exceptionally friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast. We stayed five days and enjoyed the experience - the location and the atmosphere. Siena has become a favourite city for us and we will certainly stay at hotel Duomo again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I'll definitely return here. Location is perfect in the old part of the city, near everything. Rooms vary greatly, our first night was in a cramped room with a tiny bathroom (where the shower is a curtain pulled around you in one part of the room) and a small window. Second night we were moved to a great room with a mini fridge, a balcony with spectacular view, and a full bathroom with an American style shower. While hallways carpets were worn, art on the walls is haphazard, and style is out of the fifties, the rooms were immaculately clean, and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast is included in the standard basement room, with plenty of fruits, cereals, cheeses, meats, etc. A very good value for the price. What really made it wonderful was the night manager Paolo. We arrived late and were allowed to drive into the old city only to drop off our bags. We were tired and missed the door, stopping a half block down the one way street. Paulo saw us, came out, and took the wheel, navigating us through the maze that is old Siena and back to the hotel, personally. Once more, the hospitality of the Italian people made the challenges recede into nothing. I loved the simple comfort, excellent price, and location of this place, and recommend it highly if you don't need "fancy".

Room Tip: Ask for a city view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Small hotel in the center of Siena. We didn't have a reservation but the staff was very kind and gave us one very nice room with a wonderful view on the city of Siena. Great location in the pedestrian area and very quiet situation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isa_brunelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This hotel has the most fabulous location in Siena. You are moments away from the major attractions, inside the Old City Walls. The room was basic but cool and quiet. Breakfast was included and was pretty substantial. The hotel staff were helpful beyond what is usually required. Good restaurants were suggested, (Trattoria Dino) they were great with providing schedules for the trains and buses, and all of the extra attention was given without it seeming to be a bother. The front desk clerk made us a latte, after we had checked out but she knew that we were killing time waiting for our train. I would return for sure.

Room Tip: clean, small, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £43 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing